We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Adirondack Inn
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
NY
1 review
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We stayed for one evening, but it was so enjoyable we plan to come back again for a longer stay. Our room was large and clean, the breakfast buffet was abundant with a variety of good food. The location was ideal, right in town, so we were able to walk to the lakes and down Main Street.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalyContributor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    165
    88
    26
    30
See reviews for
189
157
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed here over the christmas vacation. It was beautiful, all snowy, crisp air, twinkly lights. We were travelling with 2 small children so the hotel breakfast was great lots to pick from and the location to activites was fabulous along with the indoor pool! I am itching to go back again for a romantic vacation this time "sans enfants"!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathrynlocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Probably will not be staying here again. Had to drag heavy bags up to second floor since no elevator. Room cleanliness was questionable. Probably built in 1960s and not renovated. Many Best Westerns are independently opened so quality varies alot!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davek57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, NY
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Room was clean, staff was courteous, location can't be beat - especially if you're involved with anything at the Olympic Center right across the street. Will be back again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skatermom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We arrived on Friday July 2, 2010 for a 3 nite stay. This was due to the State of NY BBQ championships in which we are team members. Arrival was amazing @ just past 1pm as they could give us an early check-in. Room was EXACTLY what we asked for...bottom floor,king, Non-SK etc. Perfect!!! Off we went to the BBQ Comp. We came back each nite late, due to competing and our rooms were spotless and very nice....even the AC was on for us... a very special touch! Those are the plus's. The minus'. The parking worked out good, as we walked to our event the whole time. However, the parking lot is small and one way! So, when you NEED to leave, you have to back out ...the entire parking lot!!!!!!!!! Of like, 20 plus cars...yikes!! There was NO map to the grounds, so I never got to the pool our last nite. Other guest told me where it was, in the middle, how to get to it etc...but by then I was pooped!! WE did not have breakfast until the last morning, today, and boy did it, well, never mind. They did have eggs and sausage in a buffet server. And no, I'm not a snob, I usually love this. But, these things looked like, well, yuk. So I grabbed some OJ and a bagel and cream cheese and went with the hubby out on the deck overlooking the Olympic Skating oval where our BBQ comp. was the past days. I should have toasted the bagel, it was soooo dry. So 2 bites, and OJ later, we left. The whole breakfast area was just not set up right, and they had no waffles!! Like make your own waffles!! Now, we travel TONS and lots of hotel chains have WAFFLES!!! So wrong they had no waffle maker, just not right.... Anyway, the beds were (ours was a king) great, the pillows dreamy. TV, fridge, amazing. Toiletries??? Well, shampoo...NO conditioner....NOT ok! Right longer haired girls??? And especially NO LOTION??? What's up with that???? Shampoo, 2 kinds of soap~~ facial, and body~~but no lotion either body or face? Just plain weird. Overall, we had a good time, but an EXPENSIVE time. The place did charge a large penny ~~~maybe due to the fact that so many BBQ teams, rep's etc stay there?? Will we stay there next year? Hopefully not...hopefully we will find somewhere cheaper~~ we found a place we think! But KUDO'S to housekeeping!! Good staff!!! Thanks for a good stay.

  • Liked — comfy pillows & bed...location to our event
  • Disliked — parking and not up to other hotels free hot breakfasts
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BBQLuvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

This hotel is in poor condition and is very tired and in need of an owner who cares about upgrades, maintenance and the details. Room carpets are dirty, grounds are weedy, and staff seem unhappy. Free breakfast is limited and everything is served on disposable plates etc. This was a shoulder season experience. Hopefully they staff up a bit in peak season or this place would not pass any star rating.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

The Best Western Adirondack Inn has probably seen better times. The carpeting on the main stairway from the lobby to the second floor looks like it has at least five years of grime ground into it, our bath tub was a lime green colour which must go back to the 50s, the sink in the bathroom was a foot lower than any I have ever seen (and it was not designed for handicapped travellers as no wheelchair could possibly fit below the sink). Our room was spacious and the beds were comfortable, but the large balcony was littered with pistachio and sunflower shells and cigarette butts (many weeks worth), only discovered after we wrestled for at least 2 minutes to get the screen door open.
Our room (249) was right next to the main stairway and, from 6:30 am on, we were treated to the constant sounds of people pounding down the stairs (having several junior wrestling teams in town didn't help). You could either close the curtains or turn on the fan/airconditioning, but not both at the same time.
Breakfast was OK (no skim milk). And lastly, trying to either turn around or back out of the very narrow, dead-end parking lot was a challenge.
Lake Placid is pretty, but has seen better days. There are some half-decent restaurants, a couple of more modern, large hotels, but a lot of dingy corners and empty buildings.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 70Saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.6 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#24 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Adirondack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Adirondack Inn

Property: Best Western Adirondack Inn
Address: 2625 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946 (Formerly Adirondack Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Adirondack Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-owned Best Western Adirondack Inn is perfectly situated on Main Street in Lake Placid, New York—just across the street from the Olympic Center and next to Mirror Lake Beach. For travelers to the Adirondacks and the Best Western Adirondack Inn, this is a truly picturesque setting for a family vacation or romantic weekend escape in upstate New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Adirondack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Adirondack Hotel Lake Placid
Best Western Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing