We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mold & Dirt Nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Adirondack Inn
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mold & Dirt Nightmare”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed at this property a few weeks ago as part of a pre-arranged hockey tournament. As soon as you enter there is a very disgusting smell that only gets worse in the guest rooms. The hotel is full of mold. After 3 nights every item left in the hotel came home saturated with mold. I had to throw out anything disposable and wash clothes with hot water and vinegar. Even so, I could not remove the mold from most items. The mold was so bad that we opened the sliding doors to the below-zero weather as soon as we arrived. I am asthmatic and allergic to mold and ended up paying for another room at the Crowne Plaza- well worth the cost to my health and clothing - while the rest of the group and my family stayed put and toughed it out. In addition the bathrooms were less than clean. The family in the room next to me noticed rolled up small spit-balls stuck on every surfaces of the tub area - indicating that the bathroom had not been cleaned. The staff can best be described as surly and unapproachable. Only Jason at the front desk and the elderly lady in th breakfast room are cordial. We were refused a measly 60 minute late checkout so that we did not have to load cars at 7am in sub-zero weather before our last hockey game. The only positives about the hotel (really a converted motel since some rooms open to the parking lot) are the breakfast and the location if you are there to play hockey. The rink is immediately across the street. In sum, I would avoid this hotel at all costs. You cannot go wrong by selecting any other property in Lake Placid. I will add a caveat that I am an environmental professional and I know mold when I see it. If you call the hotel to inquirer they are going to feign ignorance as the did when I called to ask about the reviews noted mold in the rooms. Keep reading on trip advisor and you will uncover additional reviews about the mold contamination. In my opinion, the Dept. of Health should shut this hotel down - that is how bad it is.

Room Tip: If you must stay here be wary of rooms that open to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Girlinthecrease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    166
    88
    26
    31
See reviews for
190
158
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evans Mills
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This property is in a great location and is in good shaoe considering its age. It has the Adirondack feel and is very clean and organized. I wasn't very happy with the staff here however, they seemed to be condescending and put out when you asked for something. Overall I was very happy with my short stay here

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is an older hotel but so comfortable and welcoming. Very convenient location.Everyone was so friendly. Breakfast was above average and was included.The lobby is very large with a great fireplace and plenty of comfortable seating.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Located right across from the Olympic Ice Arena, this is a great option to walk to the rink. No hassles with parking either. A quick 2 minute walk to downtown and Mirror Lake makes this a great location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Great breakfast, large room, and a great staff. There were no ice hokey players when we were there so things were very quiet. I don't know how it would be if they were there. The location was just right, right in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Evangelynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillus, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The hotel was nice, A little outdated and musty smelling but overall it was convenient to shopping and other activities. Parking at the hotel was very tight which made backing out of spot very difficult,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The Adirondack Inn in Lake Placid is a great place to stay for the business traveler. The rooms are clean and comfortable, internet access is great and breakfast in the morning offers many options. For these reasons, I would also recommend the hotel for personal travel as well. The location in town is perfect, no driving would be required once you've parked the car. Situated on Mirror Lake makes it simple to be embedded in all Lake Placid village has to offer. So whether business or pleasure I am sure to return to the Adirondack Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Missy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
0.9 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Adirondack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Adirondack Inn

Property: Best Western Adirondack Inn
Address: 2625 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946 (Formerly Adirondack Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Adirondack Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-owned Best Western Adirondack Inn is perfectly situated on Main Street in Lake Placid, New York—just across the street from the Olympic Center and next to Mirror Lake Beach. For travelers to the Adirondacks and the Best Western Adirondack Inn, this is a truly picturesque setting for a family vacation or romantic weekend escape in upstate New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Adirondack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Adirondack Hotel Lake Placid
Best Western Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing