We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"YOU HAD ME AT HELLO!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge
Ranked #3 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"YOU HAD ME AT HELLO!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have traveled to Lake Placid for over 30 years and in my travels, I have stayed at the most lavish hotel and the most family oriented hub. I love the town as it awakens everything beautiful within and brings to life being one with nature. The people, pubs, restaurants and boutiques all offer the same warmth and good nature that one would hope for in escaping for a weekend away from the city life and the havoc that comes with it to a small town for refuge and relaxation.

I walked into the Paradox Lodge and was immediately greeted by the in keepers who were cordial and welcoming. The refreshing scent of flowers and herbs permeated the air and as I stepped into the main building and discovered the sitting room and decor, I was immediately transported into a bohemian eclectic atmosphere that kept my eyes busy for quite some time. There was so much to see, touch, admire and view. The antiques and paintings, the statues and books, the sitting area so cozy and warm.. everything that one can dream of when visiting a B & B without any hesitation at all lay right before my eyes and I was fully transported to a very special place and time.
Our hosts invited us to view premises, the private beach with the quiet private garden and take a tour of our room. To our surprise, we were upgraded as other guests had to change their reservations and so we were treated to a spacious and warm room filled again with eclectic artwork, furniture, antiques and probably the most luxurious bathrobes that I have ever worn. The details of the shower, towels, amenities and cleanliness were ideal and I can't explain how exceptional the linens and bedding was. I slept like a baby and had a very difficult time awaking in the early am hours.
The breakfasts were delectable and unique as our host is a creative and crafty chef. He prides himself in making his own vanilla and many other delicious ingredients from scratch to ensure an awakening fit for a king and queen.
I just called the Inn to thank my hosts for a most memorable stay. Not only did they facilitate our needs, they were outstanding in their suggestions of hiking trails and places of interest that we had not visited in the past. I thank them for their kindness, hospitality and promise to return, sometime in the very near future and would highly recommend the Paradox Lodge to anyone who is searching for the best kept secret in the Adirondacks!

Room Tip: Make sure to book in advance as this B & B has many return guests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susie1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    13
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
72
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have stayed here twice now in the fall to enjoy the hiking in the area. Rooms are clean, cute, cozy, and comfortable! Staff is helpful and friendly. Breakfast is so delicious, best pancakes I ever had. It is a quick walk into town to explore or enjoy the many restaurants. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlantB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Paradox Lodge is a place we return to every trip we take to Lake Placid for many reasons. The adirondack decor makes this lodge feel very homey. The owners, Nan & Red have made us feel at home every stay. Their hospitality would be hard to match. The rooms are really quaint and kept very clean. The location is very convenient to any sites we've wanted to explore in the area. The Paradox has been a great place to stay in all the seasons. We also found the rates very fair for the rooms and delicious breakfasts that are included. I believe there are three highlights for us: the welcoming atmosphere, visiting with Nan and Red and the absolutely best dinners of anywhere we have been. The Paradox is a gem and our stays there have been delightful. We come from Ontario.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany,NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I were treated to a weekend at the Paradox Lodge n the village of Lake Placid,NY, site of the 1932 & 1980 winter Olympics, in NYS's beautiful Adirondack Mountains. Owners Moses ("Red") LaFountaine and his wife Nan totally renovated this 30 yr. abandoned property in the late 1990's into a charming, inviting setting that reflects the lore, beauty & history of the mountains. Dining room was set off by furniture crafted by Red, pennants and momentoes from Rockwell Kent, a friend of Red's. What a wonderful place!
It was a frigid weekend in this lovely alpine village and a real treat to come back to a cozy, warm living room with a blazing stove. Red is an amazing chef, fun to watch prepare our delicious entrees, and no shrinking violet, who tosses an occasional jab your way. All part of the fun! The meals were unique and exquisite and among the best we've ever had. Go & enjoy!

Room Tip: We stayed in ""Treetop", which had the bonus of a sitting room. Ask for it or a lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed in the Treetop Suite for 2 nights and enjoyed it a lot. It is not super high end, but there is a lot of attention to detail that creates a very homey feel. The bed was actually wonderful--have not slept in a hotel bed that well in a long time. It is a bit off the main drag but therefore more quite, and it is overlooking the actual Lake Placid with views of Whiteface Mountain. We loved the living area downstairs with the oven/fireplace and many interesting books. So relaxing!

We did not eat in the restaurant for the sake of getting some variety into our trip but if we ever come back we will. All in all a very recommendable B&B, low key but very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank german_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The establishment pretended that I had never rescheduled my fully prepaid booking, refusing to acknowledge their mistake and pocketing the money. The same person I spoke to became aggressive and rude over the phone, pretending that we have never spoken before. That only left us stranded in the middle of high season, looking for the very few and very overpriced options.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SumUniversalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNOWBLIZ, Owner at Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
There must be some confusion here as we never charge guests in advance for their stay with us. We charge at the time of check out. The only time we ask for a deposit (25%) is during the Ironman competition. We also always offer guests a rain check (once) if they need to reschedule their stay. Unfortunately we think this person has us mixed up with another property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Every new year we try to find a new and fun place on the East Coast to go to for New Years. Originally we planned on the Golden Arrow in Lake Placid, but after reading some of the reviews, both bad and good, we switched to the Paradox and were glad we did.

The Paradox is about a 7min walk from Main St in Lake Placid, but it's far enough that you don't get all the noise of the crowds walking back and forth. The room was large, very cozy, and the first smell you get entering the room was of fresh cedar. The bathroom was great with a nice large shower and a jacuzzi tub. It was a room you can really relax in after a day of skiing or hiking. With no kids in sight this place is perfect for people who want to get away from the noise of larger hotels on Main St.

All the furniture is hand made by Red, which brings a nice sense of home to the room.

In the morning you get a complimentary home cooked hearty breakfast, which was just the right size, plus all the coffee and fresh squeezed juice you can drink. The food was great, and I really enjoyed the potatoes. Additionally, those working there were incredibly knowledgeable of where to go hiking, rent equipment from, and pretty much everything else available in Lake Placid.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYearsEve2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#25 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge

Property: Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge
Address: 2169 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1182
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradox Lodge and Cedar Lodge guest rooms all have private bath and rates include a full breakfast that is cooked to order. The Cedar Lodge rooms all have king amenities with the Pisgah and Jenkins rooms having gas fireplaces and decks. All guests have access to the lake front and free boats. Breakfast is served in the dining room in the main lodge (Paradox). We also have a full bar and guests can relax in the living room in front of the fireplace. Our restaurant now serves private dinner parties and special events with advance notice and a minimum of six guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradox Lodge & Cedar Hotel Lake Placid
Paradox Lodge And Cedar Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing