We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Adirondack treat at the Paradox Lodge!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge
Ranked #3 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albany,NY
2 reviews
“An Adirondack treat at the Paradox Lodge!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I were treated to a weekend at the Paradox Lodge n the village of Lake Placid,NY, site of the 1932 & 1980 winter Olympics, in NYS's beautiful Adirondack Mountains. Owners Moses ("Red") LaFountaine and his wife Nan totally renovated this 30 yr. abandoned property in the late 1990's into a charming, inviting setting that reflects the lore, beauty & history of the mountains. Dining room was set off by furniture crafted by Red, pennants and momentoes from Rockwell Kent, a friend of Red's. What a wonderful place!
It was a frigid weekend in this lovely alpine village and a real treat to come back to a cozy, warm living room with a blazing stove. Red is an amazing chef, fun to watch prepare our delicious entrees, and no shrinking violet, who tosses an occasional jab your way. All part of the fun! The meals were unique and exquisite and among the best we've ever had. Go & enjoy!

Room Tip: We stayed in ""Treetop", which had the bonus of a sitting room. Ask for it or a lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    13
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
72
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed in the Treetop Suite for 2 nights and enjoyed it a lot. It is not super high end, but there is a lot of attention to detail that creates a very homey feel. The bed was actually wonderful--have not slept in a hotel bed that well in a long time. It is a bit off the main drag but therefore more quite, and it is overlooking the actual Lake Placid with views of Whiteface Mountain. We loved the living area downstairs with the oven/fireplace and many interesting books. So relaxing!

We did not eat in the restaurant for the sake of getting some variety into our trip but if we ever come back we will. All in all a very recommendable B&B, low key but very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank german_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The establishment pretended that I had never rescheduled my fully prepaid booking, refusing to acknowledge their mistake and pocketing the money. The same person I spoke to became aggressive and rude over the phone, pretending that we have never spoken before. That only left us stranded in the middle of high season, looking for the very few and very overpriced options.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SumUniversalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNOWBLIZ, Owner at Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
There must be some confusion here as we never charge guests in advance for their stay with us. We charge at the time of check out. The only time we ask for a deposit (25%) is during the Ironman competition. We also always offer guests a rain check (once) if they need to reschedule their stay. Unfortunately we think this person has us mixed up with another property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Every new year we try to find a new and fun place on the East Coast to go to for New Years. Originally we planned on the Golden Arrow in Lake Placid, but after reading some of the reviews, both bad and good, we switched to the Paradox and were glad we did.

The Paradox is about a 7min walk from Main St in Lake Placid, but it's far enough that you don't get all the noise of the crowds walking back and forth. The room was large, very cozy, and the first smell you get entering the room was of fresh cedar. The bathroom was great with a nice large shower and a jacuzzi tub. It was a room you can really relax in after a day of skiing or hiking. With no kids in sight this place is perfect for people who want to get away from the noise of larger hotels on Main St.

All the furniture is hand made by Red, which brings a nice sense of home to the room.

In the morning you get a complimentary home cooked hearty breakfast, which was just the right size, plus all the coffee and fresh squeezed juice you can drink. The food was great, and I really enjoyed the potatoes. Additionally, those working there were incredibly knowledgeable of where to go hiking, rent equipment from, and pretty much everything else available in Lake Placid.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYearsEve2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruston, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I am from Greenwich, CT, just 30 minutes outside of the Great NYC! I have eaten in the best restaurants and stayed in the finest hotels. I cannot believe how Nan and Chef Red have woven the best of Manhattan into their fine dining and superb lodging in a pristine Adirondack atmosphere. Let's start with the fine dining. They have a wonderful bar with the best martinis for starters. Their appetizers are mouth-watering. Make sure you order one. You will love it! Their vegetables and fruits are so fresh, and I discovered that the local farmer's market is right across the street from them, so I am certain they shop there for the seasonal produce. I was touring the local sugar house during my visit to Lake Placid when Nan and Red dropped in to purchase their maple syrup, another nice touch when it comes to Chef Red's french toast and pancakes for breakfast. The steaks, chops, seafood, and chicken dishes are all winners and the choices are endless that you will be hard pressed to pick just one entree. When the meal arrives it is a work of art. Red designs each plate with the "WOW" factor. Then, he ventures out of the kitchen to check on your satisfaction in the dining room. We pepper him with questions about the history, the food, the wine. It is a nice touch when you feel like you know the owners. You will not be disappointed. When you leave the magnificent Adirondack dining room and head to your room at the Paradox, you are in for more treats and surprises. Nan decorates each room with its own flare. Every comforter and matching shams and sheets are unique. Each nick nack purchased just for that room makes it special. Chef Red's talents also move into the lodging rooms where he hand built each Adirondack table and purchased gorgeous sinks for the baths. The walls, ceilings and floors are all specially designed and frankly, enchanting. People request rooms and if not booked early they are taken, so reserve early. They were sold out for that weekend on the Wednesday that we were there for dinner. It is the perfect place for a romantic getaway, a rehearshal dinner, a special birthday party, (we took my mom there for her 80th) your wedding or anniversary occasion, or that surprise engagement for the one you love. Although I did not stay at the Paradox, because I stay with friends in town, I requested a tour of the rooms and would love to stay there based on what I saw. My friends and I just go there to eat whenever we can, but if I were booking a special event in Lake Placid the first call would be to The Paradox Lodge for my family and friends. Luanne

Room Tip: Book early, or you won't get in. All rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie19_196060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
330 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed in the Treetop Room for just one night. The room is located at the top of the staircase in the main inn and we did not see other guests this midweek night. The room faces the southern most point of Lake Placid but it was a bit hard to capture a waterfront feel through the foliage in the yard leading down to the water's edge. It was a cool Sept. night so air conditioning was not needed which suited us fine! The room, bed, and furnishings were comfortable but the bathroom was very tiny with a small sink opposite the toilet and an old fashioned (yet charming) tub with a shower head. We were so pleased with the complimentary canoe/kayaks and set out for a paddle right away...what a fun way to sightsee this lovely area! Afterwards we enjoyed wine (which we brought but they do have a bar) while taking in the view from the lounge chairs. Dinner at Paradox was great so be sure to reserve a time well in advance as most dining guests are not staying there. We walked off our meal by heading to town and then kept going around the entire Mirror Lake loop. The next morning we had coffee, juice, raspberries,eggs,Canadian bacon and toast for breakfast (glad we took that long walk) and figured out our day with Nan's great suggestions...our favorites being the Lake Placid Tour Boat (a must do!) and a hike up Cobble Hill.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake (back of the house) will have less street noise.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Lake Placid had always been a favourite R&R destination, but after discovering it, Paradox
Lodge became the destination - one we have returned to many times over many years. A truly
unique B&B offering comfortable accommodation with a truly Adirondack atmosphere. Each
room has its own personality created with flair by Nan and “Red,” the hosts/owners of the Lodge.
Our favourite room is Jenkins (in Cedars), which offers a most comfortable bed, fireplace,
balcony, Jacuzzi, rain shower - the list goes on. An excellent breakfast, prepared to order rounds
out the B&B experience.
In addition to all its accommodation excellence, the Lodge is one of the best dining spots in the
area. Our first introduction to Paradox was as dinner guests many years ago and the love affair
with “Red” and his excellent fare continues unabated. From cocktails on the lawn on the shore of
Lake Placid or on the front verandah or in the living room, to the appetizers and entrees prepared
freshly to order, all is wonderful. Quality of ingredients and inspired preparation prevail. And in
addition to this wonderful food there is an excellent wine list, with knowledgeable advice to
boot.
All in all, we heartily and without reservation recommend Paradox Lodge.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank theWestieBarbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge

Property: Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge
Address: 2169 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1182
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradox Lodge and Cedar Lodge guest rooms all have private bath and rates include a full breakfast that is cooked to order. The Cedar Lodge rooms all have king amenities with the Pisgah and Jenkins rooms having gas fireplaces and decks. All guests have access to the lake front and free boats. Breakfast is served in the dining room in the main lodge (Paradox). We also have a full bar and guests can relax in the living room in front of the fireplace. Our restaurant now serves private dinner parties and special events with advance notice and a minimum of six guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradox Lodge And Cedar Lodge
Paradox Lodge & Cedar Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing