We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A+ view, C food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Players bar and grill

Players bar and grill
Ranked #24 of 98 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rainbow Lake, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A+ view, C food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Great view off the deck in front. It's a little small but nice. The food however was ordinary, not bad but in a town with so many really good restaurants not really worth going back for. Started with wings that were soggy and in a very vinegary sauce. No real heat. Burgers were ok. Cooked as we ordered but kind of bland and boring. If the prices were a little cheaper I might be more forgiving.

Helpful?
Thank Fritz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    61
    30
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
247 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Yech.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Dropped in for afternoon drinks and to sit on their small rear balcony overlooking the lake.
Worst Margarita I've ever had, definitely a premix of some kind. There is absolutely no atmosphere in this cafeteria style restaurant and we will definitely not be going back. They could do so much better with a little effort,,,,

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wolf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It's food.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We were driving through the mountains on our way to Vermont and decided to drive through Lake Placid to eat. We chose this place due to the view of the lake. The food was average, and we probably should have taken the advice of a local resident who said, "All the locals eat at Lisa G's." On the deck, the view was nice, but our table was being dripped on by water above (air conditioning, is my guess.) So if you do eat here don't take the center table on the deck. Isn't hard to determine the center table, as there are only 4 tables on the deck. If we ever travel through Lake Placid again, we will definitely try Lisa G's, because that is where the "local folks eat."

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse, ny
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We visited Lake Placid during the first week of August and were quite surprised to see some of the negative reviews of Players Bar and Grill. The service was attentive and friendly, and the view is absolutely gorgeous. I had a burger that was perfectly cooked with delicious, crispy fries. My husband had the wings, again well cooked. The wing sauce was a little heavy on the tabasco taste but flavorful enough to be a winner. We travel some, I'm a bit of a foodie and can be a little picky about restaurant quality. Players gets an A+!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank soxfans08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sad Sad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We popped in for drinks and appetizers. We were disappointed. There was much anticipation as this restaurant was being build. The outside is wonderful. The view is amazing. The food - oh boy! It's as if they make weekly runs to Costco. The same applies to the desserts. The decor is sparse with 4 not so big TV's. I'm not quite sure what the theme is. Will it be here next year...not if they keep serving what we had. I should say that the server was great! :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Players bar and grill also viewed

 

Been to Players bar and grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing