We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Lake Placid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Lake Placid
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Very nice property and hotel.

We were on the 1st floor near the pool.

Our room was very large room, clean, comfortable, well decorated and quiet.

Pool and hot tub great.

Staff were very friendly and check in and out was easy.

Free wi-fi and free parking.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HojasRojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Lake Placid, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear HojasRojas,

Thank you so much for your response. I am very happy to hear your stay went well. The property has had a few changes over the last year that we are very excited about. One being the new lobby and bistro set up with a starbucks. We look forward to seeing you for a future stay. Perhaps a different season? For example: Winter you can take advantage of some skiing at whiteface mountain or a dog sled ride on mirror lake. See you then, and thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    179
    46
    13
    15
See reviews for
170
190
12
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Reserved 4 rooms on marriott.com as part of a surprise party, then sent hotel email directly informing them. I needed to make sure when we checked in that desk staff didn’t ask us which one of the 4 rooms was ours or the surprise would have been blown. The desk staff was perfect and was even careful when other 3 rooms where checking in.

We arrived mid June late Friday evening check in. Hotel is immaculate, everything appears brand new, lobby has plenty of seats. Room huge, we had 1 king br suite with separate living room. 2 TV’s and full wetbar and fridge. Breakfast was good, buffet was always stocked. I would suggest you book package with breakfast for the convenience. Everyone we saw staying in hotel was nice and well behaved. Plenty of free parking and free internet.

Try Adirondack Steak & Seafood, they have really nice private room for party that was fantastic. Also bobsled run and ski jump venue, as well as gondola ride at Whiteface shouldn’t be missed. You can save a lot of money if you buy the Olympic Sites Passport.

Its true you have to drive to get downtown but it’s only a 2 minute ride, which is hardly a hassle even if you go out all night long. Since most people arrive by car anyway book here to save money (since you are not right in town), and enjoy first class accommodations as well as first class staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itbetterbeclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Lake Placid, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dead itbetterbeclean,

Thank you so very much for your response to your stay on our property. I am very happy to hear our staff was able to "sneak" around the check in process to ensure the surprise would remain unspoiled. It is a unique skill that we have developed over the years working with all of our guests’ special occasions and requests. Our lobby had just been updated in the last year to what you saw recently during your stay. Our rooms are scheduled for a remodel in the near future, so I invited you to come check them out when we are done! Please let us know when you are coming back so we may make your stay into another memorable experience. Also, I have quite a few recommendations for some other great restaurants if you would like to try some new cuisine and atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very nice hotel just a short distance outside Lake Placid with great views of the Adirondack mountains. Good breakfast and nice lobby to grab an evening drink. Provides a good base of operations for spending time in Lake Placid and the surrounding Adirondacks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter1533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Lake Placid, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Peter,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I love the fact that our hotel is close to town, but at the same time nice and quiet at night to come back to. You can enjoy the sights and attractions and then come back and relax on our property. We have done a renovation to our lobby, so now we have a fresh look and amenities to help you unwind. I personally think that adding a Starbucks was much needed :) Thank you again and we hope to see you back to our property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

So bad experience in the spring here as we seemed to be the only visitors not playing in a huge hockey tourney in town. Let mgr, Todd Peterson , know how disappointed we were with a few things. Me Peterson assured us our next visit would be better. Wasn't sure if he meant it or not but came back to town last night for some biking and kayaking with no plan to stay over. Called me Peterson and stayed here . No complaints and very eased with the service, our room, parking etc. thank you mr Peterson for the old fashioned true customer service. We will be back and will recommend your hotel!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjlsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Lake Placid, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear "PJLSW,"

I am very happy to hear that your stay with us went better this time around and that you were able to take advantage of the area for some time on the lake and on the bikes.Todd was one of our best and most valued assets on the property. He has since moved to another property and will be missed, but please do not hesitate to let any of our other great staff members here know if we can help you with any future reservations or plans. Thank you again for your kind words and we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Level Contributor
167 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

great place to stay. our first time at a courtyard. huge suite. plenty of room.large living area with sofa bed.chest and closet in living area.2 tvs,frig and microwave in kitchen area big king size bedroom with closet and chests. big bath.heated indodor pool(91 degrees) felt great. 2 hot tubs, on was 101 degrees and the other was 103 degrees. i loved the cooler while my husband loved the hotter one. we had got the plan that included breakfast the next morning. a great breakfast buffet. very good bacon. this courtyard at lake placid is very nice. enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: suites are really nice. if you can splurge, get a suite.
See more room tips
Green Features: i wish all motels and hotels were like this.when we stay at hotels that are environmentally friendly we try to do our part. i was very pleased with what the hotel was doing.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Lake Placid, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Catherine,
Thank you so much for your kind words. I personally love that type of suite you had stayed in. I’m happy to hear your stay went well and hope you had fun exploring town. Also, thank you for taking notice of Marriott's efforts to limit our environmental impact. That is something that we take seriously and go to great lengths to make sure we are all "doing our part" for the environment. We look forward to you coming back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed her for 2 days in May and it was just as good as the last time. The remodeled the lobby and restaurant area, which came out nice. We had a room with a nice jetted tub. The staff were very helpful and let us check in a few hours early. The pool was being remodeled but it wasn't a huge issue. I will stay there next time we go.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katie0225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todd p, Manager at Courtyard Lake Placid, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for coming back to see our new Bistro. I will tell share this with the staff. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much. Despite our late arrival Mr. Eric Otiz (supervisor) was very helpful with providing service well beyond the expectation (computer help). We have traveled with friends from Czech Republic and we all were impressed with accommodation and service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudolf P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todd p, Manager at Courtyard Lake Placid, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you so much for all of your kind words. Eric is one of our most valuable assets. I'll be sure to tell him. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.1 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
1.5 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#5 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Lake Placid

Property: Courtyard Lake Placid
Address: 5920 Cascade Rd, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3488
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Lake Placid 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Courtyard Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Courtyard
Lake Placid Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing