We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Whiteface Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Whiteface Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
clifton park, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“awesome!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2007

Just got back from a wonderful stay at the Whiteface lodge. We have 3 kids and they had a blast. From the game room, skating, snow shoeing, ice cream parlor, to the outside pool to the movie theatre. However the bowling alley was out of service. The service was exceptional and the staff was extremely courteous. We all enjoyed the tubing down pisguah Mtn?? and stopped to see the ice castle on the way back. The other highlight for the kids was the dog sled ride on the lake. Looking forward to returning again soon. Only recomendation would be to install fans in the fitness room.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank debbiejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    128
    41
    20
    13
See reviews for
442
418
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2007

My family of four stayed at the Whiteface Lodge for a week in February. Because of the cold temperatures on the mountain, we took advantage of every amenity available, and had a wonderful time. The staff was friendly, the food and Kanu delish (and kids’ menu reasonably priced), and rooms very comfortable. The previous posters have covered all the different things to do, but I do want to mention that the highlight for us was ice skating at night followed by hot chocolate and s’mores by a fire. We’ll certainly treasure the memories of our time spent there.

  • Liked — Outdoor ice rink
  • Disliked — no DVD player in living room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ADKlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2007

We stayed at The Whiteface Lodge for a week in December and it was nothing short of the best family vacation we ever had. The Lodge is a first class resort with the best of everything, and decorated in it's unique and beautiful old Adirondack style. While my wife and I loved the luxury, our children loved all the activities at the Lodge....skating, swimming, game room, movie theater, and on and on. This place is wonderful.

  • Liked — The beautiful decorations in the Lodge and all the activities available
  • Disliked — It was great!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Adventurey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2007

I planned to purchase my parents a gift certificate for the Whiteface Lodge as a Christmas gift. I planned to purchase it via the phone using a credit card. The policy for such a purchase with the Whiteface Lodge is to return a faxed or mailed "Credit Card Authorization Form" - on this required form is a photocopy of the front and back of the credit card, along with phone number, email, full address and signature. In this day and age of credit card fraud and identity theft, this policy has the potential to expose the consumer to very serious harm. I called my credit card company and they strongly advised against sending such information to the Whiteface Lodge or any other entity. I called the hotel back and shared this information with the management - their response, "We spoke with our accounting department and this is standard in the industry and we are not changing our requirements" - basically if you want to purchase a gift certificate with us, you must return this form with all of your personal information.
I can assure the management, this is not standard in the industry. I called a competitor in Lake Placid, and they were more than happy to sell me a gift certificate over the phone using my credit card and they did not ask for a photocopy of my cards, etc.
I strongly encourage the accounting department and the management at the Whiteface Lodge to reconsider this potentially damaging policy to protect consumers from identity theft and credit card fraud.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
11 Thank maryc1336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resortmanager, Resort Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2007
Thank you for your recent comment. We are currently reevaluating our gift certificate policy.

Warm Regards,

Steven O’Hern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whiteface Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whiteface Lodge

Property: The Whiteface Lodge
Address: 7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Whiteface Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Adirondack Mountains, this exclusive resort is a haven of comfort and elegance. A retreat where guests can relax in sumptuous all suites resort and enjoy superb cuisine. A refined atmosphere, log architecture, fire places, world class spa, year round activities and the Canoe Beach club on Lake Placid. The Lodge is both a family friendly destination and an adult playground or romantic escape. A Member of Leading Hotels of The World and the most Luxurious Full Service Resort in the Adirondacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Whiteface Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing