We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Whiteface Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Resort”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

A beautiful hotel and resort in lake placid. The room was great, clean and beautiful. The staff are professional and friendly. What I like most here is ice skating and I enjoyed it. And the food was delicious and great!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McCullough H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    128
    43
    20
    12
See reviews for
453
423
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Fabulous winter get-a-away. My teenager ,10, and 9 year old enjoyed the old fashion hockey game at the on-site rink. One of our favorite memories is one of us relaxing in the heated outside with fresh falling snow blanketing the areas around us. Also significantly delightful was our suite...we loved coming in after skiing or touring the olympic venues to a comfortable yet luxurious room ... Roomy loft space, kitchen for family of 5 was perfect ... and the cookies were a "sweet "touch!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Cooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This hotel is pricey but so very worth it. It is on par with The Breakers in Palm Beach and Four Seasons hotels, albeit in a different setting with a different type of atmosphere (lodge like). While many hotels have the big things right (accommodations, location, etc.), it is generally the smaller things that make a stay truly special. This hotel excels at both. You can read about all the unique things and activities this hotel offers on the hotel website so I won't reiterate them here. What I can share is that all of this was punctuated by amazing hospitality.

Specifically, there were a few individuals who stood out to us during our stay that I would like to compliment. Jordan C. waited on us one morning for breakfast. While all of your servers were polite and accommodating, Jordan was on par with the waiters and waitresses we are accustomed to from The Breakers, in Palm Beach, FL. The Breakers is well known for its outstanding service so to us, this is the highest compliment we could deliver.

On the morning of our departure, it was snowing so we decided to leave a bit early. There was no time for breakfast so we asked if we may take a few bagels to go. Kirstyn was so helpful and accommodating. Several times she happily complied to fetch us things we needed (to go containers, plastic knives, etc.). We very much appreciated this assistance which was all delivered with a polite and friendly attitude.

On Thursday night (3/20) we dined at the Kanu Lounge. My son was not feeling well. Our waitress, who's name I don't recall, was so accommodating. She brought him soup quickly and found some crackers to help settle his stomach. She also promptly found answers to our questions and was of course very attentive and polite.

Overall, we were very confident that if we placed a call with a need, someone would arrive within minutes to take care of us. Housekeeping did a wonderful job the entire length of our stay. It is a pleasure to stay at a resort where the management obviously trains ALL of the staff well and maintains high expectations for performance. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vlwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Serene chance to recovery
The Whiteface Lodge in Lake Placid, New York, is a place where coziness, and luxury, tranquility and quietness, beauty and splendor, envelop you in a long sweet, and comforting embrace.
You can find it all: fresh air (inside of the lodge smells like just rained pine!), clean and rich bed spreads, appetizing food, hot tub, hot bathroom floors, and the always present and delicious chocolate chip cookies. Everything there is wonderful. In the suite’s balcony you can have your coffee in silence and admire the overwhelming beauty of the surrounding nature. The lodge has also a small ice skating rink, how joyful! The staff is polite, helpful, and always offers you a delicate smile. We loved everything about Whiteface Lodge. It was very hard to decide if we should go outside and explore, or to stay inside and enjoy the comfort of excellence. I hope we can find time to return to this place of rejuvenation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Whiteface Lodge. Not only did they work hard to rebook our vacation (after mistakenly booking the wrong week!) but the staff and accomidations were beyond out expectations. Great Food, Great drinks, lots to do at any moment. Good for a romantic getaway or fun filled for a family retreat. We loved it here and will look into coming again with the whole family.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MelUnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

You'd have to really look to find fault with the WFL. Loved our visit. The staff is amazing. We did it all - ice skated, used the pool, hot tub, movies, you name it. Great place. LOVED the heated floor in the bathroom. Doesn't get better than that. And the cookies are to die for. Don't turn down the turn down service! Let them in.

My only suggestion to them is a sign by the outdoor pool about the walkway being slippery. Not only did I slip and fall there, a friend visited two months prior and had the same experience. Although the walkways are heated, when it's 0F it doesn't matter and those steps from the pool to the hot tub were so slippery we could hardly stand. I still have the marks on my back from that fall 2 weeks later - and my friend fell 3 months ago - there really needs to be a sign out at the pool about this hazard.

Still - a beautiful, well-run place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catsnotkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for the kind words and review about our Resort! All of the little things and areas you mention that made your stay great is what makes the Lodge, our Suites, Amenities and Staff so special.
We truly try to take notice of every detail to ensure a great stay. With that said we will look at making the potential slippery surfaces at the pool deck area less slippery and adding caution signs to the area.
Best wishes and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My family stayed here for a spring break ski vacation and we all loved the Whiteface Lodge. Staff were so friendly and helpful, the room was huge and the amenities were outstanding. The cookies with turndown service were so nice. My daughters loved the ice rink. The outdoor setting was just beautiful and the hot cocoa in the yurt was delicious. We also enjoyed snowshoeing and the s'mores in the evening. The outdoor heated pool and hot tubs were so nice after coming back from skiing and we also made use of the game room and theater. We also spent an afternoon getting massages at the spa, which was lovely and tranquil. We would definitely return here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1.4 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whiteface Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whiteface Lodge

Property: The Whiteface Lodge
Address: 7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Whiteface Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Adirondack Mountains, this exclusive resort is a haven of comfort and elegance. A retreat where guests can relax in sumptuous all suites resort and enjoy superb cuisine. A refined atmosphere, log architecture, fire places, world class spa, year round activities and the Canoe Beach club on Lake Placid. The Lodge is both a family friendly destination and an adult playground or romantic escape. A Member of Leading Hotels of The World and the most Luxurious Full Service Resort in the Adirondacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Whiteface Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing