We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene chance to recovery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Whiteface Lodge
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Serene chance to recovery
The Whiteface Lodge in Lake Placid, New York, is a place where coziness, and luxury, tranquility and quietness, beauty and splendor, envelop you in a long sweet, and comforting embrace.
You can find it all: fresh air (inside of the lodge smells like just rained pine!), clean and rich bed spreads, appetizing food, hot tub, hot bathroom floors, and the always present and delicious chocolate chip cookies. Everything there is wonderful. In the suite’s balcony you can have your coffee in silence and admire the overwhelming beauty of the surrounding nature. The lodge has also a small ice skating rink, how joyful! The staff is polite, helpful, and always offers you a delicate smile. We loved everything about Whiteface Lodge. It was very hard to decide if we should go outside and explore, or to stay inside and enjoy the comfort of excellence. I hope we can find time to return to this place of rejuvenation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

721 - 727 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Whiteface Lodge. Not only did they work hard to rebook our vacation (after mistakenly booking the wrong week!) but the staff and accomidations were beyond out expectations. Great Food, Great drinks, lots to do at any moment. Good for a romantic getaway or fun filled for a family retreat. We loved it here and will look into coming again with the whole family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MelUnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

You'd have to really look to find fault with the WFL. Loved our visit. The staff is amazing. We did it all - ice skated, used the pool, hot tub, movies, you name it. Great place. LOVED the heated floor in the bathroom. Doesn't get better than that. And the cookies are to die for. Don't turn down the turn down service! Let them in.

My only suggestion to them is a sign by the outdoor pool about the walkway being slippery. Not only did I slip and fall there, a friend visited two months prior and had the same experience. Although the walkways are heated, when it's 0F it doesn't matter and those steps from the pool to the hot tub were so slippery we could hardly stand. I still have the marks on my back from that fall 2 weeks later - and my friend fell 3 months ago - there really needs to be a sign out at the pool about this hazard.

Still - a beautiful, well-run place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catsnotkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for the kind words and review about our Resort! All of the little things and areas you mention that made your stay great is what makes the Lodge, our Suites, Amenities and Staff so special.
We truly try to take notice of every detail to ensure a great stay. With that said we will look at making the potential slippery surfaces at the pool deck area less slippery and adding caution signs to the area.
Best wishes and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My family stayed here for a spring break ski vacation and we all loved the Whiteface Lodge. Staff were so friendly and helpful, the room was huge and the amenities were outstanding. The cookies with turndown service were so nice. My daughters loved the ice rink. The outdoor setting was just beautiful and the hot cocoa in the yurt was delicious. We also enjoyed snowshoeing and the s'mores in the evening. The outdoor heated pool and hot tubs were so nice after coming back from skiing and we also made use of the game room and theater. We also spent an afternoon getting massages at the spa, which was lovely and tranquil. We would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Whiteface Lodge is a gem. We fell in love the minute that we walked into the adirondack camp style lodge. One floor up is an incredible dining room with floor to ceiling windows that overlook Whiteface Mountain. The lodge has a wide array of activities for both families and couples. We have vacationed here in both summer and winter. With plenty of olympic activities to experience in the Lake Placid region, it is a difficult decision to either stay in the comfy lodge, or to go out and explore.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side overlook the courtyard and mountains beyond...highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRMMRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Overall a really nice hotel - great staff and well run. Only had very minor issues with customer service that really didn't affect the overall experience too badly. From the first contact with the valet/doorman to check-in and all interactions (save one) were excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend staying here.

We had a large family gathering (10+) with lots of kids and 4 adults. We decided to rent the 3-bedroom suite instead of 3 separate rooms. The suite was large enough to accommodate with some creative sleeping arrangement (the kids all slept in the master bedroom - which is huge). With two other beds and a pullout these suites can easily accommodate. There is an 8-person limit for the purposes of the breakfast - but honestly buy a dozen eggs and some bacon and toast and you'll further ahead.

The pool is nice albeit small indoor and larger heated outdoor. For my old bones it was a bit chilly but there are two hot tubs (one in one out) if you get too cold. A sauna would be a nice addition for sure.

My only complaint, and the reason for a 4 rating, was the breakfast was really just OK and we got some minor hassle for having more than 8 people. The hotel didn't charge us extra but the real annoyance was that after seeing 7 kids under 12 eat like mice they decided to make an issue of it at all - when at check-in we listed all the people staying in the room without any comment. A better approach would be to either discuss it with me when I checked in - or not say anything at all. A small spoiler for an otherwise very nice stay. Kids would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The 3-bedroom suite rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bitamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Great place to stay. Clean large rooms. Lots to do at hotel. Movies,stating,gym,snowshoeing even bowl. Rooms are equipped with fireplace. We only stayed one night and did not have supper in restaurant .however breakfast was good. The prices are steep but worth it.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank kperky96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,354 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#10 of 32 in Lake Placid
445 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1.4 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#14 of 32 in Lake Placid
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whiteface Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whiteface Lodge

Address: 7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: $307 - $740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Whiteface Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Adirondack Mountains, this exclusive resort is a haven of comfort and elegance. A retreat where guests can relax in sumptuous all suites resort and enjoy superb cuisine. A refined atmosphere, log architecture, fire places, world class spa, year round activities and the Canoe Beach club on Lake Placid. The Lodge is both a family friendly destination and an adult playground or romantic escape. A Member of Leading Hotels of The World and the most Luxurious Full Service Resort in the Adirondacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Whiteface Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing