We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I've stayed at in a while!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Whiteface Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Best hotel I've stayed at in a while!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located about 20 minutes from Whiteface mountain. My husband and I took our three kids there at the beginning of January to ski. The hotel was unbelievable! Staff was friendly and incredibly helpful, the rooms were beautiful and spotless and the restaurants were top notch. The breakfast is included and is so amazing, I promise you'll never want to leave!!

They have a great game room for the kids with air hockey, ping pong, bowling, pool and other games. The workout room is well stocked and spacious.

This is a great hotel - I'd go back in a heartbeat!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alexiskaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    128
    43
    20
    12
See reviews for
462
431
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The lodge is simply astonishing. The entrance and lobby are in excellent conditon and staff are really friendly- a consistent feature all around Lake Placid. A glorious moment is when you walk down a typical hotel corridor but when you open the room door you literally find a luxurious cozy cabin - well furnished, ultra clean and enormous. Staff are very attentive to details. This is a perfect place for everyone- romantic if you want it, but also given its sheer size and facilities also great for children. Mine were happy at the room, and even happier at the warm winter pool and the ice rink. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Double bedroom suites are perfect for families. they include kitchen so great if you prefer easy foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is the second visit my husband and I made to the lodge, and we absolutely love it! Their attention to detail makes it such a memorable experience. The staff are so friendly and warm, the rooms are large and comfy and the food is amazing! Not to mention the Incredible spa! You will feel right at home at the whiteface lodge, definitely worth the money!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristiJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The lodge is lovely. Beautiful wooden structure with all the details carefully thought out. Spacious, comfortable accomodations. There is no doubt you are in the Adirondacks when you stay here. Indoor/outdoor heated pool was a treat. The spa treatment was good, but the spa itself seemed like an afterthought. The magnificent dining room, whether day or night was delightful with two roaring fires.
The food was very good, for the most part.
I enjoyed my stay here and would return anytime.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duncanspop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

It's a truly beautiful, relaxing, cozy, and inviting place to spend a few days. My son enjoyed Camp Kanu, going to the movie theatre, skating on the outdoor rink and swimming in the outdoor heated pool. All of this was inlcuded with the resort fee that is paid daily.
My husband and I found it was the small details that set Whiteface Lodge apart from other good resorts. There are glass water decanters in just about every room and they are always topped up, should you need a drink. There are filters on the kitchen tap, so you don't need bottled water. The furniture is not standard hotel furniture. The sofas and chairs are deep and soft and you can sink right into them as you curl up by the fire with a good book. The bathroom floors are heated and rather than throw dirty towels on the floor, each bathroom is equipped with a proper hamper. Each of the bedrooms and the living area have large picture windows that take up the whole wall and the views are stunning. The rooms are very spacious and the kitchen is fully equipped.
As well as full housekeeping service during the day, there is evening turndown service where the staff also deliver you large, wrapped home made cookies and an ice cart comes by to make sure your ice bucket is full for the evening. They also deliver you the events page for the following day so that you and your family can partake in the various activities planned throughout the resort.
The first floor lounge area has a huge bookshelf filled with titles you can borrow during your stay. If all of this isn't relaxing enough for you, they also have a full spa on site which I thoroughly enjoyed. There is also an underground tunnel to the clubhouse so that you can wear your robe and slippers that are provided right right from your room to the pool area. We loved sitting in the outdoor hot tub while it was snowing around us. We didn't get the opportunity to try out the restaurant or the onsite bowling alley, but we will be sure to put these on our to-do lists for our next visit. If you are looking for a place to unwind and enjoy casual luxury, you will find it at Whiteface Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetset_woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2013

From the friendly and attentive service to the beautiful rooms, it was a great experience. Will definitely go back.

Lake Placid is a great place to hike with some very interesting historical features including the John Brown Memorial, the Lake Placid Winter Olympics museum and a really fun downtown area.

Room Tip: Get the fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dtainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Recently had our second visit to Whiteface Lodge, and had another experience that was fantastic and lived up to our first round memories. We adore the Adirondack theme throughout the property, and love the cozy suites with their fine touches and amenities. Who can resist relaxing in a suite fireside while it snows?

We dined in the Kanu lounge, enjoyed a delicious dinner with live guitar accompaniment. The children had a blast in the Sunset Club- were able to partake in games, crafts, s'mores, etc. while we enjoyed an adult dinner to ourselves.

The heated pool was amazing, and we appreciated again the game room and bowling. With Lake Placid downtown shops and restaurants only a hop, skip, and jump away, we also enjoyed a quick outing during our stay.

We will count down the days until our next visit. HIGHLY recommend this lovely resort!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEO_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,248 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
419 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
2.2 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whiteface Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whiteface Lodge

Property: The Whiteface Lodge
Address: 7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Whiteface Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Adirondack Mountains, this exclusive resort is a haven of comfort and elegance. A retreat where guests can relax in sumptuous all suites resort and enjoy superb cuisine. A refined atmosphere, log architecture, fire places, world class spa, year round activities and the Canoe Beach club on Lake Placid. The Lodge is both a family friendly destination and an adult playground or romantic escape. A Member of Leading Hotels of The World and the most Luxurious Full Service Resort in the Adirondacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Whiteface Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing