We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, mediocre service, terrible food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Whiteface Lodge
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were thoroughly pleased with this location, resort amenities and gorgeous/spacious rooms. The resort itself is very luxurious, clean and well -kept. Concierge is very helpful and you often see cleaning staff, who are very friendly and helpful. There is lots to do on site, and you feel away from the bustle of the town. We felt very relaxed, and happy in and out of our room enjoying the pool, club and huts. However, the service industry at this resort is lacking...severely! This was especially present with the receptionist at the spa who, after spending over 600$ on treatments, answered "un-huh" after we thanked her. Our spa treatments were not good at all. The restaurants staff are also mediocre, although we encountered friendlier male staff in the evening lounge on 2 occasions. Lastly, the food was terrible for a resort of this caliber. Breakfast was not very good (eggs slimy, uncooked oatmeal and bulb breads). Barely any healthy diner options with the same menu repeating lunch/diner etc. We stayed for over 5 days and unfortunately, went off site most of the time as the restaurant lacked. It would have been nice to enjoy our vacation on site. There are great take-out food nearby, with healthier options and tasty food. Unsure if we will go back or recommend. It literally, left a bad taste ..

Room Tip: Rooms are great, just bring your own food and avoid breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BIGtraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Whiteface Lodge. We had a deluxe 1 bedroom suite which was plenty big enough for a family of 4. The room was really beautiful. The in room washer/dryer came in very handy. The pool is lovely! The lake property is a shuttle ride away and is equipped with paddle boats, canoes, kayaks, paddle boards and life jackets. My only complaint is there isn't really anyone manning the equipment so if you are not used to getting on and off the boats there's no one to really help you. They do have food and drinks there as well. My kids thoroughly enjoyed the kids camp (ages 9 and 5). During the day camp they went to the lake, painted pottery in town, etc. the counselors were great. The included breakfast was delicious and they also have s'mores by the campfire each night. The turn down service included delicious choc chip cookies as well. Really great family vacation! Pricey...but worth it. I stayed at the mirror lake inn a few years ago which was lovely...but whiteface lodge is much better choice if you have kids.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stephanie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Finding lodging during Ironman week at the end of July in Lake Placid can be challenging. I was delighted that the Whiteface Lodge did not require a minimum 5 to 7 night stay that is the norm of many other area hotels and condos during this busy time. While pricey, the Lodge was worth every penny for my husband, 2 teenage sons, and I. We had a lovely 1 bedroom suite on the 1st floor with 1.5 bathrooms. The master bath was huge with a separate 2 person jacuzzi style tub, a glassed in shower, heated floor, and double sinks.

The Lodge is comfortable with many different areas to spend time in. My boys loved the game room and the pool. The grounds were nicely landscaped and maintained. The nightly turndown service with huge homemade chocolate chip cookies was a big hit as well.

We enjoyed the daily breakfast buffet, had a nice lunch off of the tavern menu, and had 2 decent dinners at the Kanu restaurant. They even had a special "Ironman" menu of lighter/healthier fare which was great the night before the race.

On race morning, we were heading out at 4:30am and there was a small breakfast buffet and coffee already set up in the lobby to accommodate the early rising athletes and their families. This was such a nice touch.

We chose to drive back and forth to town but they do have a shuttle service which would certainly help with parking issues on such a busy weekend.

Thanks for a great stay. Your service and activities really helped alleviate some of our pre-race stress.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kasurp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a romantic weekend getaway. They charged us the full rack rate for our 1 bedroom suite (it was a busy weekend at Lake Placid due to Ironman competition) and at checkout would not honor any AAA discount after presenting my current AAA card (clerk claimed it was a "blackout" date dictated by their home office). Never heard of this being done anywhere or anytime in my 25+ years of being a traveler and loyal AAA member. Anyway, the hotel is nice and the grounds are beautiful. The breakfast that was included was a major disappointment - bad, rubbery scrambled eggs, overcooked bacon, fresh fruit with some sort of preservative on them, bitter coffee...you get the idea. For $650 a night, one would expect something a bit more refined and gourmet. We stayed on the second floor and were the first room after the elevator. We found this room to be noisy as we frequently heard children running up and down the hallway from the elevator to the room.
When we went to the front desk Saturday to ask for suggested local hikes, we were given a pre-printed sheet with several suggestions along with directions, difficulty level, and est. distances and times. Perfect we thought. We chose a hike that accommodated our hiking level and time constraints. It was supposed to be 10 minutes away. We meticulously followed the turn by turn directions and landmark prompts but could not find one of the road names referenced on the sheet. We re-read the directions, drove back and forth several times but still no success finding the trailhead. Well after driving around for 30 minutes trying to find the street referenced on their directions, we came to find out that the street name they referenced was incorrect (and so were the landmarks AND sign posts). So we missed our hike because of the poor directions supplied. Seems like if you are going to provide pre-printed directions, have someone proof-read them for accuracy.
In my opinion, one stays at 5-star locations to avoid disappointments, problems and silly errors that cost valuable, hard earned vacation time. This hotel failed.
One might deem my review harsh based on these described events but when an establishment charges top level prices they MUST be willing and able to provide a top level experience to the consumer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank GeeJAre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your response. I am glad you selected the Whiteface Lodge and I am sorry we did not meet and failed exceed your expectations as we do for over 93% of everyone who visits the Lodge.
I must say we run a very fair honest business and I do not believe this was a fair or genuine review. We have your booking confirmed at Rack Rate which is the only rate we offer during our peak times. You visited Lake Placid during the busiest weekend of the summer and were never told we would honor nor were you able to book an AAA discounted rate. It is not advertised anywhere for your dates and you agreed to the rate at the time of booking. You than received a confirmation email with the rate you agreed to and lastly you confirmed it a third time upon your arrival when we went over your registration card that you signed.
The fact that our Front Desk person felt bullied reflects poorly on your motivation for this review simply because we would not give you a discount that simply was not available or offered during your stay. Unfortunately the review has the feel of a guest upset that their last ditch effort to trick or convince the hotel to provide a discount was denied.
With all this being said there are some small valid service issues and we do genuinely apologize for them. I do not consider the busiest week of summer an excuse for missing on some of the service points that we strive to achieve. Please accept our apology and consider visiting us again in one of the 8+ months of the year that we proudly offer AAA, AARP, Military and internal Lodge discounts and special packages. I am sorry that the period you choose was not one of those dates and that the peak pricing you selected, booked and agreed to many times, as outlined above, in the end made you frustrated and motivated to write this poor review.
Finally please contact me directly so I can assist in helping you select a period that qualifies for the may discounts we offer like the AAA you were looking for to avoid the frustration you expressed in this review moving forward. I again will say that we were genuine, fair, upfront and honest about the rate you booked and there was no misleading or inaccurate information ever communicated to this guest by the Whiteface Lodge.
Best wishes and we hope to have another chance to host you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed for a week with 2 kids, 6 and 12. The hotel, beautiful common areas, the suite, just lovely, the location great, near town but quiet, the lounge food, great, ate there more than in town, the pool, v good,the breakfast, lovely. Great staff on the front desk, lovely welcome, great valet staff, very obliging. Excellent private beach so good for families with nice bar and food. Had a terrific boat trip on a hacker. Worth doing! This hotel is a stand out and I've stayed in many 5 star places. ONe minor niggle..the management/ front desk staff on the breakfast room the last 2 days. A woman who didn't smile, meet or greet, swanned around the room looking imperious and doing nothing, not asking customers for requests or if they were having a good time. Her junior charge, young lady kept trying to shove us sideways into the ante room out of the main room and same with other families from what we could see. Just two folk with the wrong attitude. Sniffy! The rest of the staff are just terrific, and we had the best time. First thing in the morning you want to be met with a nice smile and hello which we were most of the week. And from the rest of the breakfast room staff who are lovely

Room Tip: Away from reception and facing the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank havanagirlGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

First off, the Whiteface Lodge is not like your typical hotel. It is primarily a timeshare; timeshare owners, who have an entire month at a time, often rent out their rooms for one of those weeks. (Not all of us have the time for a 4 week vacation!) Their loss is everyone else's gain, because when you step into these rooms, you will find yourself in the finest accommodations to be found in northern New York.

It's not just the rooms; it's the indoor / outdoor pool, open all year round. Ever try swimming or going in a hot tub when it's minus 14 out? It's amazing! Of course, it's even better in the summer. And there's the Exercise Room, outfitted with four treadmills, two exercise bicycles, and five other Nautilus machines, all less than a year old. And there's the Theater, showing three different movies every day (two more or less family movies, and one at night for more mature audiences.) And there's the game room. No, not video games; not machines you have to put dollars into. A pool table; ping-pong; a bowling alley; fooz-ball; air hockey; tables for board games; and some other things I've never known how to use. And there's the Spa: a steam room, a sauna, and luxurious sanctuaries for before and after either exercise or massage. (The massage menu is extensive and very worthwhile.)

Finally, the grounds will astonish you. There is no Botanic Garden in the Adirondacks, much to my dismay; but the landscape architecture at Whiteface Lodge is the next best thing. The groundskeepers assiduously take care of every flower, every tree, and, it seems, every blade of grass. You'll find yourself sitting in a chair one evening, sharing S'Mores around a fire, just amazed at the beauty that surrounds you.

The restaurant, Kanu, serves elegant and delicious meals, but you don't have to dress elegantly to dine there.

If you're looking for a romantic getaway, or a place to stay while exploring the best of the Adirondacks, the Whiteface Lodge is most definitely worth your consideration.

Room Tip: I've never stayed in a "bad" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank at78rpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We couldn't be more pleased with our visit to Whiteface Lodge. Our one bedroom suite had a comfy living room with a delightful fireplace that we found quite cozy on a cold July afternoon.
Our kitchen was well equipped and we were able to make a full dinner here with no problem.
The staff is beyond helpful and friendly. What a delight to have your car valet parked every time you go in and out of the lodge. The lodge is out of the hubbub of Main street yet close enough to make a trip into town quite easy. The suites are exceedingly quiet and you rarely hear noise in the hallways. The lobby and the dining floor are extremely comfortable with lots of spots to sit and relax, read or talk with friends. There is lots to do in the area and the concierge service here is great- printing directions and making reservations for you.
The suites are serviced twice a day and no detail is left unnoticed- Extra detergent, shampoo,
coffee are always provided. Having the bed turned down each night is a real treat - not to mention the cookies provided at turndown!
This resort is very comfortable- you never feel out of place or pressured to do more than you would like - yet daily activities are always available.
One warning- The shower is located in the jacuzzi tub and it is quite deep. There are no bars or grips to help you get in and out- a little bit of mountain climbing in your own room!
Ironically the Health food, spa restaurant doubles as the Ice Cream Parlor at night. We tried it one night and really would have been better off at the supermarket across the street.
Overall I am incredibly happy with our week in Lake Placid and can't say enough about the Adirondack charm of this resort, the hospitality of the staff and the wonderful mountain views.
We booked through Tim at the "The Last Hoorah" and found it a fabulous way to book a slightly less expensive stay at a luxury resort. He was extremely attentive and I was pleasantly surprised to find that the resort treats you the same as guest booked through their front desk.
I would definitely come back here again. I bet it is even more charming in December!

Room Tip: End room facing the courtyard are nice because they have larger porches. I like room on second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
435 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1.4 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#12 of 31 in Lake Placid
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whiteface Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whiteface Lodge

Address: 7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: $279 - $684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Whiteface Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Adirondack Mountains, this exclusive resort is a haven of comfort and elegance. A retreat where guests can relax in sumptuous all suites resort and enjoy superb cuisine. A refined atmosphere, log architecture, fire places, world class spa, year round activities and the Canoe Beach club on Lake Placid. The Lodge is both a family friendly destination and an adult playground or romantic escape. A Member of Leading Hotels of The World and the most Luxurious Full Service Resort in the Adirondacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Whiteface Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing