We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Whiteface Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$239
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Best Western Adirondack Inn(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$84
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$169
$149
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Peaks Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$159
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$108
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cobble Mountain Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$109
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Placid Lodge(Lake Placid)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,218)
Filter reviews
1,218 results
Traveler rating
984
145
48
28
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
984
145
48
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbowling alleymovie theaterthe indoor outdoor poolkanu restaurantkanu loungebedroom suitethe ice cream parlorwasher dryerfull kitchengames roomturn down servicekamp kanuvalet servicetwo laneheated bathroom floorsfree popcorncookies
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
844 - 849 of 1,218 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have nothing but positive things to say about this beautiful Adirondack style resort in Lake Placid. Though not inexpensive, our one bedroom suite was absolutely beautiful and luxuriously appointed (very nice 1.5 baths (!!) and a lovely unexpected kitchen/dining area, porch and very comfortable king bed), the staff was very attentive and professional without being "in the way", service was excellent. I found the whole place to be charming, from the decor with incredible attention to every little detail, to the amenities such as old fashioned game room, movie theater, wooden bowling alley, fitness center, spa, beautiful pool area with views of the mountains. Loved the buffet breakfast (included with our stay), and all the different spots for our group to hang out and visit. We never had a chance to take advantage of the pretty tennis courts or camp fire areas -- we hope to go back again some day and try them! We had $50 a day of resort credits in our package which was ample for having cocktails before dinner or having lunch at the resort. We did not eat dinner at the resort as the dining reviews were mixed for dinner -- many options right in town nearby. The resort is not right on the lake -- there is shuttle service the half mile down the road to a beautiful private waterfront where you can use canoes, kayaks, etc. -- wish we had learned more about this at check in as we kind of stumbled on this late in our stay. The resort is a nice, hilly 1.25 mile walk into the center of town (which is wonderful for walking, shopping, etc.) -- fine for us as we enjoy fitness walks -- others may want to use shuttle. Just note that this resort is not in the middle of town if you care about that....

Room Tip: Our group joked that folks might want to avoid room 128, as we seemed to find ourselves visiting in a nice common area right outside of that one room... :- ) We probably bothered occupants with our noise -- it is adjacent to lounge areas, etc.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had the most wonderful experience at The Whiteface Lodge. My husband, myself and our 3 kids came from Ohio and we arrived about 30 minutes before check-in and we were prepared to wait, but they said our room was ready so that was a nice surprise! The Lodge is beautiful, clean and the views are breathtaking. Our room exceeded my expectations- the pictures on the website can't even compare to how nice it really is. The bathroom had heated floors and a great Jacuzzi tub. The bed was sooooo comfortable and the full kitchen was perfect. The view from our room faced the most beautiful pond with flowers and nature all around. It had a charming patio that was very private on the first floor.

Let me say that the kids LOVED every minute of our vacation. The pool is great, the Kids camp (Kamp Kanu) is so much fun and they LOVED the game room and movie theater. I had a pedicure and my husband and daughter had a massage. The Club Canoe is beautiful and taking the boats out onto Lake Placid was so much fun for the kids. The breakfast that is included with the stay was fabulous- huge buffet with everything you could think of. The other guests were extremely friendly and nice and our kids made so many friends while we were there! The shuttle to the Village and Club Canoe is a nice convenience, but I found that we had no trouble at all driving into town and parking. The Lodge has a really nice laundry facility in the lower level if the small washer/dryer combo in the room isn't big enough to meet your laundry needs. We were so sad to leave and we can't wait to return! We LOVE The Whiteface Lodge!

Room Tip: We had a first floor room facing the front pond area and it was beautiful and private. We loved it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcberling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our family of four spent five nights in July at the Whiteface Lodge. It is a charming, well-maintained property, a mile (or less) from both the town of Lake Placid and lake itself - and with gorgeous mountain views and loads of North-woods-lodge character. Our stay was lovely and relaxing - and there were some magical family-vacation moments, such as roasting s'mores over an open fire as the sun set over the Adorondacks...water skiing on Lake Placid on a sunny afternoon... and so on. Our family does a lot of five-star travel (recently, Reynolds Plantation, The Cloisters at Sea Island, The Santuary on Kiowa...we arrived at Whiteface from the Ritz in Boston). I would give Whiteface 4-plus stars overall. Parts of the resort - including the incredibly spacious two-bedroom suite - leaned more toward five stars. The grounds and the pool area are fantastic, and the ski boat and captain we rented were great. The resort food, however, was uninspiring. And parts of the Kanu Club on Lake Placid (with a beach, food service, a boathouse, etc.) were closer to a three-star facility. There is much for families to do - hanging out in the adorable village of Lake Placid, hiking, boating, and the resort's Camp Kanu (for little kids.) The main lodge also has an underground complex with a spa, game room and bowling alley, movie theater, etc. Our package included breakfast and a $100/day resort credit - and I would definitely do that again, as it's easy to burn off $100/day on food service to the pool, drinks, boat rental, etc. There is a free laundry room, which is great for families with kids - and preferable in my book to the units that apparently include the small European gizmos that wash/dry in the same machine. I also would hit the nearby grocery store the minute we arrived. The kitchens in the suites are very nice - and we probably could have saved a few hundred dollars if we had bought snacks, wine/beer, sandwich fixings, etc. The other change I would make would be to pack more on the casual side. This is a laid-back, outdoorsy, Northface-wearing crowd that might or might not dress up for dinner, but definitely is in shorts and sandals the rest of the time. Overall, definitely recommend for families with kids who are looking for laid-back luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in July with my husband and 2 children. This lodge exceeded our expectations. It is not inexpensive but the level of service, rooms, restaurant and amenities make it worth the expense. The lodge is beautiful and extremely clean. The staff is superb, they go out of their way to accommodate your every need. The lodge has a bowling alley, game room, indoor/outdoor pool, hot tubs, spa, movie theater (free popcorn), fishing pond, and a private area at the lake with complimentary canoes and kayaks. The restaurant serves excellent food. Loved it and can't wait to be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bel96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

From the moment we arrived at this beautiful lodge, each member of the staff put forth an exceptional effort to make our stay exceptional. Rooms are well furnished with every amenity imaginable, they are snake free and also comfortable. Views are beautiful, the restaurants really nice and the on site bar very nice with live music on Saturday night. This is definitely worth a return trip!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baysidedmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews