We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Whiteface Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$180
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$249
$224
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake House(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Adirondack Inn(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$439
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$179
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Peaks Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$299
$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town House Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,242)
Filter reviews
1,242 results
Traveler rating
1,004
146
50
29
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,004
146
50
29
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbowling alleymovie theaterthe indoor outdoor poolkanu restaurantkanu loungebedroom suitethe ice cream parlorwasher dryerfull kitchengames roomturn down servicevalet servicefree popcornheated floorscookiesskating rinkair hockey
Filter
Updating list...
931 - 936 of 1,242 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2012

It is very rare that almost every thing regarding your stay is perfect, but that is exactly how our vacation was at the Whiteface Lodge. We booked a Royal Lodge Suite which is like a 3 bedroom, 3 full bath townhouse type place with its full kitchen and a washer/dryer combo in the unit. All the suites are on the top floor, with lots of windows to enjoy the views outside. We got the special Hurricane Sandy rate which was like 35% off the regular rate and was very appreciated. They also had a $50 grocery card for us from Price Chopper which is like a 24 hour grocery store very close to the property. We also had the breakfast included and the spread every morning coupled with the excellent service was just how you want to start your day. The lodge has its own outdoor skating rink with complimentary skate rentals. The kids had a great time at the rink. Behind the skate rental place is the location of Kamp Kanu which is like a kids camp for ages 3-10. On weekends, we signed up the kids for couple hours in the morning and couple hours in the afternoon and they did a mix of legos, coloring, board games and also went out to skate. Logde has a very nice heated indoor pool which leads into the outdoor pool. There is an indoor jacuzzi as well as 2 outdoor ones. The outdooor ones were a big hit for most of us. There is an indoor walkway (little long) to the pool from the basement area that has the game room and the spa. The pool has lots of towels and also a shower area. Also they have some water toys and noodles for the kids. The game room has a ping pong table, a billiards table, ice hockey table, foosball and lots of board games. Also, there is a 2 lane bowling alley (one was not working) that could be easily reserved through the front desk. They have a small theater on the same floor that plays 3 different movies during the day and was fun too. There is a ice cream / milkshake / popcorn place that is open in the evening and looked good too. On the same floor is the Spa and the Fitness center, though we did not use them. At night, they have smores which was a lot of fun. The whole lodge was very tastefully decorated for the holidays and everyone had a constant smile and was always willing to help out with any issues. We would definitely visit in the summer / fall.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

We are so glad that in your time of need, while still recovering from Hurricane Sandy you were able to escape and enjoy the Whiteface Lodge! From the time we started our Sandy Relief Special until it expired on Dec. 20th we had dozens of guests from the Connecticut, New York and New Jersey area use this offer to find away to get away from the harsh reality that many communities were suffering from in the past few months!

Please have a happy and healthy New Years and we hope to see you again soon at the Whiteface lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We just got back from a week at The Whiteface Lodge. The service, restaurants, staff, housekeeping, room service, amenities, location, design of the interiors and architecture were in every way 5*. We came to this resort by way of a trade of our home property (Tradewinds Cruise Club) through The Registry Collection. TRC is an assortment of 5* properties. Of the various trades we've done through TRC, The Whiteface Lodge is top of the list. The week we stayed was right before the Christmas/NYE holiday rush, so the place was deserted. Of course, that may be part of the reason why we had such a great experience as the staff was not stretched. But it's clear that they're well trained and they strive always to be at the level we enjoyed during our visit. As an example: we were going out on a hike and wanted to take our mini flashlight, but needed to get it open to replace the batteries. We couldn't get it open, and asked the concierge for help. She handed it to maintenance, and later told us that they couldn't yet get it open (batteries most likely leaked) but to check back when we returned. Upon our return to our room, we discovered a nice note explaining that they couldn't get the flashlight open, and a brand new replacement mini flashlight!!! I was floored! I've never seen this kind of service anywhere. We enjoyed ourselves several times in front of the fireplaces at Kanu. The signature cocktails are excellent. The burgers are also really awesome. Housekeeping somehow knew when we were out for even an hour and our room was always perfect. Twice daily. I really can't wait to return. This was one of the best resorts I've ever stayed in. Thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back, not the pool, are very private and quiet!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank litetravellerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for the superb review and we enjoyed hosting you as our guests! We look forward to seeing you again soon and Happy New Years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful hotels in the US. The rooms are huge, beautifully appointed with rustic decor and wonderful amenities We took advantage of the indoor pool, the local shopping and hiking the nearby trails. The spa was wonderfully relaxing. Everyone at this resort really strives to provide outstanding service. This hotel is a little pricey but you definately get your money's worth. Perfect for a romantic weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaa251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This lodge is something out of a Winter Wonderland Storybook. My husband and I were there with our 5 year-old daughter and it was just amazing. I don't think you can beat going in the winter during the holiday time. The decorations were beautiful. The resort itself is just amazing, from the rooms to the pools to the outdoor ice skating rink that pipes Christmas music while you skate. It was truly a perfect weekend get away and an ideal place for kids. The rooms are so cozy and make you not want to leave. We would go back again and plan to, next winter.

My only complaint ( super minor) was you were able to hear the rooms above you and next to you. We had quite the large wedding group above us who were very loud until late in the AM. I ended up calling the front desk and it was taken care of very quickly.

One thing to keep in mind, which we didn't think of. A lot of the outdoor things to do are dependent on the weather. We really wanted to do the Dog Sled ride or the Sleigh ride- however there was no snow and the lake wasn't frozen over yet. If you are coming to do true winter things - something to keep in mind. For us, going around the holidays for the decorations was perfect, so that worked.

Room Tip: Rooms with a fireplace are aweseome on a cold winter night!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMN19701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Hello and we could not ask for a better title to a review than "Storybook Vacation"! Thank you and we do agree, especially during the holiday seasons that the Whiteface Lodge transform into a fairy tale like scene. Sorry we didn't have more snow for you but the good news is over the last 2 weeks we have received over 3 feet of snow and it keeps coming!
So come back later this winter so we can help you experience the Dog Sledding and other outdoor adventures that winter in Lake Placid offer.

Have a Happy and Healthy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed at this Lodge for 2 nights and wish we stayed longer!!! Beautiful property and excellent service. We used their concierge services and Kelly was excellent with providing recommendations for the things to do/restaurants in Lake Placid area. We also took advantage of ice skating ring and pool.
Lodge itself is very beautiful and a perfect place to escape to for couple days to relax and unwind. There are many activities available on a resort property itself including a bowling alley. Every evening they have a fire going outside with s'mores, which was my favorite thing to do while there. We had breakfast included in our rate and it was delicious.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room with a fireplace!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YuliaM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews