We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Luxury, service AND family friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Whiteface Lodge
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This place exceeded ALL of our expectations even when we arrived expecting a first class place. The staff were without exception friendly, helpful and abundant. The facility was beautifully and consistently furnished both in public areas as well as in the rooms. Outdoor gardens, lawn, etc. were perfectly manicured (in an Adirondack way). We were without kids but recognized that it would be terrific with a family and saw many happy families around. The included breakfast was wonderful. THEN we wandered over to the beach area and spent a few hours paddling around Lake Placid in a canoe. Beautiful spot, terrific amenities to keep families or couples entertained -- volleyball, basketball, beach, kayaks... Great stay! Couldn't imagine suggesting ANY area for improvement.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

We live in NY so this is a great family weekend getaway spot! Spring and fall are great for hitting some local hiking trails, summer is great by the lake! The s'mores campfires are pretty fantastic all year round of course! The game room, the movie theatre and the 50's ice cream parlor are awesome for the kids! The spa is phenominal for the adults! We have come here several times and will most certainly continue the tradition! ... Its a perfect 3-4 day retreat.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We visited The Whiteface Lodge the first weekend of May 2012 and it was quite empty as the busy season usually starts around Memorial Day.

Lodge is beautiful with plenty of activities for both adults and children. Indoor pool was NOT heated and attached to the outdoor pool so very cold and not very inviting. There wasn’t enough pool chairs on a slow weekend so I would imagine it being a mad house during their busy season.

Suites are excellent with a kitchen (included pots, pans, fridge, microwave, stove), dining and living room combination, a large bedroom and deck. There was mold on the shower curtain that was taken care of immediately when housekeeping was informed. Wish I didn’t have to inform housekeeping of mold in the first place but atleast the room was immaculate otherwise. Enjoyed the Birds of Prey presentation on Saturday night and the smores were a nice treat. They also leave cookies in your room during turn down service which is a great touch. Grounds are beautiful and lodge is well appointed. Restaurant did a great job on the cake I requested for my husband’s birthday. Sommelier was very helpful in a wine choice for dinner. Food was mostly good, fish was not very flavorful and overcooked but my husband’s steak was made just right. For a $250 dinner, I expect my fish to be perfect. Proximity to Lake Placid itself is not optimal. I believe Lodge offers a shuttle to their Camp on the Lake but we chose to drive to it instead. Valet parking is a nice as car is out of the elements and in their garage underground. Kamp Kanu was not available for our son because there weren’t enough kids, I was promised some backup arts and crafts for my son but did not receive anything in my room. Overall, a nice lodge but if you’re in Lake Placid-you’re probably not there to bowl or watch a movie – so get a cabin or condo close to the Lake and skip the high costs of this lodge.

Note To Living Social Voucher redeemers-we stayed at the lodge for 2 nights with 2 vouchers for $240 each and an additional $20/night fee for Fridays and Saturdays. Lodge also added $15 per day resort fee, and additional room taxes. Each voucher came with a $50 dining credit for their restaurant so I was looking forward to receiving $100 off my dining bill but only $50 was given to me. The front desk staff was still coming up to speed on the details of the deal and called in a manager to clarify. She was quite terse and informed me very coldly that it was $50 per night and could not be combined per stay (which is not what the voucher says). I didn’t have time to argue the point so left it at that. For this reason and the additional proximity issues stated above, I would not stay at the Whiteface Lodge again. When you're dropping close to $1000 for a two days weekend at a Lodge off season, Management should use more discretion when addressing a customer's concerns.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the parking lot-better Mountain Views. No Lake views as this lodge is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bangaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

It's well worth the money. Took family vacation at this resort and it exceeded our expectations. Great location and services. The kids love Kamp Kanu and the staff was very accomodating. Has great indoor bowliing alley and game room. Pool and Jacuzzi are well maintained. I would recommend booking the credit package. It gives you $100 credit per night you stay towards spa credits or hotel restuarant. The spa services were reasonably priced and the food in the hotel restuarants was excellent. We will be going back again.

Room Tip: The one bedroom deluxe has 1 1/2 baths no extra charge, you just have to request this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

My fiance and I drove 4 1/2 hours to visit the event coordinator and were told that our wedding was all set to go. We received a wonderful tour and were told that we would hear back from the sales manager when she returned from vacation.
We had to follow up 3 times just to finally get a response from anyone which ended up with them telling us that the rooms that were originally "all set" were no longer available and our guests would now have to pay thousands more to stay in a room with other couples, instead of the one bedrooms we had originally requested. I then attempted to call the manager of the hotel, who never returned my call. This may be a good place to visit but do not attempt to plan a major event here. Their event staff is rude, lacking in communication and compassion. For what they charge, they should use some of the money to hire better event coordinating staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
25  Thank Brittany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This isn't an inexpensive destination, but it is truly wonderful and restful. The staff is awesome and very helpful from the moment you pull up at their front entrance. They offer valet parking, which is very welcome during the winter months. The front desk was very friendly and answered all of our questions during our three night stay.
The rooms are so nice, and it is not at all like any hotel we normally stay in. These are exquisitely furnished “apartments” with all the perks and amenities you could think of. They are actually privately owned (fractional ownerships) and managed by the resort, but you can see why the owners chose these units for their vacation homes.
The complex features an indoor/outdoor pool with indoor and outdoor hot tubs, all accessible to the main inn by underground tunnels or through the courtyard when the weather allows. The second floor features both a fine dining restaurant and a very comfortable lounge/ bar area.
We didn’t bring children on this visit, but I can see why this would be a great family destination with all of the activities available, including a movie theater, bowling alley, game room, and nightly bon fires. Most of the activities are locating in the basement level, along with the spa, so you don’t hear anything from the rooms.
This is truly a great spot to stay when visiting the Lake Placid and Adirondack Mountains.

Room Tip: We loved the third floor and probably request a view of Whiteface Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpmcblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Although very expensive it is a great place to stay. My kids just love it with its indoor outdoor pool, fire pit for roasting marshmallows and a ice cream counter. The rooms are beautiful with fireplace and all the amenities of home. The spa is great and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The rooms on the bottom floor are great my kids loved love seeing the deer come right up to the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jointfixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,339 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
437 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
2.2 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 31 in Lake Placid
25 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whiteface Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whiteface Lodge

Address: 7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: $289 - $724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Whiteface Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Adirondack Mountains, this exclusive resort is a haven of comfort and elegance. A retreat where guests can relax in sumptuous all suites resort and enjoy superb cuisine. A refined atmosphere, log architecture, fire places, world class spa, year round activities and the Canoe Beach club on Lake Placid. The Lodge is both a family friendly destination and an adult playground or romantic escape. A Member of Leading Hotels of The World and the most Luxurious Full Service Resort in the Adirondacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Whiteface Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing