We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Whiteface Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Rhinebeck
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

It's well worth the money. Took family vacation at this resort and it exceeded our expectations. Great location and services. The kids love Kamp Kanu and the staff was very accomodating. Has great indoor bowliing alley and game room. Pool and Jacuzzi are well maintained. I would recommend booking the credit package. It gives you $100 credit per night you stay towards spa credits or hotel restuarant. The spa services were reasonably priced and the food in the hotel restuarants was excellent. We will be going back again.

Room Tip: The one bedroom deluxe has 1 1/2 baths no extra charge, you just have to request this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    128
    43
    20
    12
See reviews for
462
431
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seneca Falls, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

My fiance and I drove 4 1/2 hours to visit the event coordinator and were told that our wedding was all set to go. We received a wonderful tour and were told that we would hear back from the sales manager when she returned from vacation.
We had to follow up 3 times just to finally get a response from anyone which ended up with them telling us that the rooms that were originally "all set" were no longer available and our guests would now have to pay thousands more to stay in a room with other couples, instead of the one bedrooms we had originally requested. I then attempted to call the manager of the hotel, who never returned my call. This may be a good place to visit but do not attempt to plan a major event here. Their event staff is rude, lacking in communication and compassion. For what they charge, they should use some of the money to hire better event coordinating staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Brittany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Tonawanda
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This isn't an inexpensive destination, but it is truly wonderful and restful. The staff is awesome and very helpful from the moment you pull up at their front entrance. They offer valet parking, which is very welcome during the winter months. The front desk was very friendly and answered all of our questions during our three night stay.
The rooms are so nice, and it is not at all like any hotel we normally stay in. These are exquisitely furnished “apartments” with all the perks and amenities you could think of. They are actually privately owned (fractional ownerships) and managed by the resort, but you can see why the owners chose these units for their vacation homes.
The complex features an indoor/outdoor pool with indoor and outdoor hot tubs, all accessible to the main inn by underground tunnels or through the courtyard when the weather allows. The second floor features both a fine dining restaurant and a very comfortable lounge/ bar area.
We didn’t bring children on this visit, but I can see why this would be a great family destination with all of the activities available, including a movie theater, bowling alley, game room, and nightly bon fires. Most of the activities are locating in the basement level, along with the spa, so you don’t hear anything from the rooms.
This is truly a great spot to stay when visiting the Lake Placid and Adirondack Mountains.

Room Tip: We loved the third floor and probably request a view of Whiteface Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpmcblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Although very expensive it is a great place to stay. My kids just love it with its indoor outdoor pool, fire pit for roasting marshmallows and a ice cream counter. The rooms are beautiful with fireplace and all the amenities of home. The spa is great and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The rooms on the bottom floor are great my kids loved love seeing the deer come right up to the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jointfixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, va
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We traveled with our two young children (4 and 7 months at the time) and it was a perfect experience. The staff was really helpful and kind and the resort premises were fantastic. It's expensive but you also get a ton of space, a washer/dryer in your room and a full kitchen. One night we made pasta in our room, ate and ran out before cleaning up so as to not miss the s'mores by the fire pit... when we returned, the entire mess was cleaned up by the maid service who came in to do the turn down service. We kind of felt bad as we fully intended to clean it up ourselves... but wow was that ever the best surprise! We put the kids to bed and uncorked some wine and got to enjoy our evening. It is vacation after all! Really, really recommend this place. The only downside is the lake access requires a short drive. Not the end of the world but a little inconvenient especially if you've got kids who have to sit in car seats. The on-site restaurant is great, the spa is lovely and don't miss out on the Whiteface mint chip ice cream at the ice cream parlour. Like nothing I've had before... delicious.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melt2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This modern full service condo hotel is a beautiful recreation of an old Adirondack Lodge. It is always a pleasure to stay at the Whiteface Lodge. It’s warm, comfortable, inviting and architecturally very interesting. It also offers great food and excellent service.

The only criticism that I might have and I hesitate at that, is that the guitar player / singer (he is very good, by the way, so this is not a criticism of his talent) who provides the entertainment in the dining room in the evening, is just too loud for the size of the room. One has to yell to communicate with your waiter or with other guests at your table.

The skiing is some of the best in the east too!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Before coming to the Whiteface Lodge we were skeptical about spending this much for a hotel that was not slopeside……after spending 4 nights here we would come again. The lodge is even more impressive in person then it is in pictures but, what really makes it stand out is the amenities for the entire family and the service. Our group consisted of 4 adults and 4 children ranging in age from 9 – 16. Everyone loved their time here from the ice skating (including skates), snow shoeing, outdoor pool and hot tub, heated outdoor walkways, complimentary hot chocolate, cookies & smores, game room, bowling alley, movie theatre and breakfast…..there was plenty to do without the kids looking constantly asking for money to feed a video game machine. The live music in the lounge in front of a fireplace and deep leather chairs was heaven for the adults. The restaurant was excellent and the service outstanding from everyone (especially the valets and bell staff) except for one rude bartender but everyone else more than made up for him. Bottom line don’t let the price scare you away this is an excellent resort, convenient to whiteface mountain, the town of lake placid and the Olympic village.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LIflatfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,248 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
419 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
2.2 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whiteface Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whiteface Lodge

Property: The Whiteface Lodge
Address: 7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Whiteface Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Adirondack Mountains, this exclusive resort is a haven of comfort and elegance. A retreat where guests can relax in sumptuous all suites resort and enjoy superb cuisine. A refined atmosphere, log architecture, fire places, world class spa, year round activities and the Canoe Beach club on Lake Placid. The Lodge is both a family friendly destination and an adult playground or romantic escape. A Member of Leading Hotels of The World and the most Luxurious Full Service Resort in the Adirondacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Whiteface Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing