We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful evening by the fireside.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whiteface Golf Club

Whiteface Golf Club
Ontario
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful evening by the fireside.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We enjoyed a variety of dishes among the great adirondack furnishings at the Whiteface Golf Club. Service and food were great!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very nice golf course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Nice view & very well maintain. Bring your camera when you will play golf at that course for souvenir.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank normandguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Played the Course Twice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I played this course in August 2011 and thought I would never play it again. I thought the greens were uneven, the fairways had too many divots, and that the staff were unwelcoming of an out of town guest.

I played it again in August 2012, and must say, I was much more impressed with the condition of the course than last year. The greens were in much better condition, the fairways seemed to be well taken care of. And, while I still felt a little bit of a annoyance by the staff for showing up without a tee-time, I did not feel the lack of welcome that I felt last year.

As for the course layout, it's nice, but somewhat frustrating. Even from the tips, I was only able to hit driver on 4 holes. Perhaps because I generally play courses that are in flatter regions, I'm not a fan of every par four, and even a par five, requiring a 200-240 yard layup to get around a sharp dog-leg. I'd much prefer doglegs to give the option of hitting long draws and fades when I want to take the risk. This course takes that option away in multiple locations. If you're looking to work on your hybrids or long irons, it's a great course for technical work.

Finally, while it is a nice course, and it is part of a resort, $100 for cart and greens fees on a weekday is bit high on the price meter. To have the option of going down to Lake Placid Club and playing courses that are just as well maintained, and just as enjoyable to play, for $25 less, it seems the are asking a bit much for this course.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank prchn4christ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent condition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Played this golf course solo on a Wednesday morning in 2.5 hours. The course is in terrific shape and enjoyable to play. Will definitely play again next time I am in the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Duffy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to visit, play, and eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Immaculate course, great food, friendly people. We got there early, but were allowed to go out. All were very friendly. Course is wonderful to play.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whiteface Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Whiteface Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing