We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced at half the price”

The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 99 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Interlaken Avenue
Description: The View is the only AAA four-diamond fine dining restaurant in Lake Placid, New York. Overlooking Mirror Lake and the Adirondack High Peaks, this restaurant is renown for its commitment to food and wine. The concept is elegant comfort foods with an extensive wine list that has been recognized for excellence by the Wine Spectator for the past Sixteen years. The menu changes three times each year. Prepared Dinner at The James Beard House November 2008. We are also new member to The Adirondack Harvest.Chef Jarrad utilizes local cheeses, meats and vegetables as the season permits.The View Restaurant is the perfect place for your "special occasion." Taste Bistro & Bar adjoins the View with Casual dinner fare, have drinks by the fire and relax. Live piano music Friday and Saturday nights.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Over priced at half the price”
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Last Monday, we and another couple decided to have a memorable dinner at Lake Placid. Betting on the good ratings of Mirror Lake Inn, we believed the restaurant will be in the same category. What a disappointment. As mentioned in another review, green salad was just it – “green salad”. Foie grass was overcooked, and red snapper smelled as an old frozen fish and was hard to bite, a far cry from a flaky fresh fish restaurant in this category should be able to serve. Wine was priced at three times the retail. At the prices charged, about $60 a person, this indeed was memorable dinner of failed expectations.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimasL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining with us at The View restaurant. I am very sorry you were disappointed with your experience. The local farms we work with are small family run farms. In order to be able to use local ingredients and have the supply to keep up with our volume we came up the local market feature. The local market feature changes often based on the availability of the freshest ingredients. The evening you dined we were using Fledging Crow Farm’s (located 35 miles from the Inn) organic Romaine. As with all the greens from this farm the Romaine is organically soil grown and has up to 3 times the nutrient content of hydroponically grown lettuces. The flavor and freshness is far better than what you would find in most other restaurants. The Farmer’s Cheese that topped the salad was from the only certified organic cheese farm in the Adirondacks (Clovermead Farm) and was produced 2 miles away from where the lettuce was grown. The house made Champagne and Dijon mustard vinaigrette served over the greens was created to compliment the organic Romaine and not mask the delicate flavor of the lettuce. We have a very close relationship with the local farmers. We have toured and inspected their facilities to bring the highest quality and most flavorful ingredients from the farm to your table. The two gentlemen that run Fledging Crow Farm have invited us to be part of a special that is being filmed for PBS. Additionally, there is a great article on Fledging Crow Farm in the October issue of Adirondack Life Magazine. The Red Snapper served that evening was most certainly fresh. Our fish market feature changes up to six times per week so we would not consider any of the fish we serve old. I am very sorry if we failed in the preparation of the fish or the Foie Gras. I hope that you let your server know so that we could do something to correct the situation. We receive hundreds of positive comments weekly and we are very sorry if we did not meet your expectations.

Thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Chef Tom Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    73
    27
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Very Good Food and Service, But Misses the Mark on a Few Things”
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Let me say that over the years the food and service at The View (formerly the Averill Conwell) has improved dramatically. But it's still not quite where it needs to be to be considered world class. We ate there several times on our last visit, including breakfasts and dinners.

Breakfast service can be a bit slow, and it's obvious that the servers at breakfast aren't as seasoned as those at dinner. It seems that simple requests can really trip them up at breakfast. The service remains "good" but misses the mark to be called "excellent." Breakfast is pretty standard fair with a few local specialties on the menu. It's definitely overpriced, but most places in Lake Placid are--and the few local gems that weren't sadly have closed down. We never had to wait for a moment or two for a table, even without a reservation, and the food was always hot and fresh.

Without question, The View is near the top of the shortlist of the best restaurants in Lake Placid for dinner. Service is very good although not as polished as you'd expect for the type of restaurant The View is attempting to be--and prices they are charging. The menu is inspired by local ingredients, and the setting looking out over Mirror Lake and Mount Marcy is romantic. The wine list is overall good--although not particularly inspired--with markups that aren't low, but are far from terrible. (We chose to bring our own and pay the corkage, and they were very accomodating about decanting the wine earlier in the day and holding it until our reservation time.)

Our food was always good, but seemed to lack a little. The chicken was a tad dry, the presentation was good but not what you would expect from a restaurant of that calibre, and there was just something we couldn't put our finger on that kept the food from being what we'd consider exceptional.

One thing we noticed was that the chef never came into the dining room, nor did the dining room manager stop by our table. We found this a bit odd, as more often than not when we are dining out one or the other pays us a visit.

Overall this restaurant is good to very good. They have been making obvious improvements over the years, and with a little more time might actually make the jump to exceptional. It's definitely worth giving a try, it's one of the few restaurants we have a desire to return to every time we visit Lake Placid.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lovescabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Food, Nice Atmosphere, Expensive”
Reviewed February 11, 2010

We had dinner at the View. Ordered the Filet Mignon Special. It was fantastic. The meat was tender and perfectly cooked. The mashed potatoes were excellent and therefore were impossible not to finish. And the broccolini excellent....i wished they had served a little more of this green veggie. The entree was a special for the evening...the price was $44. If we had known the price in advance we may not have chosen this entree.

We also ate breakfast one morning. Perfect view of the lake and the snowfall. The meal was excellent with many choices. I ordered an excellent Pumpkin Pecan Waffle. My friend ordered a more healthy pancake of some sort which looked very interesting. The fruit platter was very nice with excellent quality fruit. Coffee was plentiful and hot.

The service was excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hapblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic !!!!!”
Reviewed January 20, 2010

My husband and I had our first experience in this restaurant and I must say we felt so pampered !!! Katie Welch was exceptional. The scenery was amazing, as was the food. It was an experience we will long remember. Thank you, we will definitely be back again !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good food, slightly over-priced”
Reviewed December 27, 2009

We ate here for Christmas dinner, only because all other decent restaurants seemed to be closed for the holidays. The restaurant is traditional in its decor and we were fortunate enough to get a table next to the fireplace. The servers were friendly, but because of the occasion and large groups, our food was a bit slow in coming out.

The food is good, but seemed just a bit over-priced for what it was. Appetizers and desserts were about $9 and up, and for that price I would've expected something just a bit tastier. The garden salad I had was just a salad, and the pound cake dessert tasted like a slightly stale muffin. The main courses were good, but again, slightly over-priced. It's amazing what a difference a few dollars can make. Had everything been a few dollars less, I would've probably had nothing but good things to say.

If you're looking for a formal dinner, I'd recommend this place, but just be prepared to pay for it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn also viewed

 
 

Been to The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing