We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Generous Slice of Heaven at 'The View' on Mirror Lake”

The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 98 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Interlaken Avenue
Description: The View is the only AAA four-diamond fine dining restaurant in Lake Placid, New York. Overlooking Mirror Lake and the Adirondack High Peaks, this restaurant is renown for its commitment to food and wine. The concept is elegant comfort foods with an extensive wine list that has been recognized for excellence by the Wine Spectator for the past Sixteen years. The menu changes three times each year. Prepared Dinner at The James Beard House November 2008. We are also new member to The Adirondack Harvest.Chef Jarrad utilizes local cheeses, meats and vegetables as the season permits.The View Restaurant is the perfect place for your "special occasion." Taste Bistro & Bar adjoins the View with Casual dinner fare, have drinks by the fire and relax. Live piano music Friday and Saturday nights.
Livingston, New jersey
1 review
“A Generous Slice of Heaven at 'The View' on Mirror Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

My husband, Mark & I, were guests at The Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa recently & it's almost impossible to limit our review in a few words! Everything was just perfect; from the moment we arrived, our accommodations, the much appreciated helpfullness of the staff, and the fabulous experience we had dining at 'The View'. From the moment we entered the dining room, we were greeting with courtesy, warmth, and professionalism. The assistance we received from our server in selecting our dinner choices was most helpful; the preparation was superb! We left with a greater understanding as to why 'The View' has received its well earned reputation! Fondly, Wendy & Mark Sobel

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WendyandMarkSobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    72
    27
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Should have dined at The View all 4 nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

We stayed at MLI for 4 nights and dined in The View for 3 of the 4…we should have dined there all 4 nights.
Our first evening of dining was in the view and I guess we got spoiled right from the start. Our 2nd night we thought we would check out the ‘other’ fine dining restaurant – what a disappointment. We came back to dine at The View for the rest of our stay.

We were always greeted very warmly by all of the staff at the Inn. Each and every employee we encountered impressed us with their politeness and cheerfulness.

The evenings that we dined in The View, Paul, Katie and Ben, greeted us very warmly. Our dining servers, Meredith, Nicola, John and their attendant staff, were genuinely interested in making our evening special, were always there at ‘the right time’, and very attentive, without going over the top.

The food was superb, from the amuse-bouche, which were delightfully presented and teased the palate, to the main courses that were nothing short of exquisite, bursting with fresh ingredients and combining wonderful texture and flavour.
They also offer 2 evening chef’s specials, one regular and one spa. The Chilean Sea Bass with Saffron Tomato Risotto was delicious - cooked to perfection!
Over the course of our 3 dinners at the View we had a chance to sample quite a few selections from the menu and they were all extremely pleasing. The generous portions at each meal were remarkable and priced accordingly. The Baked Summer Vegetable Strudel could really feed 2 people however – lots of goat cheese, yummy!
The wine list is spectacular with a dizzying selection of wines from around the globe.

For us The View is the only fine dining culinary experience in Lake Placid.
It is apparent that the chef and all of the attendant kitchen staff have trained long and worked hard crafting their skills, and this is reflected menu selections and the wonderful presentations. They have definitely won our respect and our appreciation – well done!

The breakfast buffet is so well presented, with a large variety and selection of food for every taste. The omelettes, made to order, are the crowning glory of the buffet. You won’t have to eat again until dinner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luvchianti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

I booked a table for my husband and I at The View using OpenTable for a recent Friday night. In my reservation request, i mentioned it was a special occasion and requested a window table. When we arrived, we were warmly greeted and congratulated on the occasion. Our window table was ready and to our pleasant surprise, the occasion was again acknowledged. The service throughout the evening was first rate. The wine selection was extensive and the food excellent. The cost was commensurate with the experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Decent, agree not 4 stars”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

A quiet Tuesday night, our first night in town and just off a 6 hour drive, so perhaps impacted our patience and palatte. But my wife really did not care for her pate nor her short ribs.

View is nice if you get a window. We had to ask for same when a table opened up soon after our original sitting.

Service very good after an initial delay.

Think you can find better value.

Building is beautuful. I am thinking better for lunch than dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiestaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, Executive Chef at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your dinner.

I am glad you felt the service was very good and that we were able to accommodate you with a window table. I am sorry your wife did not care for the Pate and the Short Ribs. Both of these items are very popular. The Pate is house made without using nitrates or sulfites like you would normally find in many restaurants. We have received great comments about both items and in particular the short ribs which are organically raised on a local farm. These ribs are not like the typical spare rib. They are a little fatty thus having lots of flavor. We braise and roast them for six hours to make them as tender as possible.

The next time you are in Lake Placid please contact me directly and I will arrange to do something special for you and your wife.

Sincerely,

Greg Michaud
Executive Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good...Not 4 Diamond Status”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

We recently visited "The View" at the Mirror Lake Inn. Having dined at many fine dining restaurants around the world, we were very excited to see that its the only 4 Diamond restaurant in Lake Placid. Much to our surprise the menu was very tired with the same old selections. Not much creativity-many of the entrees had the same garnishes-Broccolini and Fingerling potatoes. The food was mediocre at best, not what should be delivered from THE only 4 diamond in the area. The scallop appetizer was embarrassing when one tiny scallop was presented with not much flavor. One glimmer of hope was the twin beef tenderloins-good flavor and nice presentation. The wine list was extensive but very overpriced for what you were given.

There is some good news though...the staff is very attentive and is willing to do whatever it takes to make sure you are taken care of. Its just a shame that the menu and the food don't match up to the excellent service.

We went to the Cottage the next day and thought the food was 10x better there!

Lots of potential here, but unfortunately was disappointed by the average food. Not sure if the menu needs an overhaul, but its not worth the cost or the diamonds.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pope1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2009
Thank you very much for being our guest and for your feedback regarding your dining experience. I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations and I have shared you comments with our Chef and Restaurant Manager. We have just changed our menu in The View as well as in Taste Bistro. Once we have fine tuned them and made any final changes we will post them on our web site. I hope they are more to your liking. We appreciate your comments regarding the attentiveness of the staff and that you enjoyed your experience at the Cottage. I hope that you mentioned to your server that we did not meet your expectations so that we were able to do something to fix the situation. Thank you again for being our guest.

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn also viewed

 
 
Lake Placid, NY
Lake Placid, NY
 

Been to The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing