We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 98 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Interlaken Avenue
Description: The View is the only AAA four-diamond fine dining restaurant in Lake Placid, New York. Overlooking Mirror Lake and the Adirondack High Peaks, this restaurant is renown for its commitment to food and wine. The concept is elegant comfort foods with an extensive wine list that has been recognized for excellence by the Wine Spectator for the past Sixteen years. The menu changes three times each year. Prepared Dinner at The James Beard House November 2008. We are also new member to The Adirondack Harvest.Chef Jarrad utilizes local cheeses, meats and vegetables as the season permits.The View Restaurant is the perfect place for your "special occasion." Taste Bistro & Bar adjoins the View with Casual dinner fare, have drinks by the fire and relax. Live piano music Friday and Saturday nights.
Eastern Ontario
2 reviews
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

We generally eat at the Interlaken Inn; however, we made a reservation at The View at the Mirror Lake Inn to experience something new. For us, the experience was not worth the money. From the time we were greeted to when we left, we felt that we were eating in a mid-level chain restaurant. The staff seemed inexperienced and did not have polished appearances. With regards to the food, our appetizers (French Onion Soup and Lamb Confit) were luke warm. For the main dishes, the New York Strip Steak was average. The one highlight of the meal was the Diver Scallops in a pumpkin bisque - it was excellent. We chose not to stay for coffee and desert.

Helpful?
Thank sjawor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2009
Thank you for being our guest.

Although we assume your comments are offered in a constructive view, we find them very out of character with the thousands of positive accolades we receive. The other thing that confuses us is that we are not famous for being perfect, but we are famous for correcting any problem anyone has with their experience at The View. We’re confused as to why you didn’t bring your concerns to our attention so we could have fixed them while you were here. Please contact me directly and I will resolve the situation to your satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    72
    27
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
139 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

We were looking forward to fine dining in Lake Placid and researched "The View". We saved it for our last night in LP and found the service mediocre, a glass of wine poured less than 8 ounces and the food ok but not the level of a four diamond. Maybe they were having an off night but in this economy people are demanding excellence when they are parting with their dollars on expensive meals.

Helpful?
Thank AvidTraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, Katie Welch, Dining Room Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2009
Thank you for being our guest in The View. The beverage industry standard for wine is a 4-5oz pour and we pour 6oz in our Riedel glassware. We are sorry that this did not meet your expectations and hope that you let your server know so that we were able to rectify the situation.

Again, thank you for being our guest. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Katie Welch, Dining Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“great service and ambiance, mediocre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2008

The service, right from the moment we walked in the door, was supurb. They have a great wine list - there is something here for everyone and any occasion. The dining room is beautiful and we had a wonderful table, looking out on Mirror Lake. However, the food was not great. Our appetizer was fine (avocado panna cotta) My entree, the Rice and Black Bean Galette, was lukewarm, and not at all attractively arranged or presented - everything on the plate sort of melded together. My husband had the lacquered free-range chicken. He said the risotto was great, but the chicken was very tough. We expected much better, based on the 4-Star rating, the reputation and the prices.
Because of the great things mentioned above (service, ambiance and wine) we would try The View again, but this particular experience was not impressive.

Helpful?
Thank Linyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2008

We had been unable to get in at the Brown Dog and walked over looking for Interlaken - Instead we stopped at the View and were pleasantly surprised. Walking in at 7:30 on a Friday - they seated us and we had a great meal. The service was always there but never in your face - or too chummy. The menu was varied and interesting. The atmosphere was fine dining - and the resort had a fabulous old money feel to it. Patrons were well dressed - the wine list was extensive but offered many reasonable choices. Given our experiences around the world in some very credible establishments, we found the overall experience to be quite nice and reasonable as well. If you are seeking a low budget dinner - visit the buffet down the street. This establishment had some class and delivered with well cooked and seasoned food and wine.

Helpful?
Thank Norcanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved the Vegetable Mousaka!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

Ate here several times during a recent trip to Lake Placid.

Breakfast came free with the room and was phenomenal. I tried just about everything on the menu and each time was pleasantly surprised. (Waffles, Crepes and Pancakes galore). Unlike other bed and breakfast packages we were not presented with a bill at the end of the meal (thus there was no confusion as to whether or not gratuity was included, truly classy…)

For dinner I had the vegetable Mousaka and it was superb! It started out very sweet and as I worked my way through the meal the spices slowly unveiled themselves. My wife had a taste and she liked it so much that she made me go back the very next night so that she can order the dish.

The service was also very good! The complaints that I read are unfounded and are uncharacteristic of my experience (And I’m a picky).

Helpful?
Thank Sha-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn also viewed

 
 

Been to The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing