We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Experience”

The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 100 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Interlaken Avenue
Description: The View is the only AAA four-diamond fine dining restaurant in Lake Placid, New York. Overlooking Mirror Lake and the Adirondack High Peaks, this restaurant is renown for its commitment to food and wine. The concept is elegant comfort foods with an extensive wine list that has been recognized for excellence by the Wine Spectator for the past Sixteen years. The menu changes three times each year. Prepared Dinner at The James Beard House November 2008. We are also new member to The Adirondack Harvest.Chef Jarrad utilizes local cheeses, meats and vegetables as the season permits.The View Restaurant is the perfect place for your "special occasion." Taste Bistro & Bar adjoins the View with Casual dinner fare, have drinks by the fire and relax. Live piano music Friday and Saturday nights.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Experience”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

From out of the clouds of a mundane rainy trip comes the light of a perfect meal. From the moment of entering the door, the introduction of the waiter, the selection of the meal to the final desert and drinks, this experience was perfect. It became an event that my wife and I will remember. Our thanks to Pierre our waiter who was skilled and delightful. From all the enticing entries on the menu, I chose Sea Bass. I experienced a great meal artistically prepared. This is the merger of art and skill. To the View, good wishes, until we meet again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Thank you for being our guest at The View! Thank you also for your kind compliments about the food, service and drinks! We’re glad that you enjoyed the Sea bass and felt the meal was a merger of art and skill. We look forward to serving you again!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    74
    28
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Could Have Been Excellent”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We recently had dinner and really enjoyed our meal with one exception. We had the pork pate appetizer and it was quite bland. That's what prevented us from giving it an excellent review. I had their stuffed quail and it really was superb. My spouse had a cod dish and she also said it was excellent. As I stated, everything after the appetizer truly was excellent including the service. This is a pricey restaurant but for a special occasion well worth the visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Avidhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fine Dining at its best”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful dining room and superb service are the hallmarks of the View. We were given a great table with a view of Mirror Lake. Our sever, Siena, was extremely professional, explaining all of the offerings clearly and completely. She brought us a duck confit before we even ordered and we were off. The Market Special was oven roasted quail with a lamb jelly stuffing, with blue potatoes and creamed leeks. Absolutely delicious! We ordered desert, but really didn't need to as they presented us with a tray of chocolate, truffles, chocolate mints, and candied nuts when they brought us the check. This was a great dining experience that will cost you anywhere from $50 to $100. Well worth the price. Definitely consider treating yourself if you're ever in Lake Placid.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overpriced...under delivered, stay away!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in a Marcy room which was lovely but should be at $500/night.. Greeted by front desk clear who had her speech memorized and wasn't going to vary from it. Offered us a bland chocolate chip coffee as she lectured at us instead of answering the questions we asked and wanted answered. The lake staff was lovely and certainly fun to kayak around the lake in the complimentary kayaks. The View Restaurant is absurdly overpriced with entrees averaging in the high 30's with no flavor and average plate design and small portions. Restaurants in NYC or Philadelphia charge the same or less but at least these are award winning chefs and their food have flavor. The view is lovely of the lake but free by day if you want a photo. The afternoon tea which they offer features the same bland chocolate chip cookie not worth the calories from check in which is 20 feet away. Where was the scone, cookie assortment...I kid you not a commercial Milano would have been better. As for the room, they hit you with a chamber maid fee at registration of $7.50 and don't tell you it's optional, wifi was $14.95 for 2 days and free at the Marriott Courtyard down the road where I've stay before. Overall, for $500 for a room to sleep it's living off its reputation and not what is actually delivered.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Debralee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for being our guest.

We are glad that you felt your room was lovely. Our front desk staff receives many comments about how helpful, warm and welcoming they are. We do have specific items that we like to cover at check-in and most of our guests really appreciate the information we provide as it enhances their stay and we are always happy to answer any questions our guests have at check-in or at any time during their stay.

We have been making our signature homemade chocolate chip cookies from the same recipe for more than 50 years and our guests love them.

Our award winning Executive Chef and his staff prepare and present excellent food and I am sorry it was not to your liking. The House Smoke Roasted Trout is one of our most popular menu items and the Oven Roasted Quail feature received rave reviews. In fact, the guests at a nearby table apologized to your server and reassured her that the Quail dish was excellent and felt that you were loud, unreasonable and were just looking for something for free.

As stated in your confirmation letter we do add a gratuity for our housekeeper as our guests prefer to not have to worry about remembering to leave something for the housekeeper. At your request we removed the gratuity. It’s unfortunate that you left nothing, but we will take care of our staff.

Unlike many other resorts we do not charge a resort fee, which typically costs $20-$50 per day (for items such as internet charges). Additionally, along with not charging a resort fee we do not charge for the use of our indoor and outdoor heated pools, whirlpool, sauna, private beach, kayaks, canoes, rowboats, paddle boats, tennis, snow shoes, exercise room, afternoon tea, coffee and our homemade chocolate chip cookies. Glad you enjoyed the kayaks.

Our staff is passionate about providing exceptional service and will go to great lengths to make even unreasonable people happy however occasionally we just don’t succeed. As you declared yourself a representative of a major travel magazine we were surprised and taken back by your unprofessional and demeaning behavior toward our staff and establishment.

We hope you enjoy your future travels.

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Romantic, elegant dinner”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Visited this lovely restaurant while staying at the Mirror LAke Inn for dinner and we were not disappointed . The setting over looking the lake was beautiful. The staff was very attentive and professional . Our meals were fabulous . I had the scallops and my husband had the free range chicken - both mouth watering delicious. They started us with a chef tasting before our appetizer and added a sorbet between courses. There was also after dessert cookies and homemade candy. What a beautiful night . You should have a reservation. They do recommend no children and in fact when a baby started crying, they shut the doors between the family and the rest if the diners. We didn't mind the baby though - we rather miss the sound since our kids are grown but I understand why they do that as it is an expensive meal and the ambiance is very quiet and refined .
We also had the breakfast buffet which was excellent too .

Helpful?
Thank 3girls3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn also viewed

 

Been to The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing