We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Overall Dining Experience”

The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 99 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Interlaken Avenue
Description: The View is the only AAA four-diamond fine dining restaurant in Lake Placid, New York. Overlooking Mirror Lake and the Adirondack High Peaks, this restaurant is renown for its commitment to food and wine. The concept is elegant comfort foods with an extensive wine list that has been recognized for excellence by the Wine Spectator for the past Sixteen years. The menu changes three times each year. Prepared Dinner at The James Beard House November 2008. We are also new member to The Adirondack Harvest.Chef Jarrad utilizes local cheeses, meats and vegetables as the season permits.The View Restaurant is the perfect place for your "special occasion." Taste Bistro & Bar adjoins the View with Casual dinner fare, have drinks by the fire and relax. Live piano music Friday and Saturday nights.
Cadyville
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Overall Dining Experience”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Our family chose The View at Mirror Lake Inn to celebrate our daughter's Sweet 16th B'day with her and several friends. The experience was one we won't forget! The staff were outstanding and the service we received was to be commended. From the time we arrived until we departed, the evening was magical. We were greeted at the entry with "mock-tails" created especially for our daughter and many other extras that made the evening truly special. The food was superbly prepared and served. We even received souvenir photos of our special event for everyone in our party and the chef took time to visit our table. Special thanks to Nicole and Cassandra whose hospitality was extraordinary. We would highly recommend The View and look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KParker723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    73
    27
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
136 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Hit The View for a scrumptious brunch!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Mirror Lake Inn for our birthdays in June and decided to try the brunch on Sunday. We thought it was very reasonable at $19.95/person for the whole buffet which included an omlette station and also included toast and coffee/tea/juice (there was a less expensive continental bfast version as well).

There was tons of food including fresh pastries that were delicious, beautiful fruit and of course potatoes, eggs benedict, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. We stopped at the omlette station and had the cook make us beautiful fluffy omlettes while our waiter brought us our choice of toast with homemade butter and jam (yum!)

It was a lovely way to start our Sunday morning - and again, really reasonable. On Saturday morning we had spent $45 on breakfast down the street. The views at The View were lovely and the staff was terrific and the food was delicious!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC MEALS!!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We ate here three times -- once for dinner and twice for breakfast, during a weekend stay at the lodge. For dinner, the chef proved his stuff. For appetizers, we enjoyed a novel pork pate garnished with a small hot pretzel and grainy homemade mustard. It was a local take on a classic French dish and was one of the best pates I've ever had (and that's a lot). We also had a Caesar Salad which had some interesting twists, including a pate of cheese, so to speak. Equally delicious. For main courses, we enjoyed a loin of lamb that had zero fat and maximum flavor, and a chicken stuffed, or infused, with foie gras and was marvelously tender and delicious. For dessert, we especially enjoyed the peanut butter shortbread with homemade ice cream. We skipped wine and enjoyed an excellent selection of craft beers. I also enjoyed the Mirror Lake Coffee which was a perfectly mixed coffee with several liquors. This was a creative and spectacular meal, no doubt about it, and we live in NYC and have high standards. For breakfast, we twice enjoyed the buffet. Friendly Omelet Guy: you make a mean omelet. Everything else at breakfast was great too. The pastry chef can cook. I particularly liked the fact that the staff brings toast to order. Nothing is worse that having to toast your own bread at a buffet and be swamped with gross crumbs and toast bits around the common toaster. The toast was brought out in perfect triangles (and it was good toast), along with special and fresh preserves and butter. Perfect.

Really enjoyed The View -- thanks for 3 wonderful meals.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton, NJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our children treated all of us to an anniversary dinner. We chose this restaurant because of the good reviews and the great views. It is a special restaurant. My trout meal was delicious. The pork Oslo Buco should have been a lot more tender. The artichoke pasta dish had hardly any pasta though. Pierre was very attentive and helpful. Don't miss the desserts.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJbeachgirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for being our guest at The View! Happy Anniversary again! We’re glad you enjoyed the trout entree, the views and service. Thank you for letting us know about the Oslo Buco. The Artichoke dish is meant to be a vegetarian dish, not a pasta dish with homemade agnolatti (pasta) as a garnish. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely dinner last night to celebrate my parents' 50th anniversary. The trout was divine and our favorite dessert was the peanut butter short bread. Our server Pierre was the best! Skip the artichoke pasta dish and the pork osso buco. Good but not great.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn also viewed

 
 

Been to The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing