We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Breakfast with fresh made fruit jam...”

The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 100 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Interlaken Avenue
Description: The View is the only AAA four-diamond fine dining restaurant in Lake Placid, New York. Overlooking Mirror Lake and the Adirondack High Peaks, this restaurant is renown for its commitment to food and wine. The concept is elegant comfort foods with an extensive wine list that has been recognized for excellence by the Wine Spectator for the past Sixteen years. The menu changes three times each year. Prepared Dinner at The James Beard House November 2008. We are also new member to The Adirondack Harvest.Chef Jarrad utilizes local cheeses, meats and vegetables as the season permits.The View Restaurant is the perfect place for your "special occasion." Taste Bistro & Bar adjoins the View with Casual dinner fare, have drinks by the fire and relax. Live piano music Friday and Saturday nights.
Lake Placid, New York
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Yummy Breakfast with fresh made fruit jam...”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We ordered omelets made to perfection which were accompanied by delicious home fries that were crispy and yet soft inside and warm bread with freshly made fruit jam. And our server Jeanne made us feel welcome and happy. We lingered over the delicious coffee as we gazed at beautiful Mirror Lake. April is a transition season for this area and when some of the best meals can be found.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skimaster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    74
    28
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best dining and service EVER!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The service was top notch and the food was sensational. Can't compliment it enough.... The view was beautiful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DianeLBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for being our guest at The View restaurant! We are happy you felt the service was top notch and the food was sensational! We hope we have the pleasure of your return soon!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food & Service”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great food service & location.This is one beautiful hotel.
The perch on Mirror lake is beautiful.The staff is wonderful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ralph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for being our guest at The View! We’re happy that you thought the food, service and location were great! We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st-jean
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Had nice supper with great servos . Our waiter even spoke French , Pierre . I had the ribs they were great. Very good and I had no room for desert .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kperky96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for being our guest at The View! We’re glad you enjoyed dinner so much you didn’t have room for dessert! Thank you also for your comments on Pierre speaking French while serving you! Made his day! We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The Best Fine Dining in Lake Placid”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I've eaten at other fine dining establishments in town (Artisan's, Kanu) and find that none come close to the quality of food served at the View. Fresh, local ingredients, and nothing superfluous; everything done with a purpose. Starting with bread baked on the premises and great butter with a sprinkle of Himalayan sea salt. I had what I can say us probably the best Cesar salad, ever. Can you say Parmesan custard? Also had the foie gras paired with cherries and grilled bread, which was decadent. Entrees were duck breast and pork cheek. The pork literally fell apart, and was paired perfectly with a creamy polenta and rainbow chard. My friend and I ate every bite, leaving no room for dessert. Luckily, the chef sent out mini truffles, sweetened nuts and hand made mints. A perfect ending. I should add the waitstaff is a great mix of competent and friendly. Despite the high quality of food, it is not at all stuffy. My kind of place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hodork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn also viewed

 
Lake Placid, NY
Lake Placid, NY
 

Been to The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing