We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy restaurant”

The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 99 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Interlaken Avenue
Description: The View is the only AAA four-diamond fine dining restaurant in Lake Placid, New York. Overlooking Mirror Lake and the Adirondack High Peaks, this restaurant is renown for its commitment to food and wine. The concept is elegant comfort foods with an extensive wine list that has been recognized for excellence by the Wine Spectator for the past Sixteen years. The menu changes three times each year. Prepared Dinner at The James Beard House November 2008. We are also new member to The Adirondack Harvest.Chef Jarrad utilizes local cheeses, meats and vegetables as the season permits.The View Restaurant is the perfect place for your "special occasion." Taste Bistro & Bar adjoins the View with Casual dinner fare, have drinks by the fire and relax. Live piano music Friday and Saturday nights.
Maryland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Cozy restaurant”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very nice place, small but still very elegant. Service was fantastic, dining room very tasteful.

Not cheap, but certainly in line with what they were offering. Salads were great, seafood well prepared.

Definitely a good choice for a special occasion, or just to have some fun on your trip to Lake Placid!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AAndTMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at The View! We’re glad that you enjoyed the salads, seafood and service! We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    73
    27
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expected more”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

There are so many positive things to be said about this restaurant so, I'll start there. The dining room is beautiful, the service was excellent, the Intermezzo was a nice touch as was the complimentary small plate of sweets at the end of our meal. However, when we spend this much money on a meal, I expect the food to be fabulous and not just good or OK. My husband had the Caesar salad which was good and we both had the rack of lamb. Our entrees were served with fingerling potatoes, baby carrots and turnips. Unfortunately, none of it was outstanding. It wasn't bad - just not what we would have anticipated in a restaurant such as this.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, Owner at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for being our guest in The View restaurant! We are glad that you felt there were many positives about your experience; ambiance, service, intermezzo and our homemade truffles.

The lamb feature the evening you dined was a naturally raised lamb from the nearby Plum Hill Farms. It was served with local Fingerling Potatoes, Candied Carrots, Butter Poached Turnips, Peas Shoots, Kohlrabi and Mustard Seed Lamb Jus. We received many positive comments about the lamb and we are sorry it did not meet your expectations

Since most people are delighted with our food, if you would have let us know that you were not completely satisfied we would have been able to correct the situation. In the future please bring it to our attention while you are here. We’re not in the business of selling beds, food or beverages, but in the business of creating memorable experiences.

We look forward to having you as our guest again. Please make your reservation directly through my Assistant, Bridget. Thank you again for being our guest!

Sincerely,
Ed Weibrecht
Owner
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
450 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“First Class Dining”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a very nice meal here. My wife and I got the Caesar Salad, and fois gras for an appetizer. I had the NY Strip and my wife had the scallops. Everything was very good. If I had to criticize anything, it would be that I wish the wine had been decanted before pouring as there was some sediment... but this is a first world problem, rather than a serious flaw. We would go back, for sure!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank eluper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at The View restaurant! We are glad that you enjoyed the food and will come back! I apologize for the sediment in the wine. Thank you for bringing this to our attention! We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lausanne suisse
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Excellent service and good food. I didn't like my meal but enjoyed a bit of the other 7 at the table and all of those were fabulous. We were a large group of 8, which can easily be hard to handle. Yet everyone in the restaurant was wonderful

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swissmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at The View restaurant! We are happy that you enjoyed a little bit of everyone’s meals and the service! I am sorry that you did not care as much for your meal! We look forward to having you back again so you can try more!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All around fantastic Meal”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights in Lake Placid for our anniversary on the weekend of 9/20-9/22/2013. As it was our anniversary weekend and we were away from the kids for the whole weekend we wanted adult dinner, two places were picked out; The View on night one and Kanu on night two. The View did not disappoint in one bit! The wine selection was good, we had a bottle of La Spinosa wine (oddly we couldn't figure out the picture of what was supposed to be on the bottle). First was our our "small taste" a Parmesan salad type thing which had fantastic flavors. We split the goose liver appetizer which was fantastic (forgot the technical name). Then a lemon mint sorbet to cleanse the plate before the main entrees. Both our meals were fantastic, cooked to perfection! My husband and I ate every last bite of them! My husband had the braised beef ribs (was a special that night) and I had the Prime Beef Filet.

Not only was the food fantastic but so was the service and the attention to detail. When the guy came out to give us bread he explained the difference in the bread choices, just as they did while giving you your meals and the small meals. The waitress was very personable and just made us feel very comfortable.

As it was our anniversary and they were aware of this, even though we were full they still brought out a complimentary dessert, and they even took our photo and gave it back to us in a frame so we can remember the meal and the place.

The prices here are right on par with other 4 star restaurants and considering the service and attention to detail they gave us along with the ambiance of overlooking the lake, it was a perfect place to have our romantic dinner and we didn't mind paying the price (unlike our meal at Kanu the next night).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kbz2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at The View restaurant! Happy Anniversary again! We are glad you enjoyed your celebration; the wine, food, service, view and special anniversary dessert! We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn also viewed

 
 
Lake Placid, NY
Lake Placid, NY
 

Been to The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing