We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Restaurant”

The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 103 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Interlaken Avenue
Description: The View is the only AAA four-diamond fine dining restaurant in Lake Placid, New York. Overlooking Mirror Lake and the Adirondack High Peaks, this restaurant is renown for its commitment to food and wine. The concept is elegant comfort foods with an extensive wine list that has been recognized for excellence by the Wine Spectator for the past Sixteen years. The menu changes three times each year. Prepared Dinner at The James Beard House November 2008. We are also new member to The Adirondack Harvest.Chef Jarrad utilizes local cheeses, meats and vegetables as the season permits.The View Restaurant is the perfect place for your "special occasion." Taste Bistro & Bar adjoins the View with Casual dinner fare, have drinks by the fire and relax. Live piano music Friday and Saturday nights.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Restaurant”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We go to the Mirror Lake Inn every year in early December and we love eating at The View restaurant. When we were at The Mirror Lake Inn in December 2012, The View restaurant was closed for dinner and we were very disappointed. Their food is unbelievable along with the service. We did have breakfast at the restaurant and that was wonderful.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashlaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at The View! We are glad that you love eating here! We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    76
    29
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brewerton, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fine Dining with a "View"”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Dinner at "the View" shoud be on your list of things to experience when you are in Lake Placid NY.The food is prepared with imagination; relying on the excellent techniques and skill set in the kitchen. The wait-staff could not be more professional and attentive. As an added bonus,the view of Mirror Lake is spectacular. It is well worth the price and time to make a reservation in advance whenever you are in the Adirondacks. We will be sure to make it a habit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at The View! We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and felt the food is prepared with imagination and excellent technique! Our staff appreciate your compliments on their service and professionalism. We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Breakfast Buffet could be better...”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Love the warm ambiance of the MLI and have stayed many times with great enjoyment. Have dined in the restaurant and The View informal area with enjoyment. Recently we treated ourselves to the buffet breakfast on Sunday. We were seated initially at a table with no view although there were many tables available, so we asked to change our seat which was arranged without fuss. The coffee and juice was brought promptly and our server friendly. What was disappointing though was the buffet itself. We both travel and partake of breakfasts at many average and grand hotels. For the elite status of this hotel the breakfast was ho-hum. The self service stations were not regularly refreshed and the eggs stuck together, the bacon very greasy and also clumped. Looking for a healthier alternative we visited the omelet station. The pans were of poor quality and the young man there although very friendly had difficulty making the omelets with the eggs sticking to the pan and breaking apart. Not entirely his fault due to the poor equipment although he could use some guidance perhaps from those fabulous French chefs in Montreal? Let the eggs set before attempting to turn? The fruit display was the typical melon. The best highlight was a dessert creation we could not resist filled with apples. For a place that has such a high rating, the breakfast buffet needs to surpass the Hampton Inn and Hilton fare we have had.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skimaster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for being our guest.

We pride ourselves on providing a quality experience for all of our guests and we are very sorry if we did not meet your expectations.

I'm glad we could accommodate you on your seating preference and that your service was good. I'm sorry the buffet and omelets were not up to your liking. We usually receive rave reviews from our guests regarding the high quality and wide selection we offer, from several choices of eggs and breakfast meats to smoked salmon, pancakes, home fries, fresh cut cantaloupe, pineapple, honeydew and strawberries, our famous Mirror Lake Inn granola, plus pastries and muffins fresh from our bakery. And as always, if you don't see it on our buffet, just ask and we'll do our best to make it for you.

We very much appreciate you being our guest and hope that we have the pleasure you seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Jarrad Lang
Executive Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently Wonderful”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I have been going to the Mirror Lake Inn every Christmas for the past 10 years. Every year we have at least one dinner and two breakfasts at The View. The View offers a homey, yet elegant, true Adirondack Inn "feel" when dining there. The service is top notch, friendly and efficient. And the food is inventive, delicious and beautifully presented. The menu changes with the season, but everything I've ever ordered has been wonderful. The Adirondack breakfast buffet is one of the true breakfast experiences you can have anywhere in the country. The View is a first class restaurant that would rank among the very best in any major city.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobyank7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for being such a loyal guest at The View restaurant during Christmas over the years! We are happy that you enjoy the ambiance, breakfast, dinner and service by our staff. We look forward to your annual return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A fantastic find ... A warm gem in a cold place”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked this restaurant at last minute. We could not have been luckier. A fantastic restaurant, lovely food, great wine list and the service was elegant and informative. I will recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherThackray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn also viewed

 
Lake Placid, NY
 

Been to The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing