We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Setting, Disappointing Meal”

The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 99 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Interlaken Avenue
Description: The View is the only AAA four-diamond fine dining restaurant in Lake Placid, New York. Overlooking Mirror Lake and the Adirondack High Peaks, this restaurant is renown for its commitment to food and wine. The concept is elegant comfort foods with an extensive wine list that has been recognized for excellence by the Wine Spectator for the past Sixteen years. The menu changes three times each year. Prepared Dinner at The James Beard House November 2008. We are also new member to The Adirondack Harvest.Chef Jarrad utilizes local cheeses, meats and vegetables as the season permits.The View Restaurant is the perfect place for your "special occasion." Taste Bistro & Bar adjoins the View with Casual dinner fare, have drinks by the fire and relax. Live piano music Friday and Saturday nights.
newton, ma
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting, Disappointing Meal”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We are local and wanted to take our family out for a pre-Christmas dinner on December 23. Picking the right place for this special dinner took a lot of consideration and we decided upon the Mirror Lake Inn, because of the size of our party, the ages of the diners and our desire for it to be memorable. The Inn is gorgeous always, especially at Christmas. The dining room staff was attentive, perhaps a little young and inexperienced. When my husband tried to order a 2 of the same bottle of red wine for dinner, three times he had to choose a wine, the first two choices he made, the Inn did not have the 2 bottles of the wine! Then dinner, although some liked their meals, everyone's dinner was lukewarm at best, almost cold. One of your guests, meat was underdone. Not sure if it was the kitchen's fault or the servers fault. Someone should have checked the temperature of our food before it was brought out to us. All of us we underwhelmed. I believe that when you dine at a place with the reputation of the MLI, and pay the prices, shouldn't the food be "write home good"? This dinner was mediocre, forgettable, and quite disappointing. In fact, my husband was hungry when we got home!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sproutalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for being our guest.

We pride ourselves on providing a quality experience for all of our guests and we are very sorry if we did not meet your expectations. Although we always strive to provide an exceptional experience, on the occasion something goes wrong and sometime things go wrong we pride ourselves on immediately correcting the situation given the chance. Had you let us know at the time when it was possible for us to do something we would have immediately taken action and done something to satisfy you.

We very much appreciate you being our guest and hope that we have the pleasure you seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    73
    27
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
“Extraordinary service”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I had the pleasure of dining at the View at the Mirror Lake Inn for the first time in a couple of years. From the moment I arrived, all staff went out of their way to make sure my meal was perfect.

The cuisine was exceptional and the Christmas decorations gave the dining room a fairy tale feel.

I have been coming to this hotel for more than 35 years and I never cease to be impressed.

I strongly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Let me begin by saying the ambience of The View is the perfect balance of charm, elegance and warmth. Two crackling fireplaces blazed but we didn't spend much time gazing into them since our table had such an outstanding view of Mirror Lake. Dinner started with a delectable amuse bouche of cured salmon with a shaved vegetable slaw. The menu has many wonderful choices; it was difficult to make our selections. The wine list is very nice too. We settled on a delicious bottle of Chenin. I started with the pear and parsnip bisque which was outstanding. My companion had the crab cake. He said it was delicious. My entree choice was the diver scallops. The scallops were perfectly prepared in a delicious sauce of andouille sausage, sweet peppers and onion and served with citrus basmati rice. My companions choice was the beef burgundy. He loved it. To end our dinner we shared a serving of the gelato of the day, Amaretto with cherries. It was another great choice. Our waiter Derek was attentive and helpful, as well as friendly. The service is gracious, something far to rare these days. I highly recommend The View at Mirror Lake Inn.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dutchess2245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in all categories.”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

There was nothing to dislike. The service was excellent as was the food. Can't wait to return. We also stayed at the Hotel which is absolutely gorgeous and with very friendly staff.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Preciousbaby48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for being a guest at The View! We are glad that you enjoyed the food and services and can’t wait to return! We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We had breakfast here. Excellent is the only wrd to describe it.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Fresh food, great service and a wonderful ambience. The breakfast bar had a good selection and the coffee was very very good. One of my pet peeves in hotels is the bad coffee they serve. This was a great exception.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kangaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for being our guest for Breakfast at The View. We are happy that you enjoyed the fresh food, good coffee, service and ambiance. We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn also viewed

 
 
Lake Placid, NY
Lake Placid, NY
 

Been to The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing