We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast around!!!”

The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 105 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Interlaken Avenue
Description: The View is the only AAA four-diamond fine dining restaurant in Lake Placid, New York. Overlooking Mirror Lake and the Adirondack High Peaks, this restaurant is renown for its commitment to food and wine. The concept is elegant comfort foods with an extensive wine list that has been recognized for excellence by the Wine Spectator for the past Sixteen years. The menu changes three times each year. Prepared Dinner at The James Beard House November 2008. We are also new member to The Adirondack Harvest.Chef Jarrad utilizes local cheeses, meats and vegetables as the season permits.The View Restaurant is the perfect place for your "special occasion." Taste Bistro & Bar adjoins the View with Casual dinner fare, have drinks by the fire and relax. Live piano music Friday and Saturday nights.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

If you have one restaurant to have breakfast at in Lake Placid...do come to this one!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 420 of 473 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2011

Brought my oldest daughter here to celebrate her going off to college. The chefs couldn't have made a more delicious meal to remind her to come home now and again! She had the Harmony Hills Farmstead pork chop, and was ecstatic with the dish. I had the halibut with foie gras crust-amazing. Actually all of the dishes on the table were extraordinary. I'm glad -as a culinarian in the area, to see that the Mirror Lake Inn is standing by the local farms, and producing such fantastic results as my daughters delicious dinner. Thank you Mirror Lake Inn. You certainly stand out from the crowd. We will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cookwhocares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Great food, great service and....fell in love here with my wife of 31 years. What more can I say. Just go there.

Thank mtownfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Thank you for being our guest! We are happy that you enjoyed the food and service at The View! We look forward to your return! Congratulations on 31 years and best wishes for many more!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Quality of the view depends on the table and time of day, but seems like there are few bad options. Servers are all excellent - knowledgeable about the menu, wine list, and even the local area.

Diverse menu with seasonal options. Wine list was a little expensive - requested choice not available but a comparable offering was provided.

Appetizers were very good - crab cake was great. For dinner, lamb shank was excellent, short ribs were good, dessert of chocolate tort was top notch.

Truly a gourmet dining experience, would be very surprised if there are better local options. A very good choice for the right occasion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MBones7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Thank you for being our guest at The View! We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you feel as though The View is the best local dining option! We look forward to your return at any time, not just for special occasions!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Celebrated a significant anniversary there. The staff and the food were beyond our expectations. We were there MAP and unlike many establishments we had the full menu to choose from without extra charges. Extensive and solid wine list.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn also viewed

 
Lake Placid, NY
Lake Placid, NY
 

Been to The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing