We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view and better than average food.”

Black Bear Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 98 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Late night dining, Also take out.
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice view and better than average food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Went with my family (5) everyone enjoyed their meal, and they have a real nice view of Mirror lake. We like it better as a lunch place as there are some really good choices for dinner in town.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eddie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    121
    45
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We went here for dinner and we should have realized it was not the place to eat as there was no one in the restaurant on a Friday night. Salmon was bland and in a brown soup and we were not quite sure what the vegetables were.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank rgamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Love this place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This place was in the perfect location. The menu was great for both adults and kids. They accommodated my large family quickly and the food was very good. It's right on main st so the location was great too. I'd go back the next time I am in lake placid.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodenboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic New Restaurant in Lake Placid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have been visiting Lake Placid for many years, traveling up from Central New York to celebrate my birthday in early December. Over the years, we have come to favor just a couple restaurants, but this past week during our visit, we decided to try someplace new. We picked The Black Bear Restaurant directly across the street from our hotel, The High Peak's Resort, for both the convenience on a snowy evening and the choices on their menu in the local restaurant magazine.
We were very pleased with our decision. The servings were HUGE and the food was delicious. There were some very unusual and flavorful specials, especially for a very slow Monday evening. The staff is very friendly and accommodating to your needs. We were so pleased with our dinner on Monday, we returned again for dinner the next night, our final night in Lake Placid for this trip.
We definitely recommend this restaurant to visitors and locals alike,

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LWWill7999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
941 reviews
386 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I ended up eating at this restaurant two evenings in a row. The food was great and the service was quiet and efficient. My favourite was chicken with pasta, it was delicious. It was nice to find this place in the midst of steakhouses which seems to be the favourite in Lake Placid. It was a great find. Try to get a seat at the back of the restaurant overlooking the lake, a beautiful setting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ericon991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Restaurant also viewed

 
Lake Placid, NY
 

Been to Black Bear Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing