We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - however, the next day......!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent - however, the next day......!!!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Just back from our extended vacation in the USA, stayed here 13-Oct-2013 - sorry about the late review!

The hotel entrance is impressive; from the lobby there's a great view of the lake through the restaurant's spectacularly huge windows - wonderful! The Front Desk staff duly welcomed us, although perhaps, how should I put it, not exactly a cool reception, but maybe a trifle distant, even almost starchy?

We'd arrived at around 2.30pm and being tired after a long drive, were then disappointed to learn that our pre-booked room wouldn't be made available until 4pm! That meant kicking around the lobby for almost 90mins, when all we really wanted was to get to the room, have a shower and relax. Seeing the check-out time is 11am, we felt there's scope for some improvement there.

Notwithstanding that, once we finally got to the room - wow! Panoramic views down and across the lake, upon which the sun was now starting to set(!), which added to the beautiful "fall colors" scene.

Overall, the hotel was spotlessly clean and well furnished throughout. Our room, including the bathroom, was likewise without fault and nicely appointed. The big bed was wonderfully comfy.

After a good night's sleep, the breakfast was very good, no complaints there, and of course the restaurant also afforded more great views of Lake Placid. If the lake's on your doorstep - use it! Thus we departed the next morning as happy customers, saying we would happily return....

HOWEVER...! That same night at Niagara Falls, my MasterCard was refused! Upon then having to phone TescoBank in the UK (who'd issued it), they explained that because of suspected fraud, as a precaution they'd stopped my card. Although we'd paid Hampton Inn by CASH, subsequently, and without my knowledge or consent, they'd then attempted to take a $15 "parking fee" from my card!

TescoBank also said that three days earlier, Fairfield Inn at Scarborough ME had tried to pull exactly the same stunt, a $15 parking fee! Luckily, because we'd PREPAID (via ebookers), we hadn't used the card's security number at the hotel. Good for TescoBank, they just bounced these attempted "parking fee" rip-offs by declining such debits and they reinstated my card during that phonecall from Niagara.

However, although possibly outside the control of the two Hampton & Fairfield field locations (perhaps a "corporate" directive, from head office?), such experiences definitely leave a bad taste about returning in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishBoxcarRiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    253
    42
    10
    8
See reviews for
460
444
26
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

1. There was no bar or restaurant in the hotel.. 2. The complimentary breakfast was just terrible. Powder eggs, cold sausage patties. ( gave me a stomach ache and wouldn't go back ) 3. The Pool is very, very small and there were to many rowdy children in the pool to enjoy it. No supervision. 4. the Jacuzzi was not working and I was very surprised since it was a Holiday weekend. Extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
4 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid, responded to this review, July 28, 2015
Michael,

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our amenities and breakfast offerings and we will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town and let us know how we are doing.

Thank you,

Richard Cambeis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Had a great stay. The location was terrific. Wonderful lobby area with a fireplace and a view of the lake. Stayed in a room overlooking the lake. Room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. I usually stay at Hampton Inns and this was one of the nicest ones that I've stayed at. I will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Lake Placid can be cold and windy and this hotel is right next to Mirror Lake. When the wind blows and comes through the hallway and if it then causes a loud and CONSTANT whistle in your room late at night, put a bath towel on the floor over the door gap. Solves everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Up by Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

My family had a wonderful time here on a trip in Lake Placid. We visited during the Four Nations hockey tournament and Tetley helped us find great and quick local restaurants to grab a bite. Tetley was wonderful and recommended wonderful places. Tetley made our trip even better, we loved the place. The Hampton Inn felt like a grand lodge. Beautiful windows overlook Mirror Lake in the lobby. We had a great view from our room and there is a great fire pit. The hotel spent money on all the right things. Great little touches and the workers made this a great place. The only complaint I could think of is the breakfast, though it is a wonderful atmosphere to eat but it has some faults. I felt the breakfast workers were great but the food was laid out to be pretty, not functional. Something was just always out, not because of the workers, but there was just one small milk pitcher, a tiny pancake mix, a little bowl for the syrups. Overall we had a great time and enjoyed the place.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjorn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel and for staying with us during the Four Nations Cup. Lake Placid is a great destination town because there is always something going on! It is a real pleasure to read how wonderful our staff was! Tetley is a great asset to our team. The entire team makes every effort to provide first class service. Our front desk agents are great ambassadors of our town and love making recommendations on places to see, things to do, and where to eat. We value your thoughts on our breakfast and are looking into ways we can provide a better service. When your travels bring you back to Lake Placid we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I know Champ lives in Lake Champlain but if she was to take a short trip to Lake Placid and visit her kin in Lake Mirror, she would love the Hampton Inn. Even if you are not a sea monster I'm sure you will love it too. Top Ranking across the board, Staff, Property, Location (just off the beaten path enough). Right next to a cozy restaurant and the rest of downtown.

Room Tip: Hey it's the Adirondacks so you probably won't' have a bad view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTMAXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your review! We spoke with Champ’s cousin, Maurice, and he thought maybe you could throw Champ in the back of the pickup truck and bring her over for a family reunion! Our staff loved your review and we are glad you had such a wonderful time. The success of our hotel really has been the result of our top notch service, a prime location, and good natured guests like yourself. Our Hampton strives to appease all of our guests, sea monsters included!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Our family picked Lake Placid and this hotel for a weekend getaway to celebrate our parents' 50th wedding anniversary. The location is great, overlooking lake and SHORT walk across path to village center. We loved the Adirondack lodge architecture and decor of the lobby and great room and found this property better than most other Hampton Inns. By far the best thing about our stay was the service we received from the staff. All eight adults agreed that they were very helpful and friendly - and we needed lots of help to coordinate activities, from churches to restaurants to visiting Olympic venues. A HUGE thanks to all the front desk folks for helping make our parents' weekend so memorable. In fact we found that all of the staff - housekeeping, etc. - we pleasant and courteous and quick to help. The only two things that aren't perfect about the hotel are the eggs - but food was good enough and PLENTY of choices, including fresh waffles - and the noise of the heating system. I like a background hum of an air conditioner - helps me go to sleep - but I could see how others would not. There was a combined sound of the system itself with a constant whoosh of air being sucked from one place and blown to another. Again, not a big deal to me. But who goes to Lake Placid to sit in their hotel room? If you're going to Lake Placid, you should be spending little time in the hotel and lots of time outside on adventures, and if you do it right, you'll be so tired when you get back that you'll have no problems getting back to immaculately clean room, and very comfortable, clean beds.

Room Tip: One side of hotel has rooms with lake view, but the whole town and region is filled with views every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
5 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Address: 801 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing