We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adirondack by Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Adirondack by Hampton Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This Hampton captures the Adirondack spirit beautifully. Its amenities(pool, whirlpool, fitness center) will satisfy the usual Lake Placid outdoorsy visitor. The Hampton's location is just off mainstreet, so guests don't hear the noise, have a great view, but need walk only half a block to the trolley which will take you through mainstreet's shops and restaurants. Not your average Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for choosing to stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

When your travels take you to Lake Placid again, we'd be honored to have you stay with us again.

All the best,

Rich and your friends at the Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    245
    40
    10
    5
See reviews for
446
431
26
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great hotel for families. Could not ask for a better location along Mirror Lake. Loved having breakfast in great room, congregating around the fire pit at night and chatting with other hotel guests, and overall service.

Only complaint is lack of recognition of Hilton Honor members.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at our property. We hope to see you soon!

We love having you here!

Rich and your friends at the Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This Hilton property opened this past July. We went to Lake Placid to attend a wedding at a nearby lodge. Its location is perfect. If you are lucky enough to score a lake view room, the view of Mirror Lake is magnificent. We went during the peak of fall foliage so it was splendid. We didn't have much time to explore due to wedding activities, but a visit to White Face Mountain is a must. Hotel has a fire pit, indoor pool and hot tub. The staff - especially Kevin on the front desk - were so very helpful. Lake Placid can be expensive during the fall season but I understand when it isn't peak season, the rooms are very reasonable. And, of course, there is the free breakfast - while not a feast, it is adequate. If you are with a family, FREE is good. My brother and wife stayed at a nearby hotel where they spent many dollars on breakfast. If you are planning to ski White Face, staying at this hotel would require you to drive, but it is close to all of the Olympic sites. We went to the Olympic Center - again free- and saw the ice where the Miracle on Ice in 1980 occurred. Lots to do in the area - especially if you are outdoorsy kind of person (we aren't, sadly).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for spending time with us while you were in town recently for a wedding. What a pleasure it was to hear about how Kevin helped make your experience here memorable! As general manager, I've been lucky enough to work with such a fantastic team since we opened. Thank you for taking the time to write this review--I'll be sure to share it with all your friends here at the hotel.

We hope to see you again soon, we love having you here!

Rich and the team at the Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitsfield, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We enjoyed that this hotel was in walking distance to downtown. That is always nice after a trip in the car. We enjoyed the view of Mirror Lake and the walking path around it. The hotel was very nice and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at our property. We hope to see you soon!

We love having you here!

Rich and your friends at the Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
393 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is probably the newest hotel in Lake Placid, NY. This Hampton Inn is probably one of the largest that I have ever seen. Well constructed facility, huge great room, porch or deck with a fire pit overlooking the lake, large rooms, and a lot of parking. This is an excellent place to stay to explore Lake Placid. The village itself has only metered parking (there is an out lot with shuttle bus)... but park and stay here and enjoy the village on foot or bike The property is located at the southern end of Mirror Lake. A walk across the street will lead you to a path that will take you downtown.

Overall the staff matched the facility... generally friendly and competent, not overly friendly. Had some hiccups at checkin and asked to speak to a manager the next day. A manager never called, so I can only assume the hapless clerk didn't pass along my message. Probably a sign that their training program needs some work, also symptomatic to me that Hilton properties across the board seem to have lowering customer service standards.

Rooms are very quiet and large. Other than that a typical Hampton Inn property. A very typical Hampton hot breakfast, which is complimented by fantastic scenery. Good sized pool are for a Hampton Inn.

Overall a little over-priced, but probably priced competitively to the market in Lake Placid.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lake facing room, and I'd recommend a room with a deck or porch in the summer or fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jra3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at our property. We hope to see you soon!

We love having you here!

Rich and your friends at the Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I don't normally write a review, I don't trust that they were written by actual guests. That being said, my brother and sister-in-law, wife and I had a three night stay here two weeks ago. This was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. Everything was just wonderful. The place was so clean, my wife couldn't find a speck of dust anywhere (trust me she looked). The staff was friendly and helpful and the continental breakfast was great. We were so happy that we tried to book an additional night, but sadly they were booked solid. We will be back though in the near furure.-- John Whalen, Red Bank, N.J.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing Mirror lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing great Hampton Service and Clean and Comfortable Surroundings, we are so glad you found this to be true. I will be sure to share this review with all your friends here at the hotel.

The next time you head up to Lake Placid, we hope you'll stay with us again.

We love having you here!

Many thanks,

Rich and the entire team at the Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel is very attractive, lodge style, not Hampton Inn style. There is a firepit that is lit every noght at 6 p.m. Our room was beautiful, spacious and had a balcony with full view of Mirror Lake.

Only hangup was front desk who put us in parking lot view room even though reservation was for lakeview room -- extra trips to the desk when we were anxious to be in our room (and staff was advised of that). In addition, the laundry locks at 10 p.m. Staff failed to advise when handing out the change at 9:00 p.m. and when asked twice why we were unable to get into the room after our clothes had dried.

Room Tip: Be sure to select a lake view (lv) room when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmorehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Also, thank you for noticing how beautiful and spacious the room was.

I deeply regret that you had such a poor experience with our front desk team. I can assure you that this is not the norm, and we will make every effort to ensure this doesn't happen again. I hope that you'll give us the opportunity to make this up to you the next time your passing through.

If there is anything else I can do to ensure your stay is flawless next time, please let me know by calling me at 518-523-9500. Again, thank you for your feedback and my sincerest apologies for your inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Rich and your friends
at the Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Address: 801 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing