We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restaurant not to miss”
Review of Freestyle Cuisine - CLOSED

Freestyle Cuisine
Price range: $9 - $31
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Waterford, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A restaurant not to miss”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is one of the best restaurants ever. It is great to have Richard back. The food is fabulous and the drinks are amazing. Paul behind the bar is a true mixologist. Everything about Freestyle is creative and innovative. I wish we didn't live 2.5 hours away.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank preigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    14
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saranac Lake, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect blend of all the right talents!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wow...what do you say when you have been following Richard around Lake Placid and you don't know what to expect next but Freestyle is creative blending of fabulous talents including current cuisine, unbelievable drink mixology along with the right bartender to detail every drink, super atmosphere and great service. We met friends from Albany and several times during the dining experience, they commented that it was worth driving to Lake Placid just for dinner there. Great job pooling your talents and working the magic! Keep it up!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank presso57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
1 review
“Devine!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I ate at Freestyle twice this week - I'm very impressed. The menu has dishes you don't usually find and the cuisine is remarkably tasty. I enjoyed the amazing flavors - perfect combinations of spices - tops in my book .. and that was a burger! After the surprise the first night, I had to come back to try some of the apps and the salmon (my favorite.) Again - a home run. If your looking for a great meal, I do not think you will be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Try Somewhere else!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went to Freestyle after the rave reviews we read about the chef. Sorry to say the food was bland at best not a lot of flavor. The service was terrible we had to wait WAY to long for everything. We also saw two groups walk out due to the LONG wait. I was really hoping to find a go to restaurant in Lake Placid sorry to say this is not it.
Try Somewhere else!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffotitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An all around "5"”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We had never tried Freestyle, but liked the reviews about the chef, staff and food. I had the grilled shrimp with rice patty and greens. It was amazing! I also had my 10 yr old son w/me. They were nice enough to make something special which was pasta w/ olive oil and shrimp. (Then sauce on the side exactly for my son who is such a picky eater). They do have a kids selection. However my son is kind of at the "in between age."
Deserts were very good and the strawberry tart my mother had I believe was the best. The service was outstanding. Prices very reasonable for such top notch food, cooking and service. We will likely go back a second time this week!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maureen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing