We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Good and Bad”
Review of Ben & Jerry's - CLOSED

Ben & Jerry's
Description: For all the euphoric flavors you can't get enough of – especially the ones you can't get in ordinary stores – nobody scoops Ben & Jerry's better than we do at our scoop shops.
Restaurant details
Description: For all the euphoric flavors you can't get enough of – especially the ones you can't get in ordinary stores – nobody scoops Ben & Jerry's better than we do at our scoop shops.
CNY, United States
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Some Good and Bad”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

It is a typical Ben & Jerry's. I did find it to be considerably more expensive than most other ive cream parlors/stands. However, it was delicious ice cream (I got something with white brownie nuggets) and the staff was great about keeping it all flowing. They do need more seating, but I liked the decor of the available seating. The offer free water and those little bathroom cups. I thought it odd, though, that Ben & Jerry were supposedly all about the planet and this shop didn't have a recycling basket for the water cups. I'm still not sure if going here is worth it or not.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bethany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    34
    14
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Still overpriced and overrated”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

I had not stopped into Ben & Jerry's Lake Placid for a few years.
When some friends said, "Let go to Ben & Jerry's. It's good." I felt obligated for their sake. I found that the ice cream is still no better than many other less expensive brands.
You can do much better elsewhere.
The friends who had asked to go there agreed. They were underwhelmed.
I guess you have to give credit to the P.R. folks who have promoted the B & J brand. They are CAPITALISTS par- excellence! Oops. Sorry guys. I hate to blow your phony" friend of the people"cover.
In the future we'll stick with some of the family-run local establishments that serve delicious ice cream at family-friendly prices.

Helpful?
Thank mountainclimber10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It was fine”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The ice cream was good and the staff friendly. Limited flavor choices and the ice cream was a bit on the soft side were the only downsides.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lepski110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwinton, CT
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong with B & J's!!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

You can never go wrong with GOOD ice cream! It was busy..but the staff was very capable and service very friendly in spite of the crowd.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rascal1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
It's a Freeport Thing
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“First one”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This was the first Ben & Jerry's I ever ate in. Was just like I thought it would be. Triple caramel threat was just as yummy as it sounded.
Will have to make another trip for more.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Buldog216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing