We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Willing to Accommodate” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffe Rustica

Caffe Rustica
Ranked #12 of 98 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lake Placid, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Willing to Accommodate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We are locals who in the past have had very good experiences at this restaurant. This time, however, we found the service slow and unattentive. When we tried to substitute a different cheese on a dish for the goat cheese that was listed we were pretty much told that it just wasn't an option. At the prices of these meals there should be some leeway to substitute. We were not happy. The meals we did order (I was forced to change entrees due to the unwillingness to substitute) were excellent. Our issue was the service and the server. The prices at this restaurant are premium prices and along with that should come excellent service and a certain sensitivity to work with dietary preferences that are not extreme. We will think twice before returning to eat here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    81
    26
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ottawa,ontario
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“One of the better spots”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have been there at least a dozen times, never disappoints. Family run the dishes are homemade many in the open kitchen. Liberty School Cabernet accompanies our lasagna, and an eggplant pasta dish. I don't recall the fancy menu names. Service as usual was excellent. The cappuccinos and vanilla ice cream finished the meal beautifully.
A favourite with locals and tourists.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank norman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's Lake Placid you're gonna pay more!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a very good dinner here- walked in around 8:30 pm w/o reservations and got a seat. Service was very good and the food was tasty! Prices were acceptable for the area. I would go back!! And would suggest to friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowboundInVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not Up To Its Billing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

After reading some other reviews we tried this small Lake Placid restaurant. In summary: Nothing to get excited about. The food is described as Northern Italian which seems to be a reach. Wood fired pizza is also on the menu and my husband did enjoy his. The Chicken Saltimbocca was utterly flavorless. Totally! No high marks in the service department either. Only 2 waitress/servers to cover 2 rooms. That made the whole process slow and when they were at your table it was boom, there and gone. Makes it hard to get a refill on wine or water. Pricing is average for a resort community, just wish there had been a little more value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Had a great meal at this little Italian restaurant on the outskirts of Lake Placid. Excellent food and great company. Would definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Rustica also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing