We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing less than amazing!”

Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company
Ranked #8 of 99 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $36
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We have been offering prime steak and fresh seafood daily for over 25 years. Our on premise brewery features award winning ales and homemade rootbeer. We feature a full wine list, full bar and private dining for both lunch and dinner. During the warmer months enjoy our beautiful patio with a view of Mirror Lake. Please visit our website for more information.Check us out on face book!!!
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing less than amazing!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Everything, from walking in to walking out was wonderful! The hostess was very pleasant and didn't hesitate to greet us. It was busy (which is always a good sign) so we waited in the bar. The bar area was very comfortable. The bartenders are very friendly and welcoming. Dan was sure to explain the drink specials, (I would recommend the watermelon cooler!) as well as the beer menu, which gives details to all the beer they brew in the back! Clinton who is one of the brewers was playing that night with his bluegrass band in the beer garden. Great entertainment! We ate our dinner outside on their beautiful and cozy patio and we were offered a blanket when it got a little chilly. Our dinners were remarkable- the specials they offer are truly worth it! Our waiter was completely competent and thorough our entire dinner and desert! If you go to lake placid and don't check out steak and seafood, you're wasting a trip!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    336
    199
    94
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloversville, New York
1 review
“Wonderful food!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We were in Lake Placid for a golfing weekend and wanted a nice meal on Saturday night. One of our party suggested the Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood restaurant. It was very confusing at first why we couldn't sit outside in the dining area and have a cocktail there before moving inside to eat so we had a cocktail inside at the bar. Wine and beer selection was good and we enjoyed a drink. The bartender and wait staff were very friendly and efficient. All four of us were very happy with our meal choices....two having the whole lobster, one a steak and myself the seafood Wellington.......although as little pricey we all more than satisfied and would definitely return again should we be in Lake Placid for another weekend of golfing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornwood, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great dinner in the heart of Lake Placid”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We loved every bit of our dinner from the beer to the clam chowder to of course the steaks! We sat outside and enjoyed the atmosphere of the garden seating while watching people walk by. Service was great and everyone was friendly. Would definitely go back!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced with poor food”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Dinner was not very good and extremely overpriced. Two steak dinners and three kids meals with two alcoholic beverages $180?!?!?! Been to bobby flays and don't have a problem paying good money for good food but this was definitely not worth it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Public Relations Manager at Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Hi Jennifer,
I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience with us. Doing the math the only way that I could come up with a bill of $180 for 2 steak dinners, 3 kids meals, and 2 alcoholic beverages would have been for you to order the most expensive menu items as well as left an 18% tip.
By my calculation you most likely ordered our 24 oz prime ribs, 3 orders of kids ribs, and 2 signature cocktails.
If this is the case I feel I must defend our establishment. Due to our location in downtown Lake Placid we have rather high overhead cost which result in us charging slightly higher prices than we would like. Additionally, we hold a certified Angus beef license that ensures we are serving only the highest quality cuts of meat available.
However, our cuts of prime rib are extremely generous and we sell all of our kids menu items at cost. As for our signature cocktails, we use all freshly picked ingredients and top quality spirits.
In order to avoid customers being unhappy with our prices, we advertise them on the menu boards in front of the restaurant, and serve meals at various different price points.
That being said we would hate to have anyone not enjoy their meals with us and I do hope you brought it to the attention of a manager.
If not please contact us at info@gadkss.com to see how we can remedy the situation.

Kelsey Torrance
Great Adirondack Steak and Seafood
Lake Placid, NY 12946
info@gadkss.com
adksteakandseafood.com
518.523.1629
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure!”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

We always look forward to our visits to Steak and Seafood. This time we had the pleasant surprise of a menu change! Lots of changes and additions to try! Everything was so delicious! The service was prompt and so pleasant. Our glasses were never empty nor did we want for anything. There wasn't even a wait time for a table this time. It really is such a great experience every time we dine here. We are already looking forward to our next trip maybe I can even get my husband to try something other then their excellant prime rib!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marysmithlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company also viewed

 

Been to Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing