We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got what we expected”

Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company
Ranked #9 of 103 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $36
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We have been offering prime steak and fresh seafood daily for over 25 years. Our on premise brewery features award winning ales and homemade rootbeer. We feature a full wine list, full bar and private dining for both lunch and dinner. During the warmer months enjoy our beautiful patio with a view of Mirror Lake. Please visit our website for more information.Check us out on face book!!!
Kemptville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We got what we expected”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I dropped in for lunch knowing that the restaurant had received mixed reviews. We were greeted and seated right away. The restaurant had a cosy atmosphere with a fire going in the fireplace. The restaurant wasn't busy at all, probably 10 customers in total. It was about 1pm on Friday Jan 3rd. The waitress was friendly, but didn't offer up much in the way of informing us of house specialties, daily specials, etc. In a tourist town, you have to figure that many customers will be first first-time customers. We asked what she recommended. She gave a couple suggestions, that included the "Fried Eggplant sandwich", but I can't say I was sold on the recommendations. I ordered the Anthony's Favorite (Buffalo wrap) and my wife ordered the Mirror Lake 1/2 Sandwich and onion soup. Our food came within 10-15 minutes and both items were very good. The prices were reasonable for a tourist town. My wife had a wine and I had a beer bringing our bill to $35, which I consider very good. The same meal and drinks in Canada would have cost us closer to $50, so we considered the value very good. We would go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sensforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    345
    204
    96
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good but not great”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

While on our recent visit to LP we decided to try out Great Adirondack Stake and Seafood. My husband and I were in the mood for a good stake dinner so we gave this place a shot even after reading some of the reviews here on TripAdvisor. To be honest we didn't have real high expectations, esp in regards to service, but there were few choices for a stake dinner in town.

Having grown up and lived in a ski town I knew to not expect reservations and to avoid the after ski rush to dinner, so we decided to go back to the hotel to relax, hit the hot tub, and take a short nap before venturing out for dinner. Was a much more peaceful and relaxing way to spend the evening then waiting for 2+ hours to be seated and eat, as one reviewer stated.

We arrived at GAS&S at 7:40 and were seated within 20 minutes. Enough time to enjoy a glass of wine by the fireplace and warm up. Unlike several other reviewers, service was friendly and quick. We both ordered soup, the Prime Rib with the mashed red potatoes. Food was good, but not great. It seemed to be under seasoned and on the bland side. My clam chowder was lukewarm at best and obviously not homemade; thick with large pieces of clam but nothing else, not even taste. My husband got the French onion soup, while the soup was tasteful the cheese on top was not browned and bubbly and was more of the consistency of rubber. Our entrees of prime rib were good. Cooked to order and very tender...could have cut it with a butter knife, however again, it lacked seasoning and flavor of a great prime rib stake. Mashed potatoes were very thick and heavy...not appetizing at all.

We will be traveling to LP again this season, however I doubt we will visit this establishment again. While the service was great and the atmosphere was charming and relaxed, for the price of the food vs the quality it's a no brainier.

Helpful?
Thank nazteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Solid option, just a bit disappointing”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We selected Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company for dinner during our most recent vacation and were a bit disappointed in comparison to previous meals at other Lake Placid establishments.

It was not so much the quality of the food, but the mismatched atmosphere of the restaurant. We were not disappointed with our steak or salad and we were pleased when a minor error in our order was remedied with ease.

We never learned our waiters name and the specials were never provided to us. The decor of the restaurant emits, as do the prices on the menu, more of a high-end appeal, the ambiance was anything but.

The tables are placed far too close together and our particular experience was negatively impacted by several rowdy children.

Our highlight came in the form of pints of Whiteface stout, that was recommended by our server who shall not be named.

The overall experience of Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company did not match cost of our meal. The food was good and is certainly a solid option for eating at Lake Placid.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnowBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Food good But not worth the 2 1/2 hr wait”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The wait for a table gets worst with each new year bringing down the charm & enjoyment of dining at the restaurant.

The restaurant SHOULD TAKE RESERVATIONS instead of wasting people's time with a bogus wait list designed to keep their tables filled well pass 10pm. Their current "seating policy" appears to be after skiing, shopping or hiking race to the restaurant place your name on a table list, go back to your hotel shower and return in 2 1/2 hrs. Otherwise don't plan on sitting at a table until after 9:30pm. Which is fine but please be honest about the true wait.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Dinner”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Second year in a row we have enjoyed a nice steak dinner and ambiance and the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank prontoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company also viewed

 
Lake Placid, NY
 

Been to Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing