We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest Steak and Craftbrew lovers”

Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company
Ranked #9 of 100 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $36
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We have been offering prime steak and fresh seafood daily for over 25 years. Our on premise brewery features award winning ales and homemade rootbeer. We feature a full wine list, full bar and private dining for both lunch and dinner. During the warmer months enjoy our beautiful patio with a view of Mirror Lake. Please visit our website for more information.Check us out on face book!!!
Upstate New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Honest Steak and Craftbrew lovers”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This an honest steak restaurant and does not pretend to be anything but. The Craft brew selections are delicious with the microbrewery right on the premises. This restaurant is known for its huge portions and is one of the holdouts that offer a salad as part of the meal, instead of a la carte. Appetizers such as the Cheese Platter sources out local cheeses from the region offering distinct but delicious out of the ordinary varieties. We had a delicious raspberry hard cheese and a smoked Gouda served with honey and local apples. The Colossal Shrimp appetizer, though one may initially think dull and boring, is perfectly poached. I do believe the simplest dishes are a bellwether for a chef's cooking skill. It is so very easy to overcook shrimp, in which I have had disappointing experiences in some of very high rated restaurants in the country. The Prime Rib is a local favorite and is very flavorful. The fresh Haddock entree is first dipped into their ale microbrew and then deep fried served as a fish & chips. It was both huge and delicious with a hint of allspice in the background or might also be the hops from the craft brew. Very crowded on the weekends so be prepared for a wait. The small bar is also a popular detour for the regular vacationers and secondary homeowners so you may be elbow to elbow.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ldubeiws_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Guest Relations Manager at Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for stopping in and hope to see you again soon.
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    339
    201
    95
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have been here 3 times in the past few years and each visit we thought...well that was just OK. On the plus side, the atmosphere is nice and they have a large selection of beer and menu items. The bartender let us try a craft beer before ordering which was really great. I liked the beer and ordered it but my friend didn't.
Our server was OK, got a few things mixed up but corrected them after having to wait for a bit...then got the bill wrong too. My prime sirloin steak was lacking flavor and both the steak and potato were on the small side. My husband's prime rib dinner gave him indigestion all night long. Our friend's clam chowder and chicken chorizo penne dish were good according to them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank delred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Surprised this restaurant doesn't rate higher. You get a lot of good food for your money. Our prime rib dinners were cooked perfectly. Salads and vegetables come with the dinner. Local beers were a welcome change. We had to wait for a table, but the hostesses's time estimate was right on. Quick, friendly service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dayhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apalachin, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The best meal we had all weekend in Lake Placid, and on the list of best restaurant meals I've had. Our steaks were perfectly cooked, the wine was divine, service efficient and friendly. The atmoshere was relaxed and the lighting was that perfect, flattering dimmed lighting without being dark. Nice beer selections. The place was packed but we never felt rushed, and the service and food were excellent.
We didn't make reservations, but I think I will next time to make sure we get in.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariago13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in town”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Best place to eat in town. Their steak is great and you may want to try various choices of their home made beer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company also viewed

 
Lake Placid, NY
 

Been to Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing