We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liked IT”

Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company
Reserve with OpenTable
Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 98 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $36
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We have been offering prime steak and fresh seafood daily for over 25 years. Our on premise brewery features award winning ales and homemade rootbeer. We feature a full wine list, full bar and private dining for both lunch and dinner. During the warmer months enjoy our beautiful patio with a view of Mirror Lake. Please visit our website for more information.Check us out on face book!!!
hickory creek texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Liked IT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

So much had to go back 2 more times. 1/2 lobster meal was terrific. Pork and beef sandwiches great. Avoid the eggplant sandwich. Luved the beers. We were there before Christmas and there never was a wait.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deepblue4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    330
    195
    94
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Okay for too expensive a meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Service by Mike was excellent. Ambiance was good with many articles of memoribilia to gain attention. Food was not up to the price. My husband and I selected seafood wellington, it arrived nice and hot. We were pleased with the puff pastries, but the fish/shellfish had mixed results, the scalops and crab meat were nice & soft while the shrimp was tough (overcokked) for my husband. While my wellington had soft crab meat and my scalops and shrimp were tough. The souce in the wellington was weak in flavor. My husband's mash potatos were OK, also weak in flavor even with the souce from the wellington. My rice was OK, nothing to wright home about. So, their is a problem with constancy with the wellington. The seafood wellington cost us $29 each. The beer sampler is a nice service but we were surprised to learn that it had a price tag of $14.00. The samlper had what looks like 4-6 oz glasses with 7 samples. Maybe, a smaller sampler for two would be nice with a smaller price tag. We did liked the Adironack Gold (one of their light beers). Mike (the server) was nice enough to give us a sample of the rootbeer. Both my huband and I agreed that the rootbeer would be a nice addition to the sampler, we both loved the rootbeer. The next time we vist, we now know what beer to order (Adirondack gold) or the rootbeer. The desserts were great, but each dessert is big enough for two people and since the cost is $7.00 each, it's not a bad idea. Overall, not a bad place to eat even though it is expensive. My husband and I, may try it again in the future.

Helpful?
Thank hosrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New Years Eve 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time in Lake Placid over New Years. The Internet wasn't helpful and the few restaurants who planned special events were pricey so our party of 4 wandered down Main Street into the Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company. We arrived around 7:30 and the place was hopping. We sat at the bar until our table was ready, about 45 min. The bartender's were attentive and engaging, the beer and wine list as well as the full bar, met our needs. Once we were seated our waiter, Matt, was also very attentive. We ordered the calamari appetizer, followed by main courses of prime rib, sirloin , seafood Wellington and lobster. All came with either soup or salad, baked potato and vegetable. Everything was delicious. We took our time eating and drinking. With all we ate and drank our total bill came to less than 80pp. Much more reasonable than the prix fix meals being offered which did not include drinks or tip. Our bill was most likely higher than what we would have spent on a non-New Years Eve night because we averaged about 3 drinks apiece of mostly top shelf liquor.

Helpful?
Thank Snarv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food; good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very good steak and prime rib house right in town. Great meat and the price includes fresh buns and soup to start. Nice decor inside and outside; put your name in 90 minutes before you want to eat! Super busy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mdwondover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Looking to waste alot of money?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you want some mediocre food with some HIGH prices then this is your place. Don't get pulled in by the "Adirondack feel." Save your money for something much better!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TheConfusedHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
I'm sorry you were not happy. Please the next time you are in town stop in and let us know what you can do to help us!! We are always looking to improve what we do. Thanks for your comments and hope you have a great holiday!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company also viewed

 

Been to Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing