We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old school. Good Value. Good Food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company

Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company
Reserve with OpenTable
Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 98 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $36
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We have been offering prime steak and fresh seafood daily for over 25 years. Our on premise brewery features award winning ales and homemade rootbeer. We feature a full wine list, full bar and private dining for both lunch and dinner. During the warmer months enjoy our beautiful patio with a view of Mirror Lake. Please visit our website for more information.Check us out on face book!!!
Fairfield County, CT
Level Contributor
265 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Old school. Good Value. Good Food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place does a great Prime Rib. Friendly service and good food at a reasonable price. Most bottles on the wine list are $27-35. Decore is traditional if a little tired. A lively atmosphere on a Friday night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nodrama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    327
    194
    94
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsville, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not a good image for Lake Placid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The restaurant is charming, and the fire outside on a cold day is very inviting. But - there is just something off about the charm of the personnel and the quality of the food. My husband and i stopped in for lunch. We got a table right away, but never saw a waiter for several minutes. The waiter finally took our order, we didn't order anything complicated - just a couple of hamburgers. 35 minuter later we got our burgers. They were on a kaiser roll and the top half was so stale - there is just NO way they didn't notice it in the kitchen - so of course I couldn't eat it. The waiter never came back until 3/4 of our meal was gone. We love Lake Placid, but it is just too bad that the food was not good, and the service was worse at this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank lcharron2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our recent visit to Lake Placid included dinner at this busy establishment. We unfortunately were a bit underwhelmed. The food was great and we would have told our server this had we seen her again after she delivered our meal. We were also disappointed in the selections offered on the menu but not actually available. We ordered their signature mojito but were unable to have it due to being out of mint. The French fries were described as beer batter dipped but when we asked we were told they were actually just a regular hand cut fry. Thankfully we were there early because my husband got one of the last Colorado bison steaks. Several tables around us ordered it only to be told they were out. This was around 6:00pm on a Monday night. I would say with some better ordering and an accurate menu it would be great because the meals we did have were quite tasty.

Helpful?
1 Thank Howiethedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Be aware of auto gratuity!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Dining Date – October 17, 2012 – be aware of auto gratuity!
We recently met up with friends from California and Massachusetts in Lake Placid and were looking for a nice restaurant for dinner. On recommendation from a friend we decided to go to the Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company. We arrived at the restaurant and took in the tour of the brewery on the premises prior to dinner – tour was conducted by the Brewmaster, really nice fellow, very informative and was happy to conduct the tour and answer all of our questions. There was a small fire going outside the restaurant and we had a nice chat with a fellow there as well. Really liked the restaurant décor, it was very inviting and cozy. Most of us had the prime rib which was excellent – however they only offer two sizes 16 oz and 24 oz – wish they had a smaller portion size to choose from. The food and beverages were great – tried the Haystack Blonde Ale – very nice. We had a great time and really enjoyed the experience HOWEVER I want to make everyone aware – an 18% gratuity is automatically added to separate checks or parties of 5 or more (this is noted on the menu). We had one cheque for a party of 6. The person paying the bill was unaware of the auto gratuity and included a tip of $50. We didn’t realize our error until we had got back to the resort when the fact that the tip is automatically added to the bill came up in conversation. We called back to the restaurant and spoke to the manager. We explained the situation noting that the automatic gratuity was not the issue at all; it was our disappointment that the server did not bring this to our attention. The 18% plus our $50 put his tip close to 40% - we felt the server should have said something or asked if we had realized that the tip had already been included. The manager was very apologetic and agreed that the server should have said something. He immediately offered to reimburse our $50. Two of the guys went back to the restaurant where the server returned the cash, apologized and acknowledged his error. All in all we had a great time and would definitely recommend the restaurant. As always Buyer Beware.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for having dinner with us. Yes your waiter is supposed to point that out. We do print that on the menu in several places, however we are supposed to point that out. I have spoken with our staff and asked them to make sure this doesn't happen again. I'm happy you enjoyed everything else and hope to see you soon.
Rob Kane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the crowds”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Shame on us for not checking on TripAdvisor before going into this place. If we had, we would have been warned not to go.

We were walking the town on our first night and were hungry. Most restaurants were closed, but the Seafood & Steak was packed, maybe because there were no other options open?

We sat at the bar for about 15 minutes in which time no one addressed us, yet other tables were being served. We were finally sat at a very nice table, but didn't see the waiter for over 5 minutes. He came by the table quite rushed and said that he would be back in a couple of minutes, and didn't even take a drink order.

When he did come back he was attentive and very helpful with the menu. We ordered the lobster and sword fish, and the french onion and clam chowder soup.
The french onion was very good but the clam chowder was very salty and as Chef Ramsey says, if your spoon stands up in the soup, it has been around way to long. My potatoes were not fluffy but rather thick and dry, like they had also been prepared in advance.

We asked another waiter to get our waiter and never heard from either. We had to ask the hostess for water. We finally got our main course and both the lobster and sword fish were very good. This was the high point.

There is a saying in restaurant service, two bites or two minutes before the waiter checks back to see if your meal is satisfactory. We didn't see our waiter again until we were more than half way through our main course. My wife asked for lemon and the waiter never returned with it.

The management has put profit before customer satisfactory. While the main course was good, to many items were prepared to far in advance, and there should have been at least three more servers on that night. It is sad when management loses focus of the customer in the pursuit for every last penny of profit.

We would not return to this restaurant, and will never go to another restaurant before checking TripAdvisor first again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JeffHerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
I apologize for what happened to you that night. I only wish you would have said something to me while you had a chance. Please the next time you are in town give us a call or stop in I would like to here more about what we can do to make our restaurant run better. It sounds like you have experience in the industry and we all appreciate someone with that type of knowledge. Thanks again and hope to see you soon!!!,
Rob Kane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company also viewed

 

Been to Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing