We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bring a flashlight” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lisa G's

Lisa G's
Ranked #5 of 98 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bad Pyrmont, Germany
Level Contributor
284 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“bring a flashlight”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We went for drinks and snacks to this place because it was close to our accommodation. The restaurant is very dimly lit so it's hard to read a menu. In fact we watched somebody at the next table using a cell phone to read it. We only ordered wings, calamari and nacho chips, beer and a glass of red wine.
The food was ok but nothing more. They had lots of beer to choose from. The price was between $ 5 and $ 6 for the special brews and $ 8 for a glass of wine which seemed a bit too steep. The service was not very attentive. All in all it was an average experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dasreiseteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    227
    69
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great wings at Lisa G's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We ate at Lisa G's three times this week (October) just for their hot wings which IMO are some of the best around. I live out of state and couldn't wait to try their wings again. Ask for them extra crispy. Monday nights are wing night if you order them at the bar. Service was good and the drinks were also good. The bread pudding with white chocolate and caramelized sugar is delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank prexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Service had the slows, otherwise good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Lisa G's is a very popular informal Lake Placid restaurant. It was a very easy walk from our hotel, so we gave it a try. The menu is eclectic and light-hearted, a fun read. We had the burger of the day (they readily substituted mushrooms for onions), the lentil and mushroom spring roll, and the fish and chips. All were lovely, as were the draft beer and wine. The blueberry cobbler and the lava cake were a treat as well. Everybody who came to the table was pleasant and knowledgeable, but everything took too long, and it was difficult to get anybody's attention. We got the sense that the local customers were winning out as several tables around us arrived after us and left much before us. Better pacing would have made this a much better dining experience for us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cozy autumn lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

All the staff was very welcoming. Maggie was our server and arranged for us to have the "internationally famous" fries (excellent reason why they are called that!). Great burger and was made to feel very welcome when I asked if I could hang out on huge couch for a bit. Nice local feel; a pleasure to visit !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cms43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
371 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Every local we asked about having lunch recommended this venue- they were right- the burgers were perfect with excellent draught beer selection and reasonably priced. Service was not rushed, knowledgeable and friendly. We sat on the large outdoor deck overlooking the river and dam- Great lunch

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lisa G's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing