We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great recommendation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lisa G's

Lisa G's
Ranked #5 of 98 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great recommendation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

While eating at the Paradox Lodge we overheard the owner recommending Lisa G's to another diner so we decided to give it a try as we were ready for more of a pub dinner after several more restauranty dinners. We walked in and were promptly seated (by Lisa G) in the bar area where it was wing night. Started with some wings which were quite good, the blue cheese was excellent. We both had sandwiches - his the Chicken BLT which was first rate and I the open steak which was good although I think I would have liked it a bit better with a little au jus. Our server gave us excellent service and was very personable. I cannot think of one downside to the whole evening and we will definately return and recommend it to others coming to LP.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luvthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    227
    69
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
301 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good chow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Seven of us went for dinner on a Saturday night at Lisa G's. The place was packed and we didn't have a reservation but it only took about 10 minutes to get a table. Meals are served with a nice side salad. The BBQ chicken thighs were great; a couple of people had the Peruvian pork but thought it lacked a bit of flavor. For the most part, everyone enjoyed their meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tryharder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slingerlands, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wide variety of mediocre food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We went with large group on a recent Saturday night with reservations made months in advance. Wait staff was nice but with only 1 person waiting our table of sixteen; it was a bit much for her which resulted in a longer than usual dinner. Menu had everything from Greek salad, baked enchilada dish, BBQ, fish, and jambalaya (ran out, waitress did not know) ... all pretty basic. Prices were a bit high for less than ordinary food... and this was after a long day hike in the Adirondacks which makes anything usually taste great. Plenty of better value restaurants to choose from.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacques R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, NY
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We recently stopped here for lunch while visiting Lake Placid. This restaurant was recommended by friends who live in the area, so we decided to try it before leaving for home. We sat under an awning on the outdoor deck which overlooked a small waterfall - very nice. Our server was prompt and friendly, and the food was delicious. The menu offered a wide variety of choices, including several vegetarian items that were very creative. The best part of the menu was reading the humorous comments from the owner - really clever. Prices were reasonable too (especially for Lake Placid during tourist season) - I can't think of one negative thing about our experience - highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just Perfect! Lovely outdoor dining...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Visited Lisa G's again on a trip to Lake Placid...never disappointed! In fact will eat there again when we are back in town next month! I had the Enchilada Pie very good nice flavors the pork was perfect. My friend had the Jambalaya Risotto and also proclaimed it delicious! A nice fresh salad to start was also perfect. The outdoor deck seating is wonderful... a must (you can even bring your dog!) The service was also very good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IamMeltingGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lisa G's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing