We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you're looking for hoity-toity NYC style Tex-Mex gastro-pub, go elsewhere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Desperados

Desperados
Ranked #64 of 98 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If you're looking for hoity-toity NYC style Tex-Mex gastro-pub, go elsewhere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

My companion and I had a surf n turf soft taco platter consisting of shrimp and carne asada. I was not disappointed. The shrimp were perfectly cooked, plump and juicy. The steak was flavorful and likewise perfectly cooked. The guacamole was fresh. And if there's one thing to love it's the 8 or so bottles of in-house hot sauces on the table. The decor was quirky and colorful, and the place filled up while we were there. All in all a good family restaurant with an eye towards value. Remember that if the cops and DPW workers eat there, there's a reason.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    54
    34
    23
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carthage, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a nice suprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great Mexican food at a great price! Will definatly go back again. Keep an eye out for it..its next to the Stewarts.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kylie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Kent NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We ate here yesterday, I ordered the beef burrito and it was absolutely horrible, husband had the enchiladas, and they weren't great, the chips were cold and greasy and were obviously yesterdays, and the salsa was canned tomatoes with chopped onion and jalapeno, one rootbeer and tap water for $25.00. They had one very pleasant young woman trying to be hostess, bar tender and waitress, when clearly at least two more people were needed. Never again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PortKenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I was not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Chips were average. Looks like they sit out all day since they are stacked in baskets in the backs. I ordered the nachos. Just some burnt chips with melted cheese, tomatoes, and I added chorizo. I opt out on peppers and onions and sour cream. Pretty bland. Service was poor also.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbmouse33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City area
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I really enjoyed this Irish take on Mexican food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I liked the concept of Irish-inspired (read: mildly spiced) Tex-Mex food. The place was hopping, especially the bar, so they're doing something right! I ordered cheese/spinach enchiladas, rice and black beans (black beans are vegetarian, the other types are not). Up front, you need to know: everything you order is a la carte, so each enchilada is priced separately, as are the rice and beans. I enjoyed the meal. Everybody was very friendly, even though the place is super busy. Word of caution: be very careful with the hot sauce on the table!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nayacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desperados also viewed

 

Been to Desperados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing