We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfasts!”
Review of Howard Johnson Restaurant - CLOSED

Howard Johnson Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
New Canaan, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

One of two HJ's in the country still serving food.
A real throw-back to the fifties with excellent food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    37
    22
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brings me back to my childhood”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

When I saw Hojo in Lake Placid, it brought me back to my childhood of fried clams and clam chowder.

My kids loved the food bar. The kids meals with the food bar were a great value. They ate more food from the food bar than their actual meal. Nachos, salad, yogurt, chicken wings, meatballs, and soup. They went back multiple times. The 2 for 1 Tuesday burgers were great. We thought those burger patties were going to be those 1/4 lb thin patties, but they were much larger. Great value on those burgers. We spent a full week in the Lake Placid area and ate at Hojos four times, twice for breakfast and twice for dinner. Can't beat a dinner for 2 adults and 5 kids for under $70. Can't wait till next summer when we can visit Hojos again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Simpleguy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OK for a quick meal”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had dinner there last evening with friends. They were nice and cool and the salad bar is what brings us back. The food last night was just OK but the company was good. Did not see the usual staff that we see during the winter time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esther A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An average experience”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We, like most others, had not been to a HOJO in years. We stopped in and had the salad bar which was just average. There were some chicken wings and one could make their own taco along with the greens and salad fixings and some puddings and fruit for dessert. The pineapple was very good-the spiced apple slices a little tired but don't expect a gourmet offering for $9.99.

We will go back for the 2 for 1 hamburgers with fries that are offered every Tuesday. If you used to go to HOJO you need to go just to revisit nostalgia and the food is passable. I'm sure some of their dishes are very good. Service for good and prompt.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sutherngal1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best breakfast value in town”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is our favourite place for breakfast in Lake Placid. Since we hike, we have a big breakfast in the morning. The Big Breakfast #1 consists of two eggs, two strips of bacon, two sausage patties and two large pancakes for $6.95 with a carafe of coffee for only $1.95. My partner had a bowl of oatmeal, one poached egg, and rye toast for only $7.50. Service is also very attentive and friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SH_FT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howard Johnson Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing