We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch”
Review of The Brown Dog Cafe & Wine Bar - CLOSED

The Brown Dog Cafe & Wine Bar
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: In our 16th year as Lake Placid's premiere wine bar with award winning wines paired with an eclectic French American fare in a quaint, romantic and Art Gallery setting over looking Mirror Lake or have a bite and a glass of wine in our Bar and lounge- serving both Lunch and in between cafe menu and Dinner everyday.
delmar ny
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Get yourself out onto the heated porch if you can, order a glass of wine and try to make your best choice of lunch options. Not a bad thing to be had on the menu and service spot on

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank gmhrjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    147
    67
    31
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

As someone who comes from a hospitality background, please avoid this place if you want good service and a professional staff. My 10 minute impression on two occasions trying to secure a table was quite troubling to say the least. The young man who attempted to fill the role of host didn't have a clue. Try mirror lake inn instead.

Helpful?
2 Thank msantell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal Great view”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Had a fabulous meal on a recent Monday night. I had the salmon & my husband had the pork chop. Both were excellent. I observed other diners who also seemed to appreciate their meal. It was a nice relaxing meal on their covered porch. Our waiter was not as informative as another of the wait staff was. Maybe he was new?

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank IamMeltingGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Meal with a Beautiful View”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was a great find! The food was delicious and creative, excellent wine selection and the outdoor heated terrasse was the perfect spot to enjoy our meal. Very friendly service; will definitely go back the next time we're in Lake Placid!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank smaj_mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“YUM”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a lovely lakefront atmosphere with all kinds of unique little tapas type eats. It was relaxed and comfortable and great for wine lovers like myself!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jace77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brown Dog Cafe & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Lake Placid, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing