We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we had in the Adirondacks.”
Review of Chair 6 - CLOSED

Chair 6
Price range: $8 - $50
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Hull, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best meal we had in the Adirondacks.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Came up from Boston for the weekend and tried a few different restaurants. This by far the best. The menu was interesting with lots if wonderful specials to choose from. Yum yum yummy. And to top it off the chocolate and fig bread pudding was to die for. The chef came out twice while we were there to talk to folks. Really nice touch. Big recommend for this restaurant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    73
    32
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but expensive meal”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We ate at this restaurant because of the good reviews. We agree that the food is good and the service was excellent but this was a pricy meal and a very small portion. Eat here if you are looking for a quant resturant with unique food options.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

What a nice place! Great service from personable servers. Chef Charlie came to our table for a quick visit yet he answered any questions (genuinely) and you can tell he loves his business and uses fresh ingredients and lots of creativity. We did the Wed. 3-course meal for $20 and added a good French Chardonnay for $5 a glass. We will go back...we want to try breakfast & lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KellBellHocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Eh - nice ..but..”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Simply - there are better places to eat in Lake Placid for the price.

Server, ambience - excellent

Food - very good but a bit over priced (there are so many specials they really should just print it out)
but where else will you find elk chops and wild boar?

Complaints -dishwashing is inadequete - had a beer glass that reeked of clorox. Also - lots of fruit flies everywhere, makes me wonder how clean the kitchen really is ( and it was rather cool in early Sept when we were there)

We ate there twice, probably try some other new places next time

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tedley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Every time we visit Lake Placid we make sure to have at least one meal at this restaurant. The food is always exceptional. The service is always attentive but not intrusive. On Wednesday evening there is a fixed price menu. Fresh local ingredients presented in a appealing way. Charlie Levitz is wonderful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chair 6 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing