We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once a week”
Review of Downtown Diner

Downtown Diner
Ranked #56 of 99 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saranac Lake
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Once a week”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our family stops here once a week to enjoy great home made food. The waitstaff is a great group of people and my son loves Amy. If there is a line it's worth the wait we always order breakfast but the lunch items are just as good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank chickenparmguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    63
    37
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not going back, remember it as good in the past”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I think I remember having had enjoyable breakfasts here and it being crowded in the past when I think it was new or newly refurbished. All I can say is, it's kind of shabby and our omelets were overcooked and dry. Our only disappointing meal in LP.

Lots better breakfasts in LP all around.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLF4591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, NY
Level Contributor
166 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Enjoyable breakfast spot”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A friendly little place. I had the bacon, onion, mushroom, and Gorgonzola omelet. Wow, that Gorgonzola is pungent! Mmmmmm. My wife had the sausage, apple, and Vermont cheddar omelet. Both came with home fries and toast. An excellent breakfast. Friendly staff, quick service, cash only.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomKNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural NY
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Home made everything!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had an attentive waiter who explained the offerings and menu. The soup was very good and sandwiches well put together. A really good deal in a quiet welcoming if a bit too lavender. :=) We felt welcome and at home.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Conquesthistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Typical diner.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The food was delicious but the Downtown Diner is a typical diner. Good food, cheap prices. They are cash only but last time I was there they had an ATM inside.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustMyThought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Diner also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing