We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, healthy food at reasonable prices”

The Good Bite Kitchen
Ranked #15 of 103 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $9
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Utica, NY
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good, healthy food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a quaint (small and cozy) place that my friends and I discovered because the other nearby restaurants were so busy at lunchtime. The menu at The Good Bite leans toward vegan, but the priority is healthy, freshly-prepared food. The day's menu is posted on butcher block paper as you walk in the door. I ordered the broccioli herbed mac 'n cheese. It was definitely homemade with elbow macaroni and tasty herbs and came in a large cereal bowl, only $7. Many of the meals, such as chili or veggie burger, ran about $5. There is limited seating, one wooden counter alongside a long, narrow hall with about 6-8 seats, so it makes it a popular takeout place. But if you have the time, sit a spell and re-read the menu or visit with the locals.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank UpstateNYUtica_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    35
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy yummy”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

i ate here twice when i came to Lake Placid to ski after christmas. the first time was to get a hand pie to take away and eat at the movie theater - i also was tempted by the chocolate cookies. both were delicious. i went back another day to have soup - and it was equally delicious. sooo much better than the generally unhealthy cuisine on the ski hill and style restaurants up and down the main drag. the staff are warm and friendly - and the decor is surprisingly cozy for all its brightness. i can't wait to return!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Don't pass it!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The boyfriend and I ate here a couple of different times during our week in Placid and really enjoyed it each time. The menu is eclectic and appealing, and the food is healthy AND very tasty. One of my favorites were the orange yogurt pancakes. Delicious with a gentle taste of orange. Yum. Boyfriend had a breakfast hash which was also VERY good.

The decor is nice- they've done a really great job of decorating. It's bright, simple, and inviting, and they've made a great use of space. It's small, and though on Main Street, can be easily missed, so make sure you look for it! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fresh Food, Perfect Portions”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I LOVE this litte restaurant! New menu every day, wonderful soups, inventive crispy salads, unique fresh brewed iced tea, scrumptios apple or pear breads...... This gal has a very good thing going here! Note: small place with stool seating at a counter.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RaeRae99501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Great Local Find, Even If You Luke Meat!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

This was a place we stumbled across while walking through town. The quiche was very good and the Potato Leak soup was top notch.
My wife's Hand Pie meal was amazing. The flavors change, but ours was really good.
I love my steak, but this was excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reillys1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Good Bite Kitchen also viewed

 
Lake Placid, NY
Lake Placid, NY
 

Been to The Good Bite Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing