We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Great Location”
Review of Woodlake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woodlake Inn
Ranked #14 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Central, NY
Level Contributor
172 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Value and Great Location”
Reviewed July 26, 2010

The rooms were clean and it took 4 minutes to walk to Main Street.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    8
    9
    2
See reviews for
7
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2010

One of the cheaper hotels in Lake Placid, if you're not a diva it will suit you well. The owner's a little weird but check-in and out was a breeze. The room was clean but missing a few amenities that you would normally expect, tissues, clock, hair dryer. The temperature in the shower was a little crazy, going up and down randomly but there was always hot water. The walk to town isn't bad at all unless it's freezing out, you won't find parking there anyway so your better off walking.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnsmith6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Stayed at the Woodlake Inn for our winter getaway. We wanted to take advantage of the wonderful snowfall in Lake Placid this year and check out some of the Olympic sites. We had a lovely time. We checked in late and the owners had our mountain passes ready for us so we didn't have to waste time dealing with it in the morning. The rooms were fantastically warm and set up with basic amenities, which was all we needed since we spent most of our time on the slopes or about town. We even tried the Greek Restaurant next door that the same owner own, which was delicious. A great simple find just off the main drag and close to everything. Walking distance to main street shops, restaurants, snow mobilling and I even noticed the local art center down the street. Nothing was showing, but it's nice to know it's there for when we go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_sojourner_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Could not have asked for anything more!! The beds and pillows were awesome, heating was perfect..all you need after a good day at the slopes.. One of the cleanest hotels we have ever stayed. Perfect being able to park right at your door for unloading. The plug outlets were a little wonky, but pretty easy to figure your way around them.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hootybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Website said newly renovated but we did not see that in the rooms. The air conditioner rattled so bad it woke us every half hour through the night and the coffeemaker malfunctioned. The owner did upgrade us to an efficiency when we complained which at least had functioning appliances but the plumbing was sluggish (had to plunge our toilet and stood up to ankles in water when showering). For the money, next time we will stay at the Best Western Adirondack Inn. Better location and only $40 more a night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0bey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Placid hotels

Syracuse, NY
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2009

Had a nice stay at Woodlake Inn, the rooms were very clean and large enough for a family of 4. We stayed for the weekend and everything was great. The temperature was -15 outside and we were plenty warm in our room sleeping only in t-shirts, the heat worked great. I liked how we didn't have to drag heavy bags through the hotel to get to our room, we just pulled up to the door, that was definetley a plus. I would definetely stay there again.

  • Liked — Close to shopping and restaurants
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank myeoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We drove into Lake Placid at 11pm looking for a room. We were happy to find the Woodlake Inn, which was a short walk to coffee shops, stores and restaurants. The room was very clean and plenty warm. We enjoyed our stay and will consider the Woodlake Inn when we return to Lake Placid.

  • Liked — Allowed Dogs
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank drfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#24 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlake Inn

Property: Woodlake Inn
Address: 2285 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3387
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Woodlake Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlake Inn is located in the heart of the Olympic Village of Lake Placid in the majestic Adirondack Mountains of upstate New York. The authentic Adirondack log and twig style inn is centrally located within walking distance of Main Street shops, restaurants, theater, Olympic Arena and lakes. Guest accommodations include efficiencies and cozy rooms with king, queen, or two double beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Woodlake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlake Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing