We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These people are wonderful.”

High Peaks Information Center
Ranked #13 of 51 things to do in Lake Placid
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For your next trip to the Adirondacks, stop in here for maps, guides, hiking equipment and camping supplies.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“These people are wonderful.”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The people down here are definitely the people you want to ask if you have any hiking or woods outing type question. They really do know what they're talking about.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JustMyThought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Information”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Excellent attitude from young gentleman who was working the gate the day we visited. Gave us good options for other hikes.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BobandClaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Careful Reading These Reviews”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Having been a volunteer here for the Adirondack Mountain Club and the 46ers, for over 35 years, I wonder what areas some of the other reviewers are talking about. This is the trail information facility and store at the trailhead leading to several of the high peaks, such as Mt. Marcy, Algonquin, Mt. Colden, and others: it is not a general tourist info center, nor does it have glass-bottomed viewing platforms. Trailhead parking is available here for a fee. Advice is given, but it is couched in terms that leave it up to you to make your own mind up. If you do get advice, take it: these people live and work here, and know the area intimately. It's not the sidewalks of a major city! There are also regulations specific to groups, overnight camping, and fires -- learn about them before you go, or at least learn about them here! Be forewarned: the staff can get a little frustrated at times, especially on days when they've heard the same question dozens of times: cut them some slack.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank zubill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Best Hiking in the US”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our second consecutive year taking a hiking vacation in the High Peaks Adirondacks area - Lake Placid. I love the hiking here. The scenery is breath taking, the challenges demanding, the rewards of scaling a peak worth every drop of sweat. To put my comments in perspective you need to know that I love hiking, and so do my husband and oldest son. I used to be an avid backpacker during my single years and early marriage (before kids). I have hiked up and down the Blue Ridge and trails off of the Appalachian train in NC, VA, MD and PA. I've hiked in Acadia, Grand Canyon, Mesa Verde, Yellow Stone, Sawtooth range, Bryce, Badlands, Mount Katahdin, Glacier, and some others I have probably forgotten (some places in France and elsewhere). The hiking in the High Peaks area is the most challenging and fun. If you like to hike this is your destination.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank carolcat40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, MD
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful Falls”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is privately owned so there is a fee to enter, but the trails are well maintained and the view is great. There is even a small glass bottom overlook! Don't miss the nature trail after you leave the falls. It is a mile, but is not too difficult and doesn't seem that long.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Peaks Information Center also viewed

 

Been to High Peaks Information Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing