We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing find, wonderful experience”
Review of The Haus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Haus
Ranked #2 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing find, wonderful experience”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I booked The Haus for my husband's 40th birthday as a friend had recommended Lake Placid as a lovely place to ski, particularly with kids. We were travelling with our daughter who is almost 3. I had originally looked at the 3 luxury hotels - Mirror Lake Inn etc - but had found them to be extremely expensive. I really like nice hotels but equally tend to prefer smaller boutique hotels to larger resorts. Thankfully The Haus had one room (Suite 4) available and I am so glad they did as I can't imagine the hotels exceeding the experience we had. We set off from just north of NYC around 8am and stopped for lunch at the Noonmark Diner in Keene Valley (highly recommend) so arrived in Lake Placid around 2.30pm. We amused ourselves in the town for 30mins and then checked in with the super-helpful Anthony at 3pm (the check in desk is only available from 3pm).

The Pros of this property are numerous:
- Location: right on the lake with fab views and right on Main Street with easy walking access to shops and restaurants as well as ski hire if you need it. Also walking to Dog Sledding on the lake which is a wonderful, if short, experience.
- Apartment decor/furnishings: clean, modern, spacious. The bed in our room was so big all 3 of us slept in it - we didn't end up using the inflatable bed we brought for our daughter.
- Space and Balcony: makes you feel like you live there in this gorgeous apartment vs staying in a hotel.
- Kitchen: has everything you need (apart from chopping board) and helps to be able to eat in for some meals especially with a toddler.
- Little touches: Aveda toilettries, helpful information folder in the room, magazines in the hallway for communal use, widescreen TV, parking pass.

The Cons:
Honestly none but a couple of things to note:
- Aim to arrive around 3pm or have plans to amuse yourselves in the town. There is no flex on this if you arrive early. Particularly with a little one it helped us to plan time of arrival.
- Know the recommended restaurant policies in advance. We tried to eat at Adirondack Steak House across the street which looked lovely but they don't take reservations and the wait was 1 hour. If we'd known we could have popped over an hour before we wanted to eat. We then tried another place along the street which was fully booked and pretty much only takes reservations. Ended up at the Dancing Bear which was fine but pretty run of the mill.

Other recommendations:
- Eat at Noonmark DIner en route. Famous for the pies...really lovely even though it doesn't look much on arrival.
- Breakfast pastries from the bakery across the street
- If you ski at Whiteface the childcare is very good and you can pay $30 to take little ones on the slopes (includes "magic carpet" lift pass (a tiny moving travelator-type lift on the nursery slopes ) and gear). Their "ski and play" program starts from 4+. Park car at Kids Campus and take food/drink if you like as there is a cafe right at the car park/foot of slopes which offers basic hot dogs etc but if you want something healthier you can bring your own inside. The Hot Chocolate was very tasty though!

All in all I would HIGHLY recommend and think it would be beautiful no matter what the time of year. For the price, this place is a steal.

Room Tip: Suite 4 was spacious studio - very large bed, sofa, kitchenette and WC - with a balcony right on Mir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank magicmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    21
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
60
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Our trip started out horribly, as our SUV's alternator crapped out, without warning, about 15 miles outside of town.... after getting towed to a local garage, and being taxied into town, the wife and I were greeted by Andrea & Anthony (the owners), who immediately got us checked in and helped us with our bags to our room, Suite 1. They offered us advice for things to do in town (pretty much everything, thankfully, is within walking distance), and also were very understanding of our situation, offering to hold our skis/luggage in their shop, when we weren't sure if our car would be ready to drive home, after we checked out. While awaiting word on our vehicle, Anthony gave us discount drink coupons for the bar across the street while we waited. Upon learning VERY late in the day that our SUV would be ready, he offered us our old room (at a discount), if we didn't want to make the trip back to South Jersey that evening. GRADE A++++ customer service that I wish every owner/property manager would follow.

As for the room itself, it was everything we could ask for. Suite 1 overlooks the main drag through town, and offers a good view of the downtown scene. Three windows offer plenty of sun in the morning, and the shades offer privacy in the evening. The interior is divided quite nicely by the birch trees (yes, BIRCH TREES) behind a VERY comfortable bed. The room has a fully functioning kitchen and a full-size stainless steel refrigerator, very nice!! The flat screen TV offers many viewing options, and the Wi-Fi worked perfectly. Everything was immaculately clean, and there is a portfolio in the room, that offers even more advice for things to do, and where to eat, while in town. If you are going up during ski season, try to make sure you book your lift tickets as part of your room package, as you do get a nice discount off of Whiteface's regular rates.

All in all, we will definitely come back to Lake Placid, a beautiful town with wonderful people. And on top of that list are the owners of The Haus, Anthony and Andrea. We look forward to staying at your property again in the future. Thank you for everything!!

- Anthony & Yvette Guida, Marlton, NJ

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

My fiancee (now wife) and I stayed in Suite 1 for the Lake Placid Marathon for 3 nights last June and were very impressed. Everything was just as shown in the pictures. Anthony was super helpful when we checked in. We enjoyed having the full kitchen and comfortable bed. Location is perfect as you are with in walking distance to everything along Main St. The price also can't be beat for what you get when you compare it to other hotels along Main St where you just get a standard hotel room. With it being on Main St, it was super convenient for my wife to see me run by at the start and then relax till she had to walk down to the finish line to meet me. We've already booked our next trip up for the Marathon here in Suite 5 which I'm sure will be just as great as Suite 1. The Haus is one of the jewels of Lake Placid and we look forward to staying here anytime we come to Lake Placid. See you in June Anthony

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at The Haus for my husband's 40th Birthday and what a pleasure it was! The room was clean,comfortable and just decorated so modern and chic.The location is one you can't beat!!! Everything you need is right outside your door! Anthony and Andrea were so kind and helpful:)
This just may be our new mini vacation spot! Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Room 4 has a beautiful Lake view. If you are going as a family room 8 and 6 are BEAUTIFUL!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gqlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at the Haus for 3 nights and it was a wonderful little place to stay. It is more like an apartment than a hotel room. We really loved the convenient full size kitchen! It was so nice to make a cup of tea or store baby food. The location is right in the middle of the strip which makes it nice and easy as well. The decor is very modern and minimilist - furniture is pretty much IKEA but well thought out. The floors are a bit slippery and we fell down a few times but got used to it after a while.
We stayed during Hurricane Irene and the power went out for about 2 hours and nothing worked because everything in the room is electric but luckily it wasn't out for too long. Antony was great- helped us check in and with our bags. Other than check-in you really don't see the proprieter's at all. It was a nice- home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aloha08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

I came by train / bus and I was very happy I selected The Haus. I was drawn by their eco friendly feel, birch / white clean decor and large rooms. My expectations were met on all points and more. The room was very large, with just the right touches of decoration.

I appreciated the Aveda products, the comfortable bed, the overall space, the welcome.
Next time I will book the room with a fireplace to top it off!
As expected there is no common areas but you are right on main street, so you have more than enough options to pick form - I waited for my bus at High Peaks with the fireplace.

I wanted a relaxing experience in style and fashion, and it's what I got; The Haus delivers what they promise on the website and that's unique.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarjevane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Staying at The Haus was a dream come true! Our room (Suite 1) was beautiful; chic yet comfy, with all the amenities to make your stay easy and enjoyable. The room was tastefully decorated and laid out with some delightfully unique touches (loved the birch trees behind the bed!).
There was plenty to do in the Lake Placid area, whether you are looking for outdoor adventure or shopping and cafes, and the management provided a binder full of activity ideas and recommendations.
Anthony was very welcoming and personable, both before hand and during our stay. I only met Andrea very briefly but she seemed great too.
It was a pleasure to stay here- The Haus was everything I was looking for in a Lake Placid weekend getaway. I only wish I could have stayed longer, and hope I'll be able to return someday!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shinaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
5 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haus

Property: The Haus
Address: 2439 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3366
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haus 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haus in Lake Placid is an eco-chic boutique hotel with a unique style. We mix up rustic and modern design in apartment-style suites, ensuring a luxurious yet cozy stay for each guest. Each unit is unique and has great modern-rustic design elements, creating a comfortable and stylish stay while showcasing the outdoors. Most suites have bounding views of the High-Peaks Sentinel range and beautiful Mirror Lake. (Be sure to inquire about Suite 10 with private lake access for complete Adirondack enjoyment!) With a full size kitchen, luxury linens, free wifi, and stunning views available with each suite, you’re sure to feel at home at The Haus. Located on Main Street, we are just a short walk from all the dining, shopping and activities that Lake Placid has to offer. Family owned and operated, our small staff is ready to serve. So give us a bell, and let us help you plan your next home-away-from-home getaway to Lake Placid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haus Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing