We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor business”

Adirondack Equine Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: While visiting the Adirondacks and Lake Placid be sure to include horseback riding for one of your most memorable of your vacation activities. Family run, we offer the gentlest horses in the area and unlike most stables we keep them through retirement. We also run a Horse Rescue, and most of our horses came from auctions and other, unfortunate circumstances. Rides are approximately 45-50 minutes with an additional instructional lesson prior to the ride to help you familiarize yourself with how the horses have been trained and answer any questions you may have. Longer rides available for year 2012. SEI certified helmets provided. Children and Family friendly. We are an easy drive from Saranac Lake, Keene, Wilmington, Plattsburgh, and Essex areas. Walking distance from Main Street in Lake Placid.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Booked a trail ride 3 weeks in advance. Called in the morning and confirmed. Drove 1hr out of the 2 to get there and called for directions and they cancelled. This was a birthday party for a 6year old. Please do not use this business it's poorly run and you can't count on them.

8  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdkHorse, General Manager at Adirondack Equine Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review !

Our establishment offers many equine related activities for the whole family to enjoy.

Your reservation was originally set for a horse drawn sleigh ride by Lake Placid Sleigh Rides at 2:00 pm in Lake Placid. The reason we would not be able to offer horseback riding to certain family groups, is that in the winter, although groomed, the trail system is still covered in several inches of snow which would made leading several young children by foot, almost impossible.

Due to safety precautions, we would not have promised a winter horseback trail ride for children under 6 years of age, especially when several children of that age group are involved.

To correct this case of mis-communication, our establishment offered your family a horse drawn sleigh ride at a discounted rate which you have angrily refused to accept.

Our cancellation policy also states that we can cancel any activity offered at our establishment, (at no cost to you) due to unforeseen circumstances.

We believe that our guests need to keep in mind that we are working with large, live animals, not inanimate objects. Stables are not considered to be a part of the service industry as working with equines can be tricky, to say the least.

We appreciate your input !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
All reviews
"trail riding"
in 5 reviews
"private ride"
in 5 reviews
"rescue horses"
in 4 reviews
"youngest daughter"
in 3 reviews
"great horses"
in 2 reviews
"johnny cash"
in 2 reviews
"nice trail"
in 2 reviews
"whiteface mountain"
in 2 reviews
in 9 reviews
in 14 reviews
in 17 reviews
in 4 reviews
in 26 reviews
in 6 reviews
in 3 reviews
in 6 reviews
in 8 reviews

57 - 61 of 81 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

The 9 and 12 year old boys with us enjoyed the sleigh ride. It was very cold when we went but blankets were provided and hot chocolate served at end was delicious.

Thank lottieharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have ridden with them twice in the past 4 months, once in October and now in February. The location is different in the winter months vs summer/fall months. The ride was different each time due to weather, location and scenery. We preferred the fall ride, as wider trails enabled us to ride along side of each other. The work that these owners do is phenomenal. They rescue neglected, abused horses and rehab them to a life that is worthy for a horse in the most gentle care given. They pair up horses to rider's ability. Each horse that we have ridden was perfect for us. We will return to ride these magnificant horses.

1  Thank 111sandy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

While visiting Lake Placid NY no matter what season the Adirondack Equine Center is the place to be. The trail rides are fabulous, the horses are gentle no matter what the conditions, the leader is a wonderful quide as well as a master horseman. I went with my husband and we had a tremendous time and will certainly plan to go there again.

2  Thank RobinBudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Thank you, Travis and Natalia, for another great riding experience. We have never been disappointed when we ride with your Center and this year is no exception.

We find the video prior to the actual ride to be beneficial. Safety is so important and it doesn't hurt to be reminded of the do's and dont's just before a ride. It only takes a few minutes and is very informative.

The trails themselves were great and the fall colors were just beautiful. You can't control the colors at your Center but it sure seemed like you made the scenery special just for us!

Thank you again, and as we say every year, will see you next September.

1  Thank AdirondackNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adirondack Equine Center also viewed


Been to Adirondack Equine Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing