We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch choice in Lake Placid”

Big Mountain Deli and Creperie
Ranked #3 of 100 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: We take our homemade bread, Boar's Head Meats, fresh ingredients and a spark of creativity to make the 46 sandwiches named after the 46 High Peaks of the Adirondacks! We also specialize in swe
Ithaca, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good lunch choice in Lake Placid”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

It isn't easy to find affordable vegetarian options in glitzy Lake Placid, so we were very happy with our lunch at this restaurant. They have a huge array of choices for both sandwiches and crepes, plus a "build your own" option that lets you create just what you want. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable, service was quick and the food was very good. The crepe was made with some whole grain flour so it had some body to it, and the veggies were well cooked.
We were there on an off-season weekday, so it wasn't crowded. But the counterman said that in season, the line stretches out the door, so it might be good to avoid the busiest times.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dahomey_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    195
    43
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, PA
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“You Want a HUGE Sandwich Selection?”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you answered yes, then this is the place for you! 46 sandwiches, plus 5 bread choices!!!! And we haven't even mentioned the enormous variety of crepes!!!!!!!!

I savored the "Marcy" (roast turkey, cranberry horseradish sauce, cheddar cheese, apples, & cracked pepper mayo).........WONDERFUL!

My spouse really enjoyed his "Colvin" (grilled corned beef, Swiss cheese, sauerkraut, & Russian dressing).

One interesting note is that neither of usually order seeded rye bread, but this time we both did and it was superb!

Be prepared for a line...........this place is very popular!........but the staff moves very quickly, so you'll get your order faster than you expected. Don't let the line out the door keep you from having lunch (or breakfast) here, as you will be missing out if you do.

There aren't many seats in the place, but people seem fine with waiting in another line for seating after getting their food. I know we did and it was totally worth it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LivinglifeinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Selection!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The chalk board had so many choices for sandwich options! After some deliberating we made our choices, though busy were had our food quickly. Both our our sandwiches were fresh, tasty, and ample. We were able to get one on the coveted window seats to be able to people watch from. The service was very friendly and as mentioned before, they move quickly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeedSomeSunNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
builth wells, wales
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing choice of tasty sandwiches”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Don't go anywhere else for a sandwich this is the best, excellent for veggies and if you want a beer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dotty500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
642 reviews
416 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Excellent sandwich and crepe”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Places with queues usually have them for a reason. Great selection here all freshly made. Highly recommend for a snack or breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Mountain Deli and Creperie also viewed

 

Been to Big Mountain Deli and Creperie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing